Fiction logo

Confessions of a Murderer

I loved you. I'm sorry.

By L.C. SchäferPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
22
Confessions of a Murderer
Photo by Darius Bashar on Unsplash

Weeping amidst the bones of you. Shattered and scattered all around me like confetti. Ruthlessly cut, ripped from my heart, from the world.

I did it. Me. I loved you, and I killed you, and I'm sorry. I had to. They made me. A piece of me died with you. The little bit of me I fed you to grow you. Blood, sweat, tears, Self.

Oh, my darlings, my darlings.

Wait. What's this? Hope, like Springtime amongst the ashes. Phoenix-like, you became seeds. Little shoots I scoop up with care. Immortal. I saved you! In the folder marked "DARLINGS".

+++++++

Thank you for reading! If you enjoyed this brief silly sally into the world of microfiction, have a shufti at my other two micro pieces here and here 😁

Or if you prefer something you can get your incisors into, try this:

Short Story
22

About the Creator

L.C. Schäfer

Book-baby is available on Kindle Unlimited

Flexing the writing muscle

Never so naked as I am on a page. Subscribe for nudes.

Here be micros

Twitter, Insta Facey

Sometimes writes under S.E.Holz

"I've read books. Well. Chewed books."

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (14)

Sign in to comment
  • JBaz8 months ago

    That was packed full of emotion in so few words

  • Alex H Mittelman 8 months ago

    Great micro fiction!

  • Hannah Moore8 months ago

    A fantastic circle of a story.

  • Andrew C McDonald12 months ago

    Nicely done. While I expected a twist along the lines of what happened, it was executed flawlessly.

  • A great take on the concept of destruction

  • J. S. Wadeabout a year ago

    Oh…the power you wield! 😳😎🥰

  • Babs Iversonabout a year ago

    Superb!!Loved it!!!💖💖💕

  • This was super excellent!

  • Gina C.about a year ago

    Oh, this was such a sweet yet melancholic journey, budding with hope at the end. ❤️ Your words here are heartfelt and powerful. Sooo well done!

  • Testabout a year ago

    Love it. Kill your darlings, sure, but savour their ashes in the hope they might be reborn, and truly loved. So beautifully written. 🖤

  • Roy Stevensabout a year ago

    Clever! 👍

  • emabout a year ago

    WHAT A PLOT TWIST. They should rename the quote to "move your darlings to a separate folder"

  • Donna Fox (HKB)about a year ago

    This was beautiful! It felt heart breaking and then turned inspiring and uplifting! I enjoyed this piece! Nicely done L.C.!

  • Chisi limiabout a year ago

    its amazingly good

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.