Fiction logo

The Intruder

A tribute to a hero who never shirked his duty.

By L.C. SchäferPublished about a year ago 1 min read
19
The Intruder
Photo by Robert Hickerson on Unsplash

An intruder approaches. I'm on high alert. They're getting closer. I run to the main lookout post, cortisol flooding my body. I sound the alarm. They keep coming. I call out, warning them not to take another step. I am armed, and I will use my weapons if needed. They are either brave or stupid. I'm determined to defend this location, no matter what it takes. The prospect unnerves me. I admit to shaking, muscles humming with tension. But look - they are leaving! Panting with relief, I return to my basket.

But wait! Another intruder approaches!

*

*

*

*

*

*

*

By Tanner Crockett on Unsplash

++++++

Thank you for reading!

My other microfiction entry is here:

This is a submission for the Microfiction Magic challenge.

Short Story
19

About the Creator

L.C. Schäfer

Book-baby is available on Kindle Unlimited

Flexing the writing muscle

Never so naked as I am on a page. Subscribe for nudes.

Here be micros

Twitter, Insta Facey

Sometimes writes under S.E.Holz

"I've read books. Well. Chewed books."

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (15)

Sign in to comment
  • Gina C.about a year ago

    Aw, what a sweet ending. :) Loved this!

  • Testabout a year ago

    Hahaha, I had all these visions of a zombie army approaching...and then I scrolled down. Love it!

  • Donna Fox (HKB)about a year ago

    Hah! This was a good one! I was not ready for the twist that it was a dog on guard! So smart!

  • C. H. Richardabout a year ago

    Lol what a cutie❤️My pup is the same way. Ready to defend at any time, although he is a bigger guy he loves people and usually wants to play. Great entry 😊

  • Ha! You have captured it perfectly. The life of a fiercely brave and loyal watchdog.

  • It never stops does it , especially for these sort of guards

  • Iris Harrisabout a year ago

    Bow WOW! LOL. It made me smile.

  • Paul Stewartabout a year ago

    haha! good dog!

  • Awww, that was a cute story!

  • Brannan K.about a year ago

    When I read basket I thought, wait a minute....scroll scroll scroll....ahahhhhahahah tiny dog! Good job stringing me along!

  • Zack Grahamabout a year ago

    Like a mini assault operator, this read like Clancy level military fiction. High tension till the very end... and then you realize... Loved it! Maybe tall about the barks being like warning shots?

  • Dana Stewartabout a year ago

    Good boy! ❤️

  • Kelly Robertsonabout a year ago

    Aha this is great! Great job, pup! Keep those pesky intruders away. Nicely done :)

  • Leslie Writesabout a year ago

    Good dog! Such dedication! He deserves a treat!

  • Roy Stevensabout a year ago

    Haha! Down with Postman Pat AND his black and white cat. Love it!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.