Motivation logo

Unearthing Natural Beauty

Discovering 2.1kg Raw Jasper In Cambodia

By Freddie's Lost TreasuresPublished 10 months ago Updated 10 months ago 4 min read
Like
Jasper (Side 1)

On a sweltering and gritty day in Cambodia, I arrived at the diminutive mining village of Pailin. My mission was to unearth the most exquisite, untamed jasper the region had to offer. As a zealous collector and nature enthusiast, I was resolute in my quest to stumble upon an unparalleled gem during my sojourn.

Pailin has forever been renowned for its precious stones and minerals, and its proximity to the Thai border renders it an optimal hub for gem trading. The area has been a sanctuary for mining ventures for centuries, imbuing the mining process with a profound sense of tradition and history.

As I meandered through the serpentine alleyways of the village, I swiftly ascertained that the local market was the epicenter of my search. Rows of vendors avidly peddled a kaleidoscope of vibrant stones, ranging from delicate agates to shimmering amethysts. However, it was the jasper that ensnared my gaze — raw chunks of earthy reds greens that whispered tales of the rugged Cambodian countryside.

I swiftly struck up a conversation with one of the vendors, an elderly woman with weathered lines etched into her countenance by the relentless sun. Our linguistic barriers were surmounted through gestures and smiles. I held aloft a fragment of raw jasper that I had procured from her stall, indicating my yearning for larger specimens.

Jasper (The Other Side)

With a sagacious nod, the vendor directed my attention towards a group of miners lounging beneath a canopy across the street. Indulging in their repast, they conversed while playfully dispersing a troupe of impish children.

As I approached the men, I sensed their scrutiny, wondering if I could earn their trust. Their wariness towards outsiders, particularly Westerners, who had historically exploited the mining industry for personal gain, was palpable.

I introduced myself and expounded upon my fascination with unearthing jasper of the utmost quality. As fortune would have it, one of the miners possessed a rudimentary grasp of English, enabling us to engage in a congenial conversation. He elucidated the arduous nature of the mining process, highlighting the relentless hours they toiled under the scorching sun to extract even minute quantities of crude ore.

Their ardor for their craft was palpable — the thrill of stumbling upon an unparalleled gem that had eluded all others. They granted me a swift tour of their operation, unveiling the rough caverns carved into the earth by their picks and shovels, as well as the burlap sacks utilized to haul the ore to the surface. Amidst our discourse, I explicated my desire to discover valuable specimens of rocks, gems, or gold.

The miners conferred amongst themselves momentarily, before one of them assented. “We may possess something that shall engross you,” he divulged.

He led me to a diminutive wooden shack at the periphery of the clearing. As I ventured inside, the air grew dense with dust, permeated by the scent of saturated stone. A heap of unrefined stones occupied one corner, while a substantial burlap sack occupied the center of the room.

The miner gestured towards the sack, and I eagerly approached it. The weightiness was discernible as I hefted it, sensing the mass of raw jasper nestled within (a staggering 2.1kg, to be precise).

Gradually, I unfastened the sack, and my eyes widened in sheer awe. Before me lay an exquisite piece of jasper, surpassing anything I had ever beheld. “It is resplendent,” I exhaled, overwhelmed by emotion.

The miners smiled, evidently gratified by my reaction. They expounded upon the rarity and exceptionalism of the jasper, asserting that it was amongst the finest specimens they had ever stumbled upon in their years of mining. Their pride in unearthing such a rare and special gem was unmistakable.

In the end, I procured the jasper from the miners at a substantial price (several thousand), and it now occupies a place of prominence within my burgeoning collection. Yet, beyond its sheer beauty, it serves as a poignant reminder of the extraordinary people and places I encountered during my travels, and the elation of discovering something genuinely unique and exceptional.

Original story (created by me) published on Medium.com. Any changes and/or updates that have been added on Vocal.media are for content consumption purposes.

Thank you for your time, I hope you thoroughly enjoyed what you have read today. Please subscribe. I have plenty of upcoming articles on varying topics, if you so choose to check them out. Also if you would be so kind, I would greatly appreciate a heart. Lastly, if you feel inclined to do so, tips and of course pledges (currently only $2.99 a month) are greatly appreciated. Our monies collected in Vocal help support the Bunong tribal people in Cambodia.

goalssuccesshealinghappiness
Like

About the Creator

Freddie's Lost Treasures

A traveler in search of lost and hidden treasures. I have assembled a lifelong learning of being in the business world and decided to take a leap to see what is outside the confines of brick and mortar and left the 9 to 5 behind.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.