Motivation logo

Ashamed

What am I ashamed of?

By Theresa EvansPublished 14 days ago 3 min read
Ashamed
Photo by Etty Fidele on Unsplash

Never be ashamed of a scar. It simply means you were stronger than whatever tried to hurt you. (Butterflies Lovers)

This is a fantastic question to ask yourself when others try to make you feel bad or ashamed of where you come from or make you feel ashamed for the positive choices that you made for yourself to heal. It will always amaze me when I hear someone in my inner circle say things like girl, don’t forget where you come from. I remember when you were broken down, your shoulders were hunched over, and you couldn’t even look people in the eyes because you were so broken.

First, let me get a few things clear. I used to be ashamed of my past and all of the hurt that I had to endure because of other people, so now, when you see me walking around with confidence in myself, do not think for a second that I will back down to your insecure level because you have not come to a positive place in your life to heal yourself. I am no longer ashamed of the past or the pain that has gotten me to this place in my life. So, if you are one of those people who love to remind others of their traumas, guess what? I am not listening to you.

I am stronger now than most people who still fight for their own mental and emotional freedom. I know that I am stronger than whatever it was that tried to break me, and there is nothing no one on this earth can say I have not made positive changes for myself. All the scars still in and around me show me just how strong I truly am. I will never be ashamed of where I came from, and I am not sorry for choosing myself first over everyone else because I had to go through hell and back mentally, physically, and emotionally to secure my inner peace.

So, for those of you who are waiting for my downfall. Keep waiting because there are nothing but positive movements over here. I am no longer going to sit around and feel bad and sorry for myself about the past traumas that I have been through because it has taught me to be mentally, physically, emotionally, and financially strong for myself, not others. Now, if I know that my emotional and mental cup is complete, I do not have a problem with giving others some of my positive vibes, but if at any moment I see that you are not serious about your intentions with your motives, I will disconnect from you and your issues, and I will continue to live my life positively without you in it.

In life, we all have to come to a place where we can love ourselves unconditionally and not feel ashamed about our scars from the past. If you do not take the time to learn from the past, you can never grow into the future. Life is beautiful when you have your mental head space in check. Trent Shelton always says, “It all starts and ends with you.” I totally understand now what he was saying when he said this because it is so true. It does start and end with you, so whenever you think of something, please keep in mind that you are your thoughts, and your thoughts will become actions, so please always be intentional with everything you say and do to yourself and others. When you choose to do things with intent in a positive way, you will start to see things in a different light.

how toquoteshealinghappinessgoalsadvice

About the Creator

Theresa Evans

I am a woman on fire for the love of life and being able to reach one life at a time through my words. If I can reach one then I can teach one the art of healing one's self from the inside out all mentaly

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Theresa EvansWritten by Theresa Evans

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.