Motivation logo

What To Do When You Don’t Know What To Do

Goals, Planning and the Beauty of the Decision

By W.T. HamiltonPublished about a year ago 5 min read
Like

In every journey there comes a time, a moment when you are faced with a complex decision. It may be a fork in the road, two competitively appealing options, or a staggering, dream crushing roadblock. We’ve all been there, and if you haven’t, you will!

At that moment we are faced with the question, ‘what do I do?’

The answer may not be at the touch of your fingers. You may struggle to figure out what to do. The trusted internet may not be your best friend, or even helpful, but instead, add more layers to your confusion and indecisiveness.

I have battled this in the past, sometimes in the present and most definitely in the future.

So, let me tell you what I do when I find this uncomfortable, and extremely irritating circumstance waiting for me at my front door.

What To DO When You Don’t Know What To Do

Whenever I find myself back in this most unwanted situation, I don’t panic, I don’t worry. These were my ‘Go to’s’ before I learned the technique I am going to share with you. These were my security blankets, making me feel warm and safe in scary decision making realms.

I would worry about the ‘What If’s’ and I would go through a very extensive list of a million and one scenarios that had almost zero probability of ever seeing the day of light. But in my mind I would build them up, with all the fearful emotions and likeness of becoming real until I was balled up in a corner, in the fetal position, unable to move.

Yep, that was a healthy and productive mindset for making decisions!

No Worries

As I started to develop my winning mindset, I realized something that I now share with as many people as I can, each day. Oh Yeah, they sometimes find it irritating but they also find it super enlightening.

Here it is.

You don’t have to worry about the things you can control, and the things you can’t control, worrying has no effect on, so you have nothing to worry about!

As I adapted this invaluable piece of knowledge, the worry and panic virtually disappeared and was instantly replaced with the confidence of a lion. And you know, those cats are immensely confident; have you ever seen what they do?

Here’s What You Do

The next time you find yourself in a mind boggling, mentally challenging situation, where the outcome hinges on you making a critical decision, do this.

This is the technique I’ve used in the past to make game changing decisions that led me to writing award winning books, speaking on stage multiple times and turning my ideas into products, experiences and events.

Oh Yes, it’s that impressively important!

The first thing I do is stop what I am doing. I remember and recite the mantra I shared with you about worrying and I let go of worry. I let go of the shackling and limiting emotions of fear. I do not make a list, not even a mental list of the ‘What If’s’ I just simply stop what I am doing and I do this.

Now you may find this hard to do at first. Don’t think you’ll be an expert at this just because you read this blog once. Even if you are a rare soul that reads every word so far, you will still need to work at this part of letting go of worry and panic.

But don’t worry, you’ll get there. See what I did there? Yeah, that’s how I roll!

Are You Ready?

Once you stop what you are doing, quiet your mind. I always find a quiet place to do this. I like to close my eyes also, but you don’t have to. It will probably work half as good if you don’t close your eyes.

Then I ask myself the questions.

What should I do next? Or how do I do ________?

You can do any variation of this as you sit in silence. I sometimes ask this out loud too, still with my eyes closed.

And then I just sit there, breathing in deeply and breathing out slowly for a few seconds or so. Usually more ‘Or So’ for about a minute or two. Then I wait. That’s it, that’s all you need to do.

What Happens Next?

This is where the magic happens. Sometimes it happens within the first hours, while other times it happens the same day or by the end of the day. On rare occasions, it may take a few days to happen.

What happens is, the answer finds me. It just pops up, usually in a strange way, like a thought or idea. Other times it will be in a blog, video, or social media post.

There are times where I will have a conversation with someone about an unrelated topic and somehow the conversation leads to a solution or a thought that guides me to the solution. It’s really cool when this happens and I try to document it in my journal by the end of the day, so I can look at how amazing things are when you do things with intention.

Try this and let me know how it works out for you. You can write a comment at the end of this blog. I am sure you will love this technique. Also, if you have other techniques that have worked for you, leave them in the comments too!

Thank You!

Firstly, I want to express my gratitude to you for taking the time to read my blog. I hope that you found the tips and strategies helpful. Please let me know, comment below.

We all need that key factor that will help us move forward in the direction of our dreams. Here's something that has help a lot of people and I'm sure it will help you too.

➡️➡️➡️Simple 3 Digit Manifestation Code ⬅️⬅️⬅️

So, if you're ready to take your focus and commitment to the next level, I highly recommend checking out the Simple 3 Digit Manifestation Code. With its proven track record of success, this program is a valuable tool for anyone who wants to achieve their financial goals and live a life of abundance. Click the link below to learn more and take the first step towards manifesting the life of your dreams.

➡️➡️➡️Click the Link⬅️⬅️⬅️

how tosuccessself helphappinessgoalsadvice
Like

About the Creator

W.T. Hamilton

W.T. Hamilton is a mutiple time, award winning author, entrepreneur and mindset coach specializing in helping people turn their dreams into awesome products and services.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.