Poets logo

CREATION MYTH

A Creative Introduction to Other Vocal Writers

By C. Rommial ButlerPublished 2 months ago Updated 2 months ago 3 min read
Top Story - February 2024
37
"Selene and Endymion" by Sebastiano Ricci... the dog is like: you see this sh--?...

Introduction

Among my favorite tropes in storytelling is the creation myth, which always amounts to an impossible story about how things came to be which is nevertheless more appealing and resonant than the boring old facts.

I offer below my own creation myth as a prelude to some of my favorite stories from fellow Vocal creators. The list of stories I have loved is as long and deep as the duskshadows and as illuminating as the rising sun, and I almost didn't do this at all for fear of offending those I must inevitably omit.

Then I had a bright idea: YOU can put links to your own favorites in the comments, and I can keep adding more of my own there as time allows.

This should create a nice grab bag of awesomeness.

I feel as if it should go without saying that we mustn't link ourselves, but others. So I won't say it.

*ahem*

I will keep this one pinned to the top of my stories henceforth, with the hope that anyone who stumbles upon my work might in turn stumble on yours!

CREATION MYTH

The old man I am, in tattered raiment, roaming the land with no ill intent.

I wandered in search of I-knew-not-what, but I knew it when I found it.

It was a sun-dappled glade in an autumnal forest, beckoning my weary body to lay against a fallen log and sleep in the warm sun on a cool day.

So many years of restless wandering just to nap in a glade?

It was all well worth it.

For there, in the glade, I found not the fountain of youth; but the river of fate; the winds of change; the mountain of being; the fire of becoming!

I found life not only in the waking walk I took to this hallowed ground. I found life also in my dreams. Where my body slept on the forest floor, my mind did swoop and soar in strange other-worlds, in-between worlds, and beyond-worlds.

When I awoke to the dusk, the shadows greeted me. They begged for form, for shape, for some vicarious taste of the wonder and terror I encountered in my astral journeys, a hero or villain story to invest them with substance, make them feel real.

So as Sol descended gracefully to make way for Luna’s soft caress, I regaled the shadows, describing the wonders of evermore, so that the benighted might take the shape of the primordial stories and walk upon the earth, beings who become… stories… of their own.

These are some of those tales…

Authors of the stories below, in order:

1. Melissa Ingoldsby: What is most important?

2. Dharrsheena Raja Segarran: Purpureus Realm

3. J: Co/veil/ent

4. Robbie Newport: The Inner Cleansing

5. Gerard DiLeo: Don't Let the Bastards Win

6. Poppy: White

7. Dana Crandell: October's Kiss

8. KJ Aartila: Seeking Eternal Truth

9. Veronica Coldiron: Morning Glory

10. Rob Angeli: A Love/Hate Sonnet

I've been and will always continue to add extra stories to my comment thread below! Click one, it's a grab bag of fun! Started it ten day's ago when I posted this edit and picture, but more time may have elapsed by now, dear reader! Thanks for stopping by!

Down below, there are rabbit holes in rabbit holes. Dig deep, Alice!

inspirational
37

About the Creator

C. Rommial Butler

C. Rommial Butler is a writer, musician and philosopher from Indianapolis, IN. His works can be found online through multiple streaming services and booksellers.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (28)

Sign in to comment
  • Charlene Ann Mildred Barrogaabout a month ago

    Your innovative approach to the creation myth is engaging and your integration of other writers' contributions gives a great dimension to the storytelling community here. Keep glowing!

  • Kelli Sheckler-Amsdenabout a month ago

    This is so good. I can’t wait to read what you’ve found. Thank you for sharing this and congratulations on your top story

  • ROCK about a month ago

    Congratulations a wee late on this Top Story! Now to catch all the delicacies you've recommended as necessary for my continuance:)

  • Hannah Mooreabout a month ago

    The creation of stories!

  • Kalina Bethanyabout a month ago

    Honoured to have been part of your comment thread. I thoroughly enjoyed reading this, and found it ironic that my cat Luna jumped off her tree and came to my lap as I read the part on Sol and Luna (freaky!) Can I consider myself a mythical creator now? ;)

  • Call Me Les2 months ago

    Also I love that you touched on the fact as author's it is so tempting to get into deep background for story settings. I have done it myself and gotten lost in it many a time and lost the story I had meant it to preface! I am sure I am not alone in feeling very seen by this work.

  • Call Me Les2 months ago

    Oh that's so cool! Remind me of my days running the Vocal Creators Chronicle with friends. Way to go. This is amazing <3 I love when people encourage others like this and your writing is so eloquent. Truly great work.

  • Trishawn Blake2 months ago

    A creative piece of work you have right here! Well done ❤️❤️❤️❤️

  • Natasha Collazo2 months ago

    Wow this is so incredible! I’ll be diving in to these stories to see what I’ve been missing!!

  • JBaz2 months ago

    This is a wonderful tribute to others as well as your works It is people like you who go one step further that makes this platform a pleasure to be on

  • Anna 2 months ago

    Congrats on Top Story!🥳🥳🥳

  • Paul Stewart2 months ago

    This is so marvellous! Love the sentiment behind it and your awesome words. Also thank you for the shout-out too in the comments! Congrats on Top Story for this piece of genius.

  • LASZLO SLEZAK2 months ago

    Congratulations on your Story!

  • sleepy drafts2 months ago

    This is soo creative and so fun. What an awesome way to showcase these wonderful writers and pieces. 💗💪🏻 Thank you so much for writing and sharing this!! What an awesome idea! 💕

  • Jay Kantor2 months ago

    Hi-C ~ This is terrific. Funny, the 1st thing that I noticed in the heading, other than girl parts, was the Doggy 'tude. j.in.l.a.

  • Back to say congratulations on your Top Story! 🎉💖🎊🎉💖🎊

  • Melissa Ingoldsby2 months ago

    I’m back to say congrats on your awesome top story💕

  • Ali SP2 months ago

    This is a wonderful gesture to add the work of other writers here on vocal. Not only does it allow readers to see their work but it shows how supportive you are of other writers!

  • Robbie Newport2 months ago

    Thanks for including me in your creative story introduction! I have faith in a certain creation story, found in the Holy Bible. It is always an interesting topic.

  • Oh wowww, this is such a brilliant concept and thank you so much for giving me the opportunity to be part of the CREATION MYTH! 🥰🥰🥰

  • Cathy holmes2 months ago

    This is a wonderful ideal. I've seen some of these, and will check out the others. Thanks for drawing my attention here.

  • J2 months ago

    Thank you so much for this story, and for finding a place for me in it. I'd like to add Tracy Kreuzburg's The Sea Princess and Cathy Holmes' Spring to the collective mythos.

  • KJ Aartila2 months ago

    Thank you! And what a wonderful idea! I do not have a link to add at the moment, but there are many!

  • My first addition to this comment thread is from Naveed, a wonderful ode to daughters: https://vocal.media/poets/let-the-daughters-laugh-and-play

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.