Motivation logo

"Self-Driven: Winning the Battle Against Yourself"

"Fueling Success Through Inner Resolve"

By Joseph Villarito CanetePublished 3 days ago 3 min read
"Self-Driven: Winning the Battle Against Yourself"
Photo by Jared Rice on Unsplash

I had a lot of anger built up, and it’s still there. It won’t go away for normal people because when you’ve been in the dark places I’ve been, no one comes to save you. I was surrounded by smart people telling me how to live my life, but by the time I was in my forties, I realized I didn’t need their guidance anymore. I knew what was good and bad for me. It took all my focus to get here.

People love showing off the good side of life on social media, but I wanted to show the reality, which is often harsh. Most of us live through tough times, and hiding it doesn’t help. I hid my struggles for 24 years, but now I’m open about everything because being vulnerable is the only way to fix yourself. Selling self-help books isn’t the answer; self-reflection and honesty are.

Everyone has to fail to succeed. The road to success is always under construction, full of obstacles. The truly successful people are relentless and push through the hard times. Bad breaks often come right before a big breakthrough.

Life gives us all opportunities to prove ourselves. Some people work late, hit the gym after long hours, or clean up without complaining. It’s about having a drive that’s not about external rewards but about personal ethics and the desire to turn negatives into positives. Leading from the front means not being afraid to disappoint people and living the life you want, even if it means going against the grain.

You must commit to your goals, even when it’s tough. There’s no magic potion or motivation that makes it easy; it’s about consistently doing the hard work. Life is about the effort you put in every day. How you live, how you die, and how you’re remembered is up to you. No matter who you are, life gives you moments to be extraordinary.

It’s not about wearing a uniform or having credentials; it’s about wanting it so bad that you refuse to settle. Thinking about others before yourself and having a strong personal code sets you apart. You need to be prepared to lead and not be afraid of disappointing people. It’s okay to be nervous, but once you commit, you must focus on your goals.

My passion comes from the hard work I put in. People often judge based on superficial things, but everything is about effort. I went through tough times, like cold water training, where I had to create a stronger voice in my head to drown out the doubts. Most people only have one voice telling them they can’t do it. Creating a second, stronger voice is crucial.

To overcome the worst parts of your life, you have to face them head-on. Writing or recording your darkest moments can help neutralize their power over you. When you listen to your own stories repeatedly, they become just stories, not sources of pain. This process can transform your life, making you stronger.

I use negative comments and hate as fuel. Instead of avoiding them, I record and listen to them, turning them into motivation. Positive feedback is nice, but the real power comes from using the hate and doubt of others to push yourself further. Winners see everything, even negativity, as energy to be used for progress. They don’t waste anything and turn every negative experience into strength.

You need to find your own way to harness negativity and turn it into something positive. Whether it’s through journaling, recording, or another method, facing your weaknesses and doubts head-on will make you stronger and more determined to achieve your goals.

Vocalsuccessself helphow tohealinggoalsadvice

About the Creator

Joseph Villarito Canete

I am the architect of my imagination, constructing worlds with mere words and sculpting the human experience through the artful manipulation of language.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Joseph Villarito CaneteWritten by Joseph Villarito Canete

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.