Longevity logo

"Thread of Humanity"

Humanity

By Ramoon MalPublished 7 months ago 4 min read
Like
unsplash.com/ Pics on Uploaded

"Thread of Humanity":

The old factory sat silent, its rusted machines left untouched for decades. Dust coated every surface like a thick blanket. Through one of the high windows, a single beam of sunlight shone down, illuminating the stillness within.

A small figure moved through the light. Anna slowly walked between the looming machines, running her hands along their cold metal. She had come here every day since she was little, exploring the abandoned building that sat on the edge of town. It was her secret place, away from prying eyes.

As Anna wandered, something caught her eye. A flash of color amidst the drab surroundings. She moved closer and saw it was a spool of thread, vibrant red against the dull floor. Anna picked it up curiously. The thread seemed impossibly fresh and new compared to everything else in the factory.

She began to unwind the spool, letting the thread spill out behind her as she walked. Anna was fascinated by the unbroken line stretching back into the shadows. Where did it lead? She followed the thread deeper into the factory, winding it back up as she went.

The thread wound through the machines and around rusty gears, never breaking or tangling. It led Anna to a door she had never noticed before, hidden behind an old conveyor belt. She pulled on the handle and the door creaked open slowly.

Inside was a small room, untouched by time. Sunlight filtered in through high windows to illuminate a strange sight. In the center of the room sat an antique sewing machine, polished to a shine. Beside it was a figure hunched over a project.

As Anna entered, the figure looked up. It was an old woman, her wrinkled face kind. In her hands was the other end of the red thread Anna still held.

"Hello dear," the woman said softly. "I've been waiting for you."

Anna was startled but not afraid. "Who are you?" she asked.

The woman smiled. "My name is Clara. I used to work here, long ago before the factory closed. But I never left. I've been here ever since, keeping this machine running."

Clara gestured to the spool of thread in Anna's hand. "That thread has been waiting too. It led you here for a reason."

Anna looked at the vibrant red in her fingers, then back to Clara. "Why?"

Clara leaned back in her chair. "Come, sit with me and I'll tell you a story."

Anna sat cross-legged on the floor, enraptured as Clara began to speak. "This factory used to employ the whole town. People from far and wide would come to work the machines and sew clothes. It was a busy, bustling place filled with life."

"I worked this very sewing machine for over 50 years. I sewed everything from shirts to dresses to coats. I loved my work and took pride in every stitch. But as the years went by, things began to change."

Clara sighed sadly. "New factories opened with faster machines that didn't need people. One by one my coworkers lost their jobs until it was just me left. The owners shut the factory down, saying it wasn't profitable anymore."

"I refused to leave. This machine, these walls, held all my memories. So I stayed, keeping the machine oiled so it wouldn't rust like everything else. But I was lonely with no one to talk to."

Clara held up the project in her hands - a quilt nearly finished, made entirely of scraps of fabric in a myriad of colors.

"To pass the time, I began sewing this quilt from the leftover materials. Each piece represents a person who used to work here - their favorite shirt, a scrap from their daughter's dress. Through this quilt, I've kept their memories alive all these years."

Clara ran her wrinkled hand over the vibrant red thread in Anna's palm. "And this thread... it's the last bit I had left from my favorite spool. I knew when I finished it, my work here would be done. But I wanted it to have a purpose first - to lead someone new to me, so I wouldn't be alone."

Anna gazed at the thread with new understanding. "You wanted it to bring me here."

Clara nodded. "You visit every day but had never found me until now. The factory may be silent, but through this quilt, its history lives on. And now, you will carry its story forward after I'm gone."

Anna smiled, taking Clara's hand in hers. For the first time in decades, the old woman no longer felt alone. And through the thread that bound them, a new friendship was formed that would endure long after the factory faded to dust. The thread had fulfilled its purpose, keeping the memory of that place - and all who once called it home - alive in the hearts of those it touched.

diet
Like

About the Creator

Ramoon Mal

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.