Fiction logo

"She Always Had Her Nose Buried in a Book"

The delight of finding a nearly new copy of your very favourite story when you wake up.

By L.C. SchäferPublished 12 months ago Updated 12 months ago 2 min read
21

I've always loved to read. This book is my favourite. I was delighted to find this new copy when I woke up.

It's gloomy, but that doesn't hinder me. My lips curve, thinking of Mother. You'll strain your eyes!

It's not too comfortable - quite narrow - but soon I'll be lost in another world completely.

Strange. Turning pages is tricky.

There's an annoying pitter-patter, like rain on a roof. Sombre voices drone, far away. Is someone crying, somewhere above me?

The voices leave, pattering stops.

Ahh, peace! Settling into silk and scents of dirt and rotting flowers, I turn another page.

+

+

+

+

+

+

+

By Mayron Oliveira on Unsplash

Thank you for reading! As always, all engagement is evaluated, and - once authenticated - appreciated and reciprocated 😁

If you are interested in the story behind the story: this little scribble was inspired by a conversation I had with Mikeydred. Special thanks to Mike for that. The cover pic I chose is from my own Graveyard Book (like Desert Island Discs, but for books, and you only get one). Witches Abroad - Pratchett's masterpiece! The bit with Nanny and Casanunda in the clock just kills me. Greebo is brilliant. I apologise that resizing the image left it a little fuzzy.

The wages of sin is death but so is the salary of virtue, and at least the evil get to go home early on Fridays.

My questions to you - what's your "graveyard book"? Not the Neil Gaiman one - I mean, if you were buried alive, what's the book you hope they would put in there with you so you could at least die happy? Or, if after you died, your consciousness woke up... what's the one book you'd cheerfully read for the rest of time? Leave me the quote that is most likely to entice me to read it 😁

This is my 4th entry in the Microfiction challenge. If you enjoyed it, feel free to pop your eyeballs on the others:

Just One Wish

The Intruder

Confessions of a Murderer

Edit: I've had a couple of people ask me if she's dead, or buried alive. I nearly left this up to the reader, because the idea of being buried alive is fascinating/horrifying all by itself. But in my mind, she's dead. That's why she doesn't need light to see, and why turning pages is tricky. The title is her epitaph.

Short Story
21

About the Creator

L.C. Schäfer

Book-baby is available on Kindle Unlimited

Flexing the writing muscle

Never so naked as I am on a page. Subscribe for nudes.

Here be micros

Twitter, Insta Facey

Sometimes writes under S.E.Holz

"I've read books. Well. Chewed books."

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  4. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (17)

Sign in to comment
  • Test12 months ago

    I think I'd like a half and half...a Stephen King/Oscar Wilde double-feature. Another great story!

  • Novel Allen12 months ago

    Just keep the Sherlock Holmes coming. I would be good. You are a fascinating person. No wonder people want to be you.

  • J. S. Wade12 months ago

    Give me a collection of Poe! In a multitude of ways I will be in good company. 😎 great Introspective story 🥰

  • I love this. What a fantastic read. Excellent job.

  • Brannan K.12 months ago

    I liked this microfiction of yours the best so far! It reminded me of an idea I've been sitting on if they make my suggestion (write a short story based on the lyrics of/inspired by a song). It's about a girl buried alive. I don't know what your taste in music is, but I can send you the link!

  • There is a special bond between a reader and their favorite book. Thanks for sharing!

  • Absolutely brilliant and chilling! Gosh I loved this so much!

  • Dana Stewart12 months ago

    Very good L.C.! I’ll have to think on which book is my absolute favorite!

  • Sweet story!! Happy to subscribe to your work.

  • Donna Fox (HKB)12 months ago

    That was amazing, I was complete drawn in and ready for a whole story to unfold! You built tension and mystery and it was masterfully done! Amazing work LC!!! Also, I want you to know that the choice you are forcing me to make for my graveyard book feels like life and death! If I had to choose it would be "Unbirthday" by Liz Braswell, in the "Twisted Tales" series. Buuuuuut a super close second for me is "Straight On Till Morning" by Liz Braswell, also in the "Twisted Tales" series.

  • Roy Stevens12 months ago

    Terrific stuff L.C. My 'graveyard book' would have to be Richard Adam's "Watership Down". To show you the extent of my allegiance my present Mazda GT is named 'Fiver' and 'Bigwig' is a monster of a Pontiac Grand Prix propped up on blocks in the garage awaiting restoration. My wife's first brand new car was 'Hrududu'! 😉🚗🐰😂

  • Dana Crandell12 months ago

    I like the slow, subtle reveal. Great job.

  • Gina C.12 months ago

    Nothing quite like your favorite book! This was charming. 🤗❤️

  • Oneg In The Arctic12 months ago

    Very unique! I love seeing all the directions this micro fic challenge is leading

  • I love a favourite book and thank you for the shout out, . Books take us into amazing worlds

  • Brenton F12 months ago

    Your story has worked well, it got me! I am completely and utterly shit scared of the idea of being buried alive - https://vocal.media/poets/buried-alive-uc3g8z0lg5 - I didn't know anything about being allowed to have a book - that makes it a doddle! :-) My book would be Papillon by Henri Charriere Quote: "Judge in Dream : I accuse YOU... of a WASTED LIFE! Papillon : Guilty... guilty... guilty..."

  • Mariann Carroll12 months ago

    Very relatable, I have read my book, I read it over ten times and I can still get lost in it. Yes, the rain can be annoying but the story hypnotic that you forget you can hear. Lol

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.