Motivation logo

Adding Value:

3 Ways to Impress Your Boss

By W.T. HamiltonPublished about a year ago 4 min read

We all want recognition for a job well done. We all want to feel appreciated. And we all want our boss to know how hard we work. But how do you know if your boss even notices you? How do you know if they are aware of what you do on a daily basis?

As a consultant for a growing company, I often face this question when coaching some of the managers. It's a hidden concern that seldom gets addressed because the manager feels petty even bringing it up. However, it's very important to understand and is a great tool for building your success. We all need to focus on adding value.

So here are three ways to impress your boss using the technique of adding value:

Schedule your activities.

Making time for everything you need to do in a day can be impossible at times. But if you schedule your day into blocks of activity, you will find it becomes vastly easier to complete various tasks and assignments. And you might even start to look like a miracle maker.

It's one of the things I learned when I read the book, "The One Minute Manager" by Spencer Johnson. I apply it to how I block my day. If I'm consulting, I'm not emailing or answering phone calls. I use different increments of time depending on the activity. Some blocks of time are 15 minutes while others are 45 minutes. I always respect the time limit and try to get the most out of the time allotted. Once I taught the managers I work with how to do this, they saw a huge improvement in how much they could accomplish each day. And guess who else noticed? That's right, their boss.

Treat everyone as your customer.

Each person that you come into contact with is your customer. You are providing them with something, whether it's advice, friendship, or service. Your customers are external, internal, and personal. This means that you need to treat everyone with value and focus on adding value to their experience with you.

When I work with managers, I ask them to extend this to the people they interact with at the coffee shop, the gas station, and the grocery store. Extend it to their family. Always think about the customer experience they have with you. Did you add value to their lives even in a brief encounter? It could be as simple as smiling at them and saying thank you.

A Quick Story

I was driving in Michigan, and my GPS broke down. I needed it to get to where I was going, so I had to make an emergency stop at Best Buy. I quickly found a GPS and went to the cashier. I was coming from Canada and had limited data on my smartphone, so the GPS was critical for traveling in the US. I explained my plight and let the cashier know that they were a lifesaver and how much I appreciated them. I was genuine in my praise, and we both left feeling good.

Creating this habit of acknowledging people and making the customer experience a great one everywhere you go will naturally translate into your work life too. And guess who will notice? That's right, your boss.

Underpromise and overdeliver.

I learned this technique from the company I consult for. Their motto is "underpromise and overdeliver." It's a great technique because it forces you to build in extra time in any completion dates that you set for yourself. When you get into the habit of doing this, you will find that you are automatically set up to handle any unforeseen setbacks, and you can still deliver on time.

The awesome part is, there seldom are any setbacks because you are using the first and second techniques in this article. You end up getting things done.

And guess who loves people that do what they say they're going to do? That’s right, your boss.

Did You Know...

But, did you know that you can also indirectly let your boss know what you're doing by adding value to your work? By making your activities count and having a positive impact on the people around you, you're demonstrating your reliability and competence. Your boss will notice your efforts and acknowledge your contributions. It's a proven technique that brings positive results every time.

If you want more tips and techniques, be sure to follow us. Join our email list and receive value-adding insights into building the Mindset for Success. And if your business needs a boost, why not consider hiring me? Contact me here and let’s see where I can add value to your business.

Thank You!

Firstly, I want to express my gratitude to you for taking the time to read my blog. I hope that you found the tips and strategies helpful. Please let me know, comment below.

Are you tired of feeling mentally drained after a long day at work, only to be faced with the stress of bills and expenses piling up? It's a common struggle, but what if you could give your bank account a much-needed boost without leaving the comfort of your own home?

If you're looking for a way to earn extra income without taking on a second job, I have great news for you. With just a few clicks, you can start generating additional revenue right away. No need to go anywhere or do anything outside of your usual routine.

I understand the feeling of being stretched thin and not having enough energy to take on more work. That's why I'm excited to share this opportunity with you. Simply click on the link below to learn more and get started on your path to financial freedom.

➡️➡️➡️Find Your Perfect Online Job. Click Here Now! ⬅️⬅️⬅️

successself helphow tohappinessgoalsadvice

About the Creator

W.T. Hamilton

W.T. Hamilton is a mutiple time, award winning author, entrepreneur and mindset coach specializing in helping people turn their dreams into awesome products and services.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • W.T. Hamilton (Author)about a year ago

    What ways do you make yourself standout at work?

W.T. HamiltonWritten by W.T. Hamilton

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.