Motivation logo

My Reflections on the Microfiction Magic Challenge

As this challenge comes to an end, I reflect on how it's helped me improve as a writer, and the value of micro fiction. Index of my entries included.

By L.C. SchäferPublished 12 months ago 3 min read
10
My Reflections on the Microfiction Magic Challenge
Photo by Vince Fleming on Unsplash

In short - I'm going to be a little sorry to see the Microfiction Magic challenge close. I hope Vocal do another!

Writing the index at the end of this piece was tricky, because I wanted to give you a bit of a taste - a synopsis so you know whether it's worth clicking on. That was hard, because often I don't want you to know what it's really about until you're near the end. Sometimes I want you to think you know...

This lesser-spotted mini-dilemma brings to mind the words of Jack Black, playing the famous author R.L Stein in the movie Goosebumps:

Every story ever told can be broken down into three parts. The beginning. The middle. And the twist.

Ah, the twist. A tricksy device for a lot of us at the best of times. You can't usually just throw a random thing in somewhere and hope for the best. The story still has to be satisfying. It still has to make sense. How to do that, and keep readers guessing? Or better yet - and even more challenging - deliberately mis-direct along the way?

It's tougher to achieve in Microfiction. Every word has to do a lot of heavy lifting. It can be hard.

Another thing that can be difficult, is extracting our own heads from our bottoms and not getting too tangled up in the words as we weave them. Tasks like this train us to be brutal in cutting them free. To weigh each word with precision. Cut to the meat, and keep it fresh.

As with anything tricky, we get better at it the more we do it. By allowing multiple entries, Vocal are facilitating an excellent form of practise - and one that doesn't feel like work. It feels like play - because it is!

This challenge unshackled me from what can sometimes feel like drudgery in writing. We might only have 100 words to play with, but the key word here is play. Rediscovering the happy place that is messing around with words. Playing with their sounds and meanings, and the images they paint. Listening carefully to the melody of each one, and the pitch and roll of the sentences. Tasting a word, discarding it, trying another. Mixing up weird and wonderful combinations, like an artist mixing hues. Or a chef obsessively testing his new toasted sandwich maker, concocting classic flavour pairings and outlandish recipes by turns.

I said it before and I'll say it again:

Writing is creation, and creation is play. Don't be too grown-up about it.

-Never Have I Ever (Writers' Edition)

This challenge was a wonderful way to remind us all: yes, we do have time to write! It doesn't have to be a lot. A little is infinitely better than none. Flex the muscle.

I can't thank Vocal enough for this exercise. It's stretched me, tickled me, and inspired me by turns. It's got me writing every day. It's given me a break from other, taxing projects. I've returned to them refreshed and better than before. It's injected a bit of joy into my day. Best of all, it's helped me improve.

Here they are - my entries, all eleven of them - all in one place, newest to oldest. I think I've got better. Have you?

Dragon Scales

Bloom

Graduation Day - Dark and twisted fanfic

Cornflakes - A true story. A memory from my childhood.

Mummy Took Me To Watch The Hanging Today - Content reflects the title

25 seconds & more of agony - Real life horror

Fresh Bread

"She Always Had Her Nose Buried In A Book"

Confessions of a Murderer

The Intruder

Just One Wish

Thank you for reading! As always, if you do grace any of my scribbles with your eyeballs, I appreciate your feedback. For those kind enough to leave a comment, I do my best to reciprocate the read. If you index your own entries, please link it for me so I can make sure I haven't missed any of your stories!

My questions to you: What are your thoughts on the Microfiction challenge? Have you found it challenging, or enjoyable, or both? Have you got better, and how?

product review
10

About the Creator

L.C. Schäfer

Book-baby is available on Kindle Unlimited

Flexing the writing muscle

Never so naked as I am on a page. Subscribe for nudes.

Here be micros

Twitter, Insta Facey

Sometimes writes under S.E.Holz

"I've read books. Well. Chewed books."

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • Alexander McEvoy12 months ago

    I loved the practice of writing things so short!! The way it made me examine every word so closely for form and function was amazing!! Even better was how many of my friends kept asking if I would expand on the idea, hopefully meaning they liked it and wanted more 😇

  • Paul Stewart12 months ago

    I shall give the ones of yours I have not read yet a read later. I enjoyed this piece and share the same sentiments. I had got lost really with regards to fiction, even though I'd say that's my main driving force with this side of my writing (not the professional side), as I just didn't know what to write and was becoming a bit despondant at the fiction challenges here and wasn't sure that's what I wanted my fiction writing to be. So mainly did non-fiction, satire and an uncomfortable amount of poetry (I jest, I now love poetry, but, it was unexpected) anyway, I digress. Then the microfiction challenge came along and I was like "fuck me, I suddenly feel creative" so it thoroughly unblocked my fictional writer's block. I think with the microfiction tag in place, we can still post microfiction within the fiction community and it'll be accepted...but I am not sure. Similar to the change they made to allow poems of less 100 words publishable even outside of haiku or shorter piece challenges. But, like I say, I have yet to test the water with that. So even, if there is no other challenge, and I think they'd be silly not to, microfiction will live on!

  • Test12 months ago

    This was such a cool challenge. I chose not partake, because I a far too long-winded. LOL! So cool how you just flow creativity!

  • Brannan K.12 months ago

    I've found it far too difficult to keep up with all my subscriptions

  • Gina C.12 months ago

    Great article! I agree so much, I’ve really enjoyed this challenge and it’s been incredible practice!! I really hope there’s another :)

  • Roy Stevens12 months ago

    Hold the phone; you've been spying on me while I was writing? Another thing that can be difficult, is extracting our own heads from our bottoms and not getting too tangled up in the words as we weave them. 'Another thing that can be difficult, is extracting our own heads from our bottoms and not getting too tangled up in the words as we weave them.' I resemble that L.C. 😁 I agree totally with your sentiment here, though I do have the caveat that it's been a mad chase sometimes keeping up with the deluge that has resulted from this challenge. The quality though! Check out Naomi's latest: https://vocal.media/fiction/kill-switch-t4702wf

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.