Motivation logo

Natural ways to increase your energy levels

Feeling like you have no energy? Here are some natural ways to increase your energy

By Talara NolanPublished about a year ago 4 min read
1
Natural ways to increase your energy levels
Photo by Aditya Saxena on Unsplash

Recently, I started to feel really tired, no matter how much sleep that I got. There were days when I just couldn't keep my eyes open, and would need something like an energy drink to get me through. Not so I had extra energy, just so that I could stay awake. I wasn't sure what was going on. There was a time when I didn't need a lot of sleep to feel like I had a lot of energy. I would go to sleep for at least 8 hours, but still feel like going through the day was a struggle.

I knew that something had to be wrong. I knew that it wasn't normal to feel like that. However, I didn't want to go to the doctor. I didn't want medication. Unfortunately, most doctors will just try to solve your problem with medicine that you become dependent on. So I started to look at other ways that I could solve the problem myself.

Look at the quality of sleep, more so that how much.

The first thing I did was look at my quality of sleep. Just because I would go to sleep for 8 hours, doesn't mean that I would stay asleep. I found that I was waking up numerous times through the night. Sometimes it's not about how much sleep you are getting, but that you are getting good quality of sleep.

Look at your environment where you sleep. For my best sleep, I realized that I needed to be in the dark. Putting up black out curtains are a great way to make sure your room can be as dark as possible. If that is not an option for you, then an easy way to do that is to get an eye mask.

I also looked at sleep aid's. I didn't want something too extra, and wanted to make sure that it was still healthy. I found one that really helped me to get a better quality sleep. I don't take it every day. I only take it when I really feel like I need good sleep. It really does help my mind to really shut off. The sleep aid I take is from Klout, which really gives a great product. I will link below the one that I take.

https://bgnutritioncenter.com/shop/health-fitness/sleep/klout-pwr-off/

Eat regularly

By not eating regularly, you send your body on a rollar coaster. The best thing you can do is to make sure you eat every few hours. So that your blood sugar stays stable. That will make sure that your energy levels stay stable through out the whole day.

Make sure you eat the right things

You need to make sure that you are eating enough calories. Tracking what you eat can be a eye opening experience. Even if you only do it for a few days. It will really make you see where your calories are going. You will be surprised that you most likely aren't eating enough calories for your body.

Fiber is a under rated nurition. By upping your fiber intake, it can help you with a lot of things. Including your energy levels. It can help you achieve a healthy weight, lowers cholestrol levels and helps maintain bowel health. You can get fiber in a lot of healthy natural foods such as beans, broccoli, berries and popcorn, to name a few. However, if you feel like you are struggling to get enough then you can also take a fiber supplement as well. I will link one below.

https://amzn.to/3ZWoBZp

Iron is also supplement that you need to make sure that eat enough of. It will be great to maintain your energy levels. Also if you feel like your hands and feet are cold all the time, then iron can really help you with that.

Eat less processed foods and less sugar

You would be surprised at the affects that sugar can be having on your body. It really can sky rocket your blood sugar. By eating natural and unprocessed foods, you stablize your blood sugar and hormones. It's something so easy and simple that can really help. If you normally eat a lot of sugar, then you might need to slow down a bit at a time instead of just cutting it off.

Drink enough water

Drinking enough water really improves your body. It can clear up your skin, help with weight loss and increase your energy levels. Try to drink a gallon of water a day. I know that it seems like a lot. But it really can help. I will link some gallon water jugs that can help you on your journey.

https://amzn.to/40jgllQ

By doing these things it has really helped me increase my energy levels. I am not where I use to be. But I have gotten better. Some of the tips I am still in the process of working on. Such as my sugar intake, which I am still working on lowering. Start with small changes, work on one thing at a time, so that you don't get overwhelmed. But you can increase your energy levels, and you can do it naturally.

-T

self helphow tohealinghappinessadvice
1

About the Creator

Talara Nolan

I am a single parent to a 4 year old girl and live with her in Canada. I love working out and have lost over 45 lbs over time. I would love to share what I have learned and all the things that have worked for me over time.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.