Motivation logo

Unfortunately

I am not the unfortunate one.

By Theresa EvansPublished 7 months ago 3 min read
1
Unfortunately
Photo by Tolga Ulkan on Unsplash

Unfortunately, no one notices your tears. No one notices your sadness. No one notices your pain. But everyone notices your mistakes. (Lessons Taught By Life).

Unfortunately, no one notices your tears when you cry about something important. No one notices that you are in real pain mentally, physically, and emotionally. All others want to see is that you are always smiling like nothing is ever wrong with you, and they expect you to keep caring for others while losing yourself while trying to help others. I had to learn that not everyone wants what's best for you. Now, if and when I do cry and shed a few tears, it will always be more positive than negative. In my new life, happy tears are the only tears anyone will ever see from me. I refuse to let someone else's drama or trauma affect my feelings.

No one notices your sadness because most people do not want to know about your personal sadness, especially if it does not benefit them in some way. It is hard to know when someone is honest about what they are going through when the world has these fake standards that they expect us to live up to. The world tells men that they should not cry because it shows weakness and then turns right around and tells women to be more masculine because the world has taken most of the men out of the home.

No one notices your pain because, in their mind, it is not their own personal pain, so why should they even care. I say showing more compassion and empathy towards others is the first step to healing hidden wounds. I am not saying to show compassion and empathy to everyone you encounter because most people are not objective regarding their emotions towards others. If you already know that the person that you are in constant contact with is genuine with their feelings about an issue and truly wants someone to listen to them so that they can come up with a plan to fix the issue, then this is the time to show compassion and empathy towards that person.

You have to learn how to be intentional with your actions towards others. You do not have to be mean or disrespectful towards them. Simply state your issue and give it to them if they choose to do better and want your help. However, if you know that the other person is playing games with your time and effort, kindly walk away and let them figure the rest out for themselves.

It is funny how everyone notices your mistakes but no one notices all the other good things you have done. I have always wondered about this because here we go again with the world's version of standards. The world will make us feel like we are not good enough at so many things, but I believe it is up to you, the individual, to decide what standards fit your life. I used to be the one to struggle with self-love, self-acceptance, low self-esteem, and all those other negative words that told me I was not good enough simply because I did not fit into their version of standards. Now, do I have my own personal version of standards? Of course, I do, but they are my standards alone, no one else's, so if you know me, you already know I am not supposed to fit into other's boxes.

Every day I wake up I am always on the lookout for someone I can be of service to. In other words, I am looking for someone I know who can not pay me back for that free smile when they see me. That complimentary breakfast in the morning to brighten someone's day. Giving someone a hug and simply letting them know everything will be okay. All of these actions are free, so why would I not want to give someone else these vibes.

self helpquoteshow tohealinghappinessgoalsadvice
1

About the Creator

Theresa Evans

I am a woman on fire for the love of life and being able to reach one life at a time through my words. If I can reach one then I can teach one the art of healing one's self from the inside out all mentaly

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • C.S LEWIS7 months ago

    This is great work you can also join my friends and read what i have just prepared for you

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.