Motivation logo

Meet YungShrugga

Meet YungShrugga

By Jason James Published 8 days ago 3 min read

Sharodrick Criss, known by his stage name YungShrugga, hails from Flint, Michigan but was raised in the vibrant music scene of Nashville, Tennessee. From a young age, Sharodrick has had a deep, almost spiritual connection to music and the power it holds to express complex human emotions. He reflects, "Music is so important to me because it allows me to channel my innermost feelings and experiences in a way that nothing else can."

Sadly, Sharodrick feels that far too many artists today are primarily motivated by financial gain rather than a genuine artistic impulse. "Most artists just create for the income, while I create for the emotion," he laments. "I want my music to truly validate and give voice to the human experience, not just to fill commercial quotas."

This approach is evident in Sharodrick's multifaceted role as a composer, mixer, and producer. He is deeply passionate about the technical and creative intricacies of music-making, seeing each discipline as essential to crafting authentic, emotionally resonant sonic experiences. "Composing allows me to translate my vision and artistic sensibilities into musical structures and melodies," he explains. "But no composition is complete without the crucial work of mixing - refining the balances, tones, and textures to bring out the best in the raw materials. And production is the crucial backend that helps artists develop the rhythmic foundations and collaborative frameworks for their music."

Sharodrick's expertise in these areas is undergirded by his bachelor's degree in music business, which he earned at a prominent university. "Having that formal education has given me a well-rounded understanding of the industry, from the creative and technical sides to the business acumen needed to navigate this complex landscape. I feel extremely equipped to pursue music as a lifelong career path."

Looking ahead to the next five years, Sharodrick envisions a period of significant evolution and achievement. "The first priority will be solidifying my identity and 'soul purpose' as an artist. I want to clearly articulate the essence of who I am and what I represent, not just for my own clarity but so that I can effectively communicate that to audiences." With four years of industry experience already under his belt, Sharodrick is brimming with confidence about his ability to continue growing his credibility. "There's so much to learn in this business, and I know that a lack of research and preparation can really hold artists back. But I've been diligently building my knowledge, and I'm ready to take things to the next level."

Sharodrick's ambitious goals for the next five years include spreading greater awareness and education to his fellow creators, maintaining a steady release schedule and video production, touring internationally, and truly cementing his place in the industry. But his core motivation transcends mere career aspirations. "At the end of the day, I just want to use my gifts to bring more happiness, positivity, and meaning to the world through my music. That's the legacy I want to leave."

A key part of that legacy-building, in Sharodrick's view, is empowering other artists - particularly those who struggle with debilitating stage fright and confidence issues. "So many talented creators are held back by fear and self-doubt. I want to show them that there are technical and business-oriented skills they can develop to overcome those mental blocks. Learning about things like mixing, mastering, analytics, and the various revenue streams in the industry can give artists a much stronger foundation of knowledge and control over their creative journeys."

Underlying all of Sharodrick's ambitions is a deep belief in the transformative power of creativity, self-awareness, and a commitment to the greater good. "At the end of the day, I want to be remembered as someone who inspired others to tap into their higher selves, to unapologetically express their authentic voices, and to use their talents to make a real difference in the world. That's the kind of legacy that truly matters to me."

celebrities

About the Creator

Jason James

Jason James is an American journalist Andrew writer from Miami, Florida that specializes in covering the entertainment industry.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Jason James Written by Jason James

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.