Poets logo

Fresh Bread

Everybody needs someone who bakes fresh bread for them. There is no better iloveyou. You can keep your flowers and cards!

By L.C. SchäferPublished 12 months ago 1 min read
20
Fresh Bread
Photo by Александр Ляхнович on Unsplash

a warm blanket

whispering i love you into my nose

tantalising

treasure dug from the oven

shiny, golden

impatient waiting for it to cool

heat in my hands

tearrrrrrrr

springy, light

one whiff, I'm back

homely clitter clatter

gentle thunk thunk of crockery on a wooden table

bubbling soup

sibling whine,

"but I don't liiiiike"

big red oven gloves

"careful! don't touch this pan!"

dunk, swirl

bite

rich savoury

mmmmm

happy tongue

happy belly

full, warm, content

pelting rain against glass

oversized sweater

and overlaying it all

around and between and under

the smell of fresh baked bread

+++++++

Thank you for reading! If this has got your tastebuds and tummy jonesing:

inspirational
20

About the Creator

L.C. Schäfer

Book-baby is available on Kindle Unlimited

Flexing the writing muscle

Never so naked as I am on a page. Subscribe for nudes.

Here be micros

Twitter, Insta Facey

Sometimes writes under S.E.Holz

"I've read books. Well. Chewed books."

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  4. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  5. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (15)

Sign in to comment
  • Raymond G. Taylor3 months ago

    Staff of life and great poetry. Well done and really excited my senses

  • Tiffany Gordon 3 months ago

    Uber-cute & creative! Well done!

  • Brenton F12 months ago

    Just found this and now I want fresh home made bread. You poem brings to mind a warm house and lashings of butter and honey!

  • Donna Fox (HKB)12 months ago

    Preach LC!!!! This is everything I needed right now! I am ready to settle in for a nice rainy day with some fresh bread and some homemade honey chive butter! I can smell fresh bread as I read your poem, way better than any other gift! Fresh bread, all day! 🍞💜

  • My tummy is growling, lol! Such a good smelling poem!

  • Dana Crandell12 months ago

    I had to follow the link to the recipe, because I was sure I'd already commented. This poem is the perfect companion piece!

  • Gina C.12 months ago

    Oooh, this was delicious. I tasted the warm, salty and buttery goodness. Soo well done! :)

  • Test12 months ago

    Oh bread, you sweet and simple delight. I could taste and smell this delicious little poem...could even feel the bread tearing between my fingers, being dunked and savoured. This is how you write a sensory poem! Well done!

  • J. R. Lowe12 months ago

    Oof there really is nothing else like fresh bread. Lovely work 👏

  • J. S. Wade12 months ago

    The labor is worth the pleasure to witness the migration to the kitchen table where momentary reverence quickly shifts to the ripping and tearing of my art. Then I’m happy. Love your poem 🥰

  • Nice , just after I have had toast with Rhubarb and Ginger Jam

  • Caroline Jane12 months ago

    This is like an advert for bread! Sign me up immediately for delivery. 🥰

  • Roy Stevens12 months ago

    That was just so very cruel! I'm hungry and fresh bread is my downfall- arghhh! Nicely done L.C. 😁

  • PK Colleran12 months ago

    From one bread baker to another: beautifully done!

  • That was IMMENSELY comforting! Now I need some bread. So visual and well done, pleasing all the senses!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.