Motivation logo

Burnt Models

Growing pains from inspirations in an opposite way

By Kalina BethanyPublished 2 months ago 3 min read
5
Burnt Models
Photo by Jordon Conner on Unsplash

Pessimists are the dragons who influenced me. Each represents chilling heat, equivalent to a bonfire for thawing or the snowy hot springs to submerge in.

It seems fitting to view the light amongst the darkness with this feminine crew - the villains of hope in our childhood stories being built anew.

Taylor Swift and Wet Dreamz

Role models and inspirations firstly reminds me of J. Cole song I grew up with - relating to the beats of a struggling rap artist more than a Taylor Swift pop song or boy band record at the age of 13.

Immense grief is felt when the term "role model" is dropped more seriously. Ironic enough, it was a theme of discussion during a recent therapy session about changing behaviours to align with values cohesively.

“Just think of someone you look up to if you struggle with this.”

By Michael Benz on Unsplash

“What if I have no one alike?”

“That’s OK, I’m sure you’ll think of someome. Everyone has a positive influence or two in their life, even if they seem miniscule or irrelevant.”

This left me feeling hopeless, but inspired. It provided an opportunity to dive into solutions with the negative influence surrounding me.

Anti-role models

The archduke of negativity represents the women who raised me, spanning from their outlook on relationships and money to career and hobbies. Each female figure has a piece that immensely inspires you to drive for change, yet the other parts leave a patch of sour taste on the buds between lips pursing desires astray.

By Aron L on Unsplash

All lacking marriage or healthy relations with their kids, it has motivated me to seek the opposite by learning their traits and diverting hastily. A bundle of five or so kids is the dream, all birthed and adopted into the mix.

Gratitude for the work they accomplished seemed lacking by most women, except the eldest being grandmother fulfilled with hope. I aspire to be someone who thrives to serve the people her employment file oversees, rather than dreading every moment leading up to payday or travelling.

Strict personal faith is a final missing piece from most ladies, except the uniquely miserable heap living far away from the city streets shovelling snow at 86. Believing a man will serve them higher than the religion they seek, or that curses upon their life were given by divine holy spirits, I say no thanks and take notes while lightning-bolt leaving their vicinity.

By Yann Allegre on Unsplash

Fire-breathing on our screens

Offering an insight for those of us without healthy parents or mentors is the scene. Growing into adulthood mostly alone, I’ve quickly embraced the fear of failure and learning which has led to numerous advisors and mentor-like leaders surrounding. Looking to podcasts and influential UN or Ted Talk speeches is where those nearest and dearest to my values and destiny are found - even pitches in the literal Dragon’s Den offering different outlooks brought hope.

Mentors and those who inspire can be found over a video screen or audio clip, as chilling as that may seem. Lacking a personal connection or bonded experience, it motivates us to work hard and meet those who drove us to beat poverty by adjusting our mindsets and seeking healthy habits emitted.

Our dragons teach us who not to be, while we learn to surround ourselves with quality people who breathe fire as they dream.

~

Copyright © 2023 by Kalina Bethany. All rights reserved.

Thanks for reading this piece for the FIRST creator-led The Dragon Beside Me Challenge by the Voices in Minor (ViM) team.

Appreciate you leaving a tip and subscribing using the button below. You can also check out some of my other work while here - it's FREE to read and the support is sincerely appreciated ♥️

how toVocalsuccessself helphappinessgoalsadvice
5

About the Creator

Kalina Bethany

{she/her}

Constantly seeking new adventures.

A passionate writer of the non-fiction, personal, novel and surreal.

Subscribe, leave a tip and explore these written journeys with me!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran2 months ago

    Ah finally something different. I almost did something similar because instead of dragons, I had snakes in my life, who taught me who not to be when I grew up!

  • A fascinating take on this Kalina! I'm sorry that not all the people around you provided what they should have, but this idea of the anti-mentor I think is serving, and will continue to serve you well, and finding those who can provide that hope is powerful!

  • C. Rommial Butler2 months ago

    Well-wrought! This really strikes at how much more information new generations have to sort through and how little guidance we've really had. I suppose I am an Xer bridging the gap between very disparate technological and cultural ages. We are a lost generation, in my estimation, but I only sincerely hope this makes some newer generation--or with great hope all of them--found! Discovered! Not sure where you fall generationally, but I'll be putting this as today's comment on my CREATION MYTH! It's been quite the grab bag so far, and I think I am now amassing a constellation of different viewpoints. Thrilled to add yours! https://vocal.media/poets/creation-myth-m8dm0x8d

  • Kendall Defoe 2 months ago

    Good luck!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.