Poets logo

past…2022

two in one

By Olivia DodgePublished about a month ago 1 min read
Top Story - May 2024

3/2/22 3:26pm

They say grief gets lighter over time and

I suppose that should

make sense but I’ve

never been very strong my father always

told me to go to the gym I guess I should

have listened maybe my arms wouldn’t

fall to my sides at the sight of your grave

if I had renewed my membership but I

was only twelve

how could I know ten

pounds would save my heart from its own

demise how could I know it would have

been the perfect training to carry your

rotten corpse from the living room into my

bed

/

When my brittle ice / whittles at citrus

from the wife / whose lips curl

showcase each breath / on my knees

I remember these / wrapped around the

little bones / in here / life / grown to the birds

They melt

the end

— ODH

nature poetrysurreal poetrysad poetry

About the Creator

Olivia Dodge

22 | Chicago

ig: l1vyzzzz & lntlmate

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (10)

  • Manisha Dhalaniabout a month ago

    Congrats on top story!

  • Anna about a month ago

    Congrats on Top Story! :)

  • Joe O’Connorabout a month ago

    I really love the creativity of your layout in this piece. It adds a lot to the heaviness of the emotion

  • angela hepworthabout a month ago

    Stunningly written. Your unique format makes for an amazing flow and reading experience!

  • Silver Serpent Booksabout a month ago

    The movement and flow in this poem was stunning. Congrats on the Top Story!

  • Melissa Ingoldsbyabout a month ago

    I love the endless liminal flow of your piece, visceral and emotional

  • Melissa Ingoldsbyabout a month ago

    I love these endless liminal flow of your piece, visceral and emotional

  • Dr. Jason Benskinabout a month ago

    Nice Work. I enjoyed your poem very much. Let me know your thoughts on my work, open to constuctive feedback.

  • Heartfelt words on loss

  • Belleabout a month ago

    I find this thought provoking... beautifully written. I love the slashes in the end! Those last lines are entrancing, I wonder more about their meaning... Lovely.

Olivia DodgeWritten by Olivia Dodge

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.