Fiction logo

Cornflakes

The tribulations of a picky kid

By L.C. SchäferPublished 12 months ago 2 min read
11
Cornflakes
Photo by engin akyurt on Unsplash

Food is... tricky. It's hot, or cold. Yucky. Watery. Slimy. It has skin.

I hate mealtimes. They take ages. And make me feel hard all over, like I want to run away.

Saturday breakast is different. Easy. I bounce out of bed. Smile to the table.

Oh, no. My cornflakes taste wrong.

New mum is Strict. Doesn't matter if something tastes bad, you got to eat it anyway.

Grown-ups tut "so picky" and "so slow". I feel small. Tummy growls. The milk is lumpy. I eat another flake.

They sigh. "Why didn't you say the milk was off?!"

Off where?

+++++ +++++ +++++

Thank you for reading! Please note all engagement is evaluated, and then - once authenticated - appreciated and reciprocated 😁

If you are interested in the story behind the story: this one is true and it happened to me! This is a memory that has stayed with me all my life. Picky kids aren't just being difficult, I swear. Most of us do grow out of it. This was a powerful life lesson for me, in the ways adults overlook children's perspectives and inadvertantly teach them not to listen to their body and their instincts. I'd never tasted off milk before. I had no idea that there was something wrong with it and the adults didn't know. Prior experience had taught me that if I said something tasted horrible I'd get shouted at and made to eat it anyway. Be kind to your kids, people!

My questions to you: Were you a picky eater as a child? Were your parents strict? What impact did that have on you? What are your food-based memories?

Here come the recommendations! If you enjoyed that, try my last micro entry:

If you prefer something a little longer, and more light hearted:

Short StoryMicrofictionfamily
11

About the Creator

L.C. Schäfer

Book-baby is available on Kindle Unlimited

Flexing the writing muscle

Never so naked as I am on a page. Subscribe for nudes.

Here be micros

Twitter, Insta Facey

Sometimes writes under S.E.Holz

"I've read books. Well. Chewed books."

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  4. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  5. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (12)

Sign in to comment
  • Claire11 months ago

    This made me smile:) I’ve had my fair share of spoiled milk, thanks for sharing!

  • Thank you for writing this story! That had a very powerful message! I wasn't a picky eater but I was a very slow eater. I still have that trauma which in turn made me into a super faster eater. And nowwwww, they tell me to slow down. The audacity! Anyway, parents gotta stop telling kids to eat food even if they don't like the taste of it. I'm so sorry for your experience 🥺❤️

  • Mariann Carroll12 months ago

    Lol, was the milk spoiled ? I was lucky my mom try to make breakfast that everyone would like

  • Ashley Lima12 months ago

    So relatable! I'm totally a picky eater, but so are my parents. I force my kid to always try new things so he doesn't end up with a toddler pallete like me

  • Roy Stevens12 months ago

    The punchline is perfect and doesn't detract from the message in any way. Nicely balanced L.C.!

  • Brannan K.12 months ago

    My boy (he's two) won't eat his chicken or beef without dipping in ranch right now - what have we done! Nicely done here!

  • Leslie Writes12 months ago

    This is a very sad cautionary tale for parents. Thank you for sharing.

  • KJ Aartila12 months ago

    Yes - I was a terribly picky eater, and received a ton of criticism - now, not so picky, and it shows - but there are still some thing I still won't touch - like canned tuna - when I was a kid, my Mom tried to trick me with it by making a macaroni salad with tuna instead of chicken (creamy tuna Mac salad is a Midwest thing if you're not familiar - popular at potlucks, which I WON'T eat at!} anyway, like I wouldn't know???? The smell!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • J. S. Wade12 months ago

    Thank you. Your sour, lumpy words penetrated my eyes, transferred to my brain, leaked into my mouth, and I gagged. My stomach is considering joining the revolt. 😂 Good one, L.C. 😎

  • I feel the tummy ache coming on! Well done!

  • Brenton F12 months ago

    "In ten words or less describe what cornflakes mean to you....?" Sorry I had to! "Oh, no. My cornflakes taste wrong." Understatement of the year! Good Job!

  • Andrei Z.12 months ago

    Off to a Sourcreamland. I hated fish in my childhood. This ammonia-like smell, and stupid lurky bones. My parents kept telling me that fish is good for my health, and I had to agree with them. Not that it was a real tourture, but every time it was a small battle between me, my dad, and a fish dish. There were casualties.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.