Motivation logo

comfort

at a loss

By for my mental healthPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
1
What Am I Doing Wrong?

Aren't mothers suppose to be comforting? Or was my life sugar coated for a really long time? It is a little confusing to me; am I just now realizing that you have to do everything on my own.

It is super hard when your parents make almost all of your major decisions in life and then one day, after being home from college for two years with 500 dollars in your pocket to show for it, you decide you want to move out. Now maybe I am being dramatic (that is what all my college teammates used to tell me) or maybe I am being too blunt but the society/the government (yes they are all connected, I will explain that a different day) tells you that you are officially an adult when you turn 18. But I can only make some decisions on my own.

At 18 you are held responsible for all your actions, every single one. So for all you young kids out there, enjoy it while it lasts because high school (some of the best 4 years of my short life) does not last forever. Which is honestly pretty sad. I could have stayed in high school a little bit longer. I thought it was so fun. I got to meet new people, be away from my parents for most of the time, and I did not have a care in the world.

Then college rolled around... another scary/fun four years but in another state away from all my family. I was in a college sport so my time was a little preoccupied but it was another 4 years of great times.

So let us go back to the subject at hand. We are thrown into the world at age 18 and they tell us, "You have 4 years to figure out what you want to do for your REST of your life." Now realistically, you don't actually have 4 years to do that, which seems like a long time, I know. But you actually have only 2 years to figure out your major. What they also don't tell you is that all the successful students, figure out their major before college or within the first year.

Alright so at age 18, we live on our owns, decide what we want to do for the rest of our lives but when you graduate college and are in our early 20s you are not allowed to decide if you want to move out of the house or not.

Now I get it, the world revolves around money, and if you aren't making or your parents aren't then good luck, honey because then you got nothing.

So now, early 20s and you got nothing holding you back (no boyfriend to settle down with) and you want to go out and meet some new people. Maybe move to a new city because you are getting antsy in the hometown that you kind of grew up in. But wait your parents laugh and tell you it is not possible. Then what do you do? The parents that once supported you and told you that, "whatever you choose to do in life, we will support you," don't want to support you anymore.

This hard on a young person who just wants to be optimistic in life and have some new experiences. This can take a toll on someone who has never really had to worry about anything in life.

To all those young people out there that are trying to do the same thing. When my parents tell me, "No," I just get more motivated and want to prove them young. So don't forget you can do it all on your own, it might just take a little more time. But you can do it, keep pushing and go after your dreams. If you don't go after your dream...then who will?

Your parents? LOL YEAH, RIGHT!

Comment Below, if you are going through this or have ever been through this in the past...

goals
1

About the Creator

for my mental health

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.