Fiction logo

25 seconds & more of agony

Real life horror

By L.C. SchäferPublished 11 months ago 1 min read
17
25 seconds & more of agony
Photo by Matt Artz on Unsplash

Luck is to pass out. Yet, their anguished screams push me on - faster! - almost frantic amidst splashing blood. Panting and sweating to climax: meat dropping at my feet.

He - held firmly. I, poised with the blade. As if on signal, I sprang to work, metal biting flesh. Deeper, seeking bone. His suffering was total.

A dresser joined the agonised chorus, his fingers sliced clean in my haste. He'd not live.

One heart stopped for the horror of it all.

I'm renowned. None other claim a limb with more speed, nor an operation with a 300% mortality rate.

+++ +++ +++

Note from me: Thank you for reading! Please comment so I can reciprocate.

If you are interested in the story behind the story: This one is a trule tale - Robert Liston, a barber surgeon in the 1800s, could cut off a leg in 25 seconds. Speed was essential to minimise the suffering of the patient. Faster operations were generally more successful, possibly because there was less margin for infection. The downside being that mistakes happen at that speed. A "dresser" (an assistant holding down the victim) lost some fingers in one such accident and later died from infection. The patient in that case also died, and so did a witness who died from shock.

If you have been reading my dystopian series (beginning with Glass Dolls and continuing with Straw Dolls), you might be able to guess at the research I was doing, and what might happen next to the protagonist.

+++++++

HistoricalShort StoryMicrofictionHorror
17

About the Creator

L.C. Schäfer

Book-baby is available on Kindle Unlimited

Flexing the writing muscle

Never so naked as I am on a page. Subscribe for nudes.

Here be micros

Twitter, Insta Facey

Sometimes writes under S.E.Holz

"I've read books. Well. Chewed books."

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  4. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  5. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (14)

Sign in to comment
  • Andrew C McDonald11 months ago

    The horror is sweet here. Love it. I could picture the scene and cringe at the thought. Difficult to accomplish in microfiction. Great job.

  • Cathy holmes11 months ago

    This was disgusting and horrifying, in the best possible way. Well done!

  • Lamar Wiggins11 months ago

    Oooh! Intense and gory. Everything you look for in a horror. And now for some reason, my legs hurts! 🤨 Great Read and commentary at the end, L.C.

  • Novel Allen11 months ago

    Horror is growing on me. Didn't get this at first. Thanks for explaining. Thank God for anesthesia, bleach, antibiotics etc, etc,

  • Donna Fox (HKB)11 months ago

    This was a tension filled and heart palpitating story! I love the way you created a sense of terror and had a "classy" amount of gore that doesn't ruin your appetite but your still not eager to eat afterwords. I also really appreciated your comments and break down at at the end, when you told the reader about your inspiration and sources. So well done! This was a great piece, L.C.!

  • I laughed when the witness died of shock. Certainly going to hell, lol! Loved your story!

  • J. S. Wade11 months ago

    Makes me think of the battlefield surgeons. Great detail and effect. Excellent. 🤩

  • ThatWriterWoman11 months ago

    Oooh this captured some horrible atmosphere of an (unfortunately true) story! I felt my heart race! Well done!

  • Roy Stevens11 months ago

    Very well described L.C. Have you read any of Patrick O'Brien's Jack Aubrey/Steven Maturin series. Maturin performs some very harrowing Napoleonic Period surgery occasionally, including once on himself!

  • Leslie Writes11 months ago

    Woah! Speed to minimize suffering, but at quite a cost! Sheesh! This reminds me of one of my favorite non-fiction books by a real life victim of the ice pic lobotomy. Gruesome stuff. Well done!

  • Wow. Thank you for the note telling more. What a story!

  • Andrei Z.11 months ago

    Oh, this brought to my mind an episode from A Young Doctor's Notebook mini-series. Did Robert Liston operate on his patients before or after ether was found to be usable as an anesthetic?

  • Dana Crandell11 months ago

    It was nagging at me and I remembered it with his name. You knocked this one out of th epark. I missed Straw Dolls, but I'm headed that way now.

  • Paul Stewart11 months ago

    Ach, fuck. That was intense! Well done!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.