Poets logo

Come in your dream

Dream

By Ramoon MalPublished 7 months ago 2 min read
2
freepik.com/free-photos-vectors/dreams on uploaded

I drifted off to sleep that night, exhausted from the day

As my mind relaxed, it began to wander and sway

Images and scenes appeared before my mind's eye

Carrying me into a dream world, I did not know why

I found myself standing in a vast open field

Tall grass and wildflowers as far as I could yield

The sun was shining bright, a few clouds in the sky

A light breeze blew around me, it was a beautiful sigh

As I took in the scenery, so peaceful and still

I noticed movement in the grass, coming up a hill

Creatures appeared from the tall stalks of green

Animals I had never seen, the likes I had never seen

Foxes with stripes of orange and spots of blue

Deer with feathers instead of fur, flying through

Rabbits with wings like birds flapping as they hopped

I watched in wonder at the sights that I had dropped

Just then from above came a strange fluttering sound

I looked up to the sky searching all around

Giant colorful butterflies as big as small cars

With patterns so vivid, like moving artwork stars

They floated on the breeze with such grace and style

The beauty took my breath, I stood watching awhile

One landed near to me with wings outstretched broad

Its eyes like gemstones, colors that shone abroad

It seemed to stare right through me with its brilliant gaze

As if it could see inside, past my eyes in a haze

We stood for a moment, I was caught in its trance

Then with a flick of its wings, it flew off in a dance

I turned to take in more of this magical place

When down the hill came a figure at walking pace

As it came into view its features did appear

The face of an old friend, someone I held dear

My friend smiled and said "Come, walk with me now

I'll show you the wonders that in this landscape vow"

We strolled through the grass as the sun shone above

Talking and laughing, feeling warmth and love

The strange hybrid creatures frolicked all around

We watched their antics without a single sound

My friend told stories of how this land came to be

Tales I'd never believe if I hadn't seen with my eyes, you see

All too soon the sun started to sink in the sky

Casting orange glow all around far and wide

My friend gave me a hug and said it was time to part

But I'd never forget this place deep in my heart

I woke with a start, sunlight on my face

The dream still so vivid, etched in my mind's place

Though I knew it was just a fanciful dream

Somehow it all felt more real than it seemed

That special dreamland stays with me yet today

Brought to mind when life feels dull or gray

A place of wonder, beauty and joy so true

All thanks to that magical night and visit from you, my friend, you

performance poetry
2

About the Creator

Ramoon Mal

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran7 months ago

    This was such a lovely poem! Wondering work!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.