Motivation logo

Are You Frustrated, Confused, and Unfulfilled?

Are you bothered by confusion and a lack of fulfillment in your life?

By The Enlightenment JourneyPublished about a year ago 6 min read
Like
Are You Frustrated, Confused, and Unfulfilled?
Photo by Fernando Jorge on Unsplash

No one wants to work their way up to the top, but nobody ever stops wanting to live there.

- Andy Rooney

Food, drink, and good times are the three most important aspects of any social gathering. Louisiana is where I spent my formative years.

By the time I was 15, I was friends with the owner of the local drive-through daiquiri bar and had my driver’s license. (In case Miss Billy was wondering.) It wasn’t at all out of the ordinary. On the weekend, who doesn’t partake in heavy drinking? All of us did.

After my parents split up and I was living in college, I learned how to make grilled cheese sandwiches on my roommate’s little George Forman grill. As a result, I often found myself eating five grilled cheese sandwiches at three in the morning after getting drunk on campus.

Then there was the job on Wall Street, which included many breaks for food and drink. Client happy hour get-together Take pleasure in a candlelit dinner for two. Get some more cocktails at the bar if you have room after supper. Take in some victuals. Repeat. Just chill out by lying down. Decompress. You get my meaning. The reality is harsh. Period. Absolutely not.

Some days, the pressures and difficulties of life may feel insurmountable. Sometimes it seems like a better idea to just eat a pint of ice cream, drink a bottle of wine, go shopping, keep ourselves “busy,” and work nonstop than it does to deal with the intensity of life.

We keep going since the consequences of giving up are unclear to us at this point. The realization that our lives are often chaotic might be unsettling. If we took a short pause, what do you think would happen? Would all we’ve worked for simply fall apart?

When I was working on Wall Street, it was much easier to ignore how discordant my life felt since everything looked good on paper and I was enjoying certain aspects of my career and personal life.

It was also far less difficult for me to ignore the nagging feeling that the business I launched the year before wasn’t quite what I had envisioned. Things like a broken romance, disappointing friends, soul-sucking employment, and so on may be easier to forget.

Something is off, and I can’t put my finger on it. Most of us are unhappy with our current situation, and we don’t know how to change it because we don’t know how to cope with our negative emotions.

We get caught up in thinking that we need to know everything and have every answer. Because we don’t have the information to do something about it, we opt to ignore the nagging voices in our heads and pretend they don’t exist. We chose whatever makes us feel better in order to deal with the knowledge that we’ve ignored the rumblings and that occasionally, despite appearances to the contrary, our lives are everything but amazing.

Because we were never taught to pay attention to our feelings, we deal with them by ignoring them. Many of us turn to “safe” choices like eating and drinking. For that reason, I’ve avoided drug use altogether. Neither gambling nor shoe addiction were ever problems for me. One thing I did love was eating and drinking. They eventually become calming. They morphed into customs officers.

Here is my story: I was raised Catholic in a family from southern Lebanon. I am a very accomplished, goal-oriented woman.

We eat and drink and do nothing else. Nothing is wrong with any of it until there is.

Wine, chocolate, late-night online shopping, and giving one’s all to a profession one loves are all fine pastimes. What I mean is that these things might backfire if you use them to cover up your true feelings or fill a need in your soul.

Many of us know that this is just the beginning. We’re all set to feel connected, motivated, and enthusiastic, but we have no idea how to get there.

There’s “something more” out there, but we can’t quite put our finger on it.

I knew I needed to stop using food and drink as a crutch last year if I was going to find that “something more.” Writing about the range of emotions I was feeling helped me to acknowledge and accept them without trying to change them into something they weren’t.

I couldn’t avoid facing my concerns; I had to face them head-on. It was important for me to be able to tell the difference between helpful ideas and ingrained biases that needed to be rewritten. I had to train myself to see my ideas as strangers rather than as pleasant guests in my head. The realization that I could choose to act at any moment was crucial.

A deep, naked, raw, and beautiful place inside me was awakened. My sense of alignment, purpose, motivation, and vitality have all increased immeasurably as a result of this journey’s successful conclusion. Since this is it for me, I’ve made up my mind to make the most of it.

Since I know I was sent on this earth for a specific reason, I must remain receptive to guidance in order to complete the mission to which I have been called.

If you’re willing to let go of the past and embrace the future, you, too, may find your life’s meaning.

Do you have the courage to go where your heart leads, even if it’s a lonely, dusty road?

The solutions may not always be within your grasp. It’s possible that you won’t always be able to pinpoint the “how.” If you are willing to say yes to the whispers, the road will rise to meet you, and your course will become obvious. Please confirm your acceptance first.

Without the need to turn to food or drink to dull my feelings, I have discovered a world of possibility and fulfillment I never knew existed. Where there is complete liberty. It’s all OK with me. I’ve got a drive. I’m in a committed relationship now. It pleases me. My soul exists. To shine, I feel like a goddess.

Most importantly, I want to show you how to have that kind of rapport with yourself so you can do the kind of work that really inspires you.

Here are Five Measures to Take as a Starting Point

1. The first thing to think about is: “Do my heart and soul feel completely full?”

If you answered no, are you ready to commit to finding your “something more” and taking the next step on your path?

2. Recognize the ways in which you self-medicate and escape (alcohol, food, your work, etc.) once you’ve accepted the reality of the situation.

Even if you don’t need to get rid of them, are you able to recognize them when you reach for them?

3. Don’t try to ignore or push away your worries; instead, accept them.

Writing down my concerns helps me feel better, even if I don’t do anything to fix them. Start with “I’m scared of…” and just doodle for a bit.

4. Remember that your feelings aren’t lethal.

A person might feel great first thing in the morning and terrible only a couple of hours later. Opinions and sentiments are fleeting. Keep in mind that you are more than what they see. Who you really are is in the silence underneath it all.

5. Count on confidence

We’re about to go on a thrilling journey. Your future will begin to take form. You may think that all you have to do after giving your consent is keep an eye out for signs. Just keep showing up and answering yes, and you will be guided.

Thank you for taking the time to read this post! Please don’t forget to follow me for more articles like this in the future! :-)

More at:

The link above will take you to another safe website.

successself helphow tohealinghappinessgoalsadvice
Like

About the Creator

The Enlightenment Journey

All About Spirituality, Metaphysics, and Self-Help Articles

More at:

https://theenlightenmentjourney.com

https://twitter.com/TheEnlightenm12

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.