Motivation logo

The girl that is afraid of CHANGE

You might find this relatable or funny

By for my mental healthPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
Like
July: Noah Cyrus

So, the other day your girl (that's me) got a new job... now this is a very big opportunity for me. I would be making triple what I make now and I could finally save up to become a little more independent than I am currently (I still live at home).

I should be really happy right? I could change my life around for the better and see where life takes me. I got the call from my recruiter the other day and I accepted the job but once I hung up the phone I started to cry. I swear, I was close to balling my eyes out...

Now, I normally never cry about things, never ever but this past year maybe year and a half has been different. I am so emotional, it is super weird. I am one of those people that used to never show emotion, I hated being vulnerable with people, I hated showing any other emotion besides happiness.

But once change or 'life' as some say rolls around, I have a hard time coping with it.

Let's start with my first day of high school, it was somewhere I've never been before, all new faces, and a whole new experience. On the inside I was freaking out, I am good ad adapting but the initial start of it all terrifies me. I hate it. It is an aching pit in my stomach that I really hate feeling. But anyways, lunch rolled around and I did not know anyone. So I went to the bathroom and sat in there, I did not know where else to go. Once my parent picked me up after school at 3:05, I just started balling. I told them, " I am never coming back here again, I hate it here, I have no friends, I don't want to come back here, why did you send me to a new school." This was being said with all the water works. I could not help myself. I hate feeling so vulnerable with people I do not know.

I don't know if it is because I am shy or I just don't feel comfortable with myself, I don't know what it is.

Change has always scared me but I am very good at adapting to it. I love meeting new people and having new experiences. I used to live for the butterflies in my stomach and not knowing everyone at a party.

But something happened this past year and a half or so, "change" but not necessarily good. I mean I guess it is good in a sense of growing as a person. "Change is always good." Maybe I need this past year to really focus on what was going on with me mentally and understand my self worth.

My last year of college was pretty tough, I went through a lot of mental pain. I don't know how else to describe it. Once I came home after graduation it was like everything slowed down and the universe (or God, whatever you prefer) was saying, "okay let's take a little breather..."

It was fine at first but then it started to take a toll on me. Maybe it is my fault or maybe it was just how things were supposed to be, I don't know I will probably never know...

BUT

After all of that I was getting really antsy. I really was itching for some change and I got it, it was sitting right in front of me. I was so unsure on how to react it think I just could not help myself so I started crying...

Now, when I say "I was itching for change," I mean I was looking for some thing really specific. I like having plans. Sorry scratch that, I LOVE having plans, I love making them and discussing them. I love having every detail laid out in front of me.

Here WAS my plan: getting a full time job but an unattached one so I could save up and then move to big city (out of my small ass hometown). Then once I got to that point make some new friends, maybe have some new roommates (also new to the city and as optimistic as much as I am). Just have a new experience but my way.

It is just how I have always been and I don't think that will change but who knows? I like knowing how everything is going to pan out.

So I think when I found out about this job, it was not what I was hoping for but it was exactly what I needed. But I started crying because I knew I had to stay home a little bit longer.

For all of you that are scared of change or scared of the thought of it. It all comes exactly when we need it. I am a strong believer that everything happens for a reason and the best things come when we least expect it.

healing
Like

About the Creator

for my mental health

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.