Motivation logo

Letter of gratitude to Vocal community.

Thank you so very much 🙏

By Eva SmittePublished 11 months ago Updated 11 months ago 3 min read
Top Story - July 2023
42
Letter of gratitude to Vocal community.
Photo by Ryan 'O' Niel on Unsplash

I don’t know how many people will read this article, since the probability of it making it to the top story is low, unlike my previous piece, which is the very reason I am writing these words. But even if a small percentage out of those who engaged with my content over the last two weeks will see this letter, it will be worth it. Perhaps one of the main reasons I had to write it, is me feeling that due to the busyness of daily life, I didn’t reciprocate nearly enough on the lovely feedback I received from you lot recently.

So, as the above title suggests, I wanted to say - thank you. For the warm and supportive words, for the encouragement, for the wonderful atmosphere of the community, which was so palpable that I felt it through the screen. In other words, it wasn’t just the information in your comments that moved me, it was also the energy that accompanied your words. They felt genuine and authentic, something that is of a very high value to creative people.

All of the above is so very important on this journey of following our passion. There is a narrative out there that I resonated with upon hearing it; something along the lines of the fact that we should first and foremost create for ourselves, in order to answer the call within us and stay true to ourselves. I agree that this is certainly the bigger picture of creativity ; us embodying the Creator’s aspect, painting with the divine brush (pen) on the plain canvas of the pages, without any need for validation. In the ideal world this dynamic would indeed be all the inspiration we need to keep going.

However, when it comes to real life, with its ups and downs, doubts and fears, insecurities and hesitations - having a positive feedback is very valuable, especially for those of us with the imposter syndrome. It reminds us of our worth, our purpose, our gifts. Especially on the days when we struggle to see these things for ourselves. And our purpose one way or another inevitably involves other people and the impact we have on them; without relationships, the interactions with other humans, not much would be learned and experienced in this realm.

The downside of this of course is the vulnerability to negative feedback , but it is worth to remember that our creations are not for everyone, and there is no point trying to please the critics. Perhaps this is when it is the most useful to acknowledge the ideology from the beginning of this text, namely that first and foremost we create to honour the spark within us. Consequently, our people will always recognise and appreciate our work, regardless of what the masses think.

Since I am very passionate about mental health, and since this article has unexpectedly developed an underlying theme of purpose, it is worth mentioning a research I discovered not long ago. Basically it turns out that multiple studies show that having a purpose in one’s life strengthens one’s resilience on the nervous system level. And the state of our nervous system is directly linked to better mental health, better immune system, and a host of other health benefits. And good news is, it is not necessary for our purpose to match the job we do to make a living, in order for the positive effect to occur. As long as the sense of purpose is present in our life, we reap the benefits. I thought this is such a powerful reminder to keep creating, whether it is something that pays one’s bills or not.

So thank you dear Vocal community, I really appreciate you taking the time to read, like and comment on my stories. It makes my heart full.

self helpgoalssuccesssocial mediahappiness
42

About the Creator

Eva Smitte

Writer, model, mental health advocate. Instagram @eva_smitte

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (15)

Sign in to comment
  • Justine Crowley7 months ago

    You are appreciated, and writing is great for my mental health as well. Gratitude to Vocal Media indeed. Thank you so much.

  • Kindred Soul9 months ago

    Congratulations on your top story. I too had some challenges in my mental health, and its through writing that brought me some sense of peace too.

  • Robby Jabon10 months ago

    I totally agree with this adage, "Basically it turns out that various studies show that having a purpose in one's life strengthens one's resilience at the level of the nervous system." Because having a purpose in life means the same as "filling this life with something very meaningful." Thank you, this adds to my insight about the "meaning of life", I hope you are always happy and healthy.

  • Brigham10 months ago

    Congratulations on your top story. The reason why I started writing is to improve my mental health and your stories encourage me to create more.

  • Elaine Sihera11 months ago

    Gratitude is such a powerful force, Eva. We don't use it enough. But you have certainly utilised its value with a great story. Thank you, too, for simply being there as part of the community! Congrats on getting a top story! :)

  • Kendall Defoe 11 months ago

    I completely understand the sentiment here. Thank you for this and I hope you feel free enough and comfortable enough to keep writing!

  • sleepy drafts11 months ago

    Oh, this is so beautiful and heartfelt. I absolutely feel you - the community and the artists who make it are part of what makes this journey so much more fun. Congratulations on Top Story (x2!) This was a fantastic piece. 💓

  • Cathy holmes11 months ago

    Wonderful article. Congrats on the TS

  • Dana Crandell11 months ago

    Very nicely stated and I couldn't agree more. The community is what's kept me on Vocal, and as Mike pointed out, the social media groups help carry the community spirit. Congratulations on Top Story.

  • ema11 months ago

    Love your article ❤. "The imposter syndrome" it's something we have to get rid of in order to progress!

  • Melissa Ingoldsby11 months ago

    Your warm and thoughtful words are very honest and true! Thank you for being so kind! Congratulations on your top story! I love this community too! Vocal is my writing home.

  • Lamar Wiggins11 months ago

    Thank you for sharing your thoughts on the way you feel about community (the feeling is mutual) and the importance of relationships. Congrats on this feel-good Top Story.

  • Gerald Holmes11 months ago

    Very well said and I'm so glad this was given the Top Story badge.

  • Judey Kalchik 11 months ago

    So happy the caring energy of Community was felt by you! And glad this was recognized as top Story!

  • I find the Facebook groups helpful and enjoyed your story and hope it gets a good amount of reads. My top four most-read stories did not make Top Story and two on Autism got very little from Vocal readers but a lot of reads from somewhere else. Will check out more of your work soon

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.