Motivation logo

From Suicide to Finding my Passion

There is Hope

By Sam HamiltonPublished 5 months ago 3 min read
2
Created with Adobe Firefly: A prompt based generative AI tool

My 2023 started with deep dark thoughts and feelings that I couldn’t shake. I took medical leave from college, tried marijuana for the first time, found myself in the car as my “friend” dealt drugs, and landed myself in a Mental Health hospital not once, but twice, for a total of five agonizing months.

As I recount this story, I’m astounded by the fact that I emerged from the darkness. I’ve struggled with mental illness my whole life, stemming from a mixture of genetics and childhood trauma. I thought I had “gotten over” episodes of deep depression as I grew older and entered my late 20’s, but there I stood in the hospital at age 28 feeling as desperate as ever for a way out.

It was my second admission to hospital that was a life changer. In my second admission, I received ECT (Electroconvulsive Therapy) for three months and nearing the end of that admission my mood took a dramatic shift. I was able to think about my future and actually see a future for myself. That deep seeded emotional pain seemed to lessen. I finally cared about life again and could feel enjoyment.

Thinking about it as a type I have tears in my eyes because I am so thankful for the treatment I received. I literally went from attempting to kill myself while hospitalized in a locked ward to applying for jobs and attending virtual interviews from my hospital bed.

While I didn’t get hired, probably for the best at the time, I made it out alive with a sense of purpose and a future oriented mindset.

The summer of 2023 was a bit of a struggle to get through as my days had no structure and I was just waiting in limbo for school to start in the fall. My physical health was declining and I was gaslighting myself about my health.

The fall semester rolled around and I started back in college for my last semester and I felt so relieved to be part of society again.

Somehow I discovered the app Goodnotes and started creating a digital planner for myself. Through that fad I learned about digital stickers. I thought to myself, maybe I can create digital stickers. From there I went down a rabbit hole of YouTube videos learning how to create digital stickers using Procreate, and eventually I switched over to Adobe Illustrator and Adobe Fresco.

Over the past month and a half I made a dramatic change. I cancelled all my subscriptions to streaming platforms and replaced them with a Creative Cloud All Access Subscription.

I replaced habits of mindlessly watching tv shows and feeling like I’m not accomplishing anything to listening to YouTube how tos and tips while drawing art on my iPad. I spent all of my free time learning how to draw and learning about selling on Etsy.

Every day I am learning something new and improving. While, I am a newborn baby in the world of selling digital products, I feel so much passion and drive for what I am doing. Some may argue that I’m using this new business venture to escape my emotions, and they might be right, but at least I can channel my efforts into something that will support my journey towards healing and self-discovery. And, maybe I can make some money to fund my therapy! Laughs awkwardly…

And so, I conclude this chapter of my story, but if you’ve found your way here and are curious to learn more, consider taking this journey with me. Follow along as I navigate the highs and lows of this exciting new chapter in my life.

Before you go

Originally posted October 30, 2023 on Medium: https://medium.com/@applicablestickables/from-suicide-to-finding-my-passion-b5521a25f582

Follow me on Medium here

Read more stories on Vocal here

Consider subscribing if you liked this story! <3

Related Stories

happinesshealinggoals
2

About the Creator

Sam Hamilton

I am a Social Service Worker student and small business owner writing about my journey through college, self improvement, mental health, disability, millennial experience, learning to code, digital art, and much more.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Test5 months ago

    Well done! Keep pushing forward with your excellent work

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.