Poets logo

Down!

Love you! Mean it! (Her Response to, “Up!”)

By J. S. WadePublished 11 months ago Updated 11 months ago 1 min read

Down, down, down boy, down,

lest I slap you to the sand.

Let me be, to nap in my gown.

Paw me man, I will snap your hand.

💤

REM trip gone, it’s out of my head.

Obey me now or fail my test.

Sip some Java, find a tale to read,

Take an hour or two, dear, I don’t jest.

💤

Get out, get out, get out of our bed.

I love you, mean it. But try me and see.

If you kiss me, I vow you are dead.

Veil the sun and let me be.

💤

Down, down, love boy, Stop!

Lest I stab you and call the cops.

💤💤💤 💤💤💤 💤💤💤

Note - This is a woman’s response to my poem “Up” written about a couple in early first light of morning from the man’s perspective. Credit goes to Dharrsheena for her comments on “Up.”😂

slam poetrylove poemshumor

About the Creator

J. S. Wade

Since reading Tolkien in Middle school, I have been fascinated with creating, reading, and hearing art through story’s and music. I am a perpetual student of writing and life.

J. S. Wade owns all work contained here.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  4. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  5. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (12)

  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knock11 months ago

    Delightful & quite realistic response!

  • Hahahahahahahahahhaah I freaking loved this so much! Sleep is the most important thing to me! Anyone who comes in between me and my sleep will pay! 🤣🤣🤣🤣

  • Cathy holmes11 months ago

    Hahaha. That is great!

  • Tiffany Gordon 11 months ago

    So Creative! This was Awesome sauce on my day!!! BRAVO Scott!😊

  • Cendrine Marrouat11 months ago

    That was interesting!

  • Donna Fox (HKB)11 months ago

    I love that you did this as a response to Up! Such a clever idea! “But try me and see” got me, I can’t tell you how many times a day that’s been said to my poor husband! Makes this poem so much more relatable for me! Amazing work J.S!

  • Babs Iverson11 months ago

    Outstanding and left a heart ♥

  • Good one Scott!!! You always come up with the best!!!

  • Well Done❤️😉💯

  • Dana Crandell11 months ago

    A great response. Well done, and thanks, Dharrseena for inspiring it!

  • Judey Kalchik 11 months ago

    That lead image, tho. I really like the way you made collaboration and inspiration work together.

  • Donna Renee11 months ago

    🤣🤣🤣. This was hilarious and relatable LOL

J. S. WadeWritten by J. S. Wade

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.