Longevity logo

The Amazing Benefits of Biotin and Red Light Therapy for Hair Growth

Craig Smith

By Health FirstPublished 9 months ago 5 min read
Like

I have always struggled with thin and brittle hair. Ever since I was a kid, I envied those girls who had long and luscious locks that they could style in any way they wanted. I tried everything to make my hair grow faster and stronger, from expensive shampoos and conditioners to homemade masks and oils. Nothing seemed to work for me.

I was about to give up on my hair dreams when I stumbled upon an article online that talked about biotin and red light therapy for hair. I was intrigued by the idea of using natural methods to boost my hair health, so I decided to give them a try. Here is my story of how biotin and red light therapy changed my hair for the better.

What Is Biotin and How Does It Work for Hair Growth?

Biotin is a vitamin that belongs to the B-complex family. It is also known as vitamin B7 or vitamin H. Biotin is essential for many metabolic processes in the body, such as the synthesis of fatty acids, glucose, and amino acids. Biotin is also important for maintaining healthy skin, nails, and hair.

Biotin works for hair growth by supporting the production of keratin, the main protein that makes up your hair. Keratin is composed of amino acids that are derived from the food you eat. Biotin acts as a coenzyme that helps convert these amino acids into keratin. Without enough biotin, your body may not be able to produce enough keratin to sustain healthy hair growth.

Biotin also helps improve blood circulation to your scalp, which delivers oxygen and nutrients to your hair follicles. This stimulates hair growth and prevents hair loss. Additionally, biotin helps reduce inflammation and oxidative stress that can damage your hair follicles and cause hair thinning or balding.

How Did I Use Biotin for Hair Growth?

I started taking biotin supplements for hair growth about six months ago. I bought a bottle of 10 mg biotin capsules from a local health store and followed the instructions on the label. I took one capsule every day with a glass of water after breakfast.

I also made sure to eat a balanced diet that included foods rich in biotin, such as eggs, nuts, seeds, dairy products, and certain vegetables. I avoided foods that could interfere with biotin absorption, such as raw egg whites, alcohol, or coffee.

What Were the Results of Taking Biotin for Hair Growth?

After taking biotin supplements for hair growth for six months, I noticed a significant improvement in my hair thickness and length. My hair felt softer and smoother, and it had more volume and bounce. My hair also grew faster than before, and I had to trim it more often to keep it in shape.

I also noticed a reduction in my hair shedding and breakage. Before taking biotin supplements, I used to find a lot of hair on my pillow, brush, or shower drain every day. After taking biotin supplements, I barely saw any hair fall out or snap off.

What Is Red Light Therapy and How Does It Work for Hair Growth?

Red light therapy is a non-invasive treatment that uses low-level red or near-infrared light to stimulate cellular activity and blood circulation in your scalp. This helps increase the production of ATP, the energy molecule that fuels your hair follicles and promotes hair growth.

Red light therapy also helps reduce inflammation and oxidative stress that can impair your hair follicles and cause hair loss. Moreover, red light therapy helps increase the expression of growth factors and stem cells that can regenerate your hair follicles and reverse hair thinning or balding.

Red light therapy for hair growth is backed by scientific research that shows its safety and efficacy. For instance, a 2014 study found that red light therapy increased hair density by 37% in men and women after 16 weeks of treatment.

How Did I Use Red Light Therapy for Hair Growth?

I started using red light therapy for hair growth about four months ago. I bought a handheld LED light therapy device online that emitted 660 nm red light to treat various skin conditions, including cold sores, canker sores, and genital sores. However, it could also be used for hair growth by stimulating blood flow and collagen production in your scalp.

The device had 40 high-power LEDs that covered about 4 square inches of your scalp. It was FDA-cleared, clinically proven, and backed by a six-month money-back guarantee.

I used the device every other day for 20 minutes. I divided my scalp into four sections and applied the device to each section for five minutes. I made sure to wear protective goggles to avoid eye damage from the light.

What Were the Results of Using Red Light Therapy for Hair Growth?

After using red light therapy for hair growth for four months, I noticed a remarkable increase in my hair density and coverage. My hair looked fuller and thicker, and it covered more of my scalp. My hair also grew faster and longer, and I had to cut it more frequently to maintain it.

I also noticed an improvement in my hair quality and color. My hair felt softer and smoother, and it had more shine and vibrancy. My hair also had less frizz and split ends, and it was easier to style and manage.

Conclusion

Biotin and red light therapy are two natural methods that can help improve your hair growth by supporting the production of keratin, the main protein that makes up your hair. Taking biotin supplements and using red light therapy devices can offer several benefits, such as increasing hair thickness and density, reducing hair shedding and breakage, enhancing hair shine and texture, promoting faster hair growth, improving scalp health and preventing dandruff, and boosting overall health and well-being.

However, these methods may not work for everyone or every type of hair loss. You should always consult your doctor before taking biotin supplements or using best handheld LED light therapy device, especially if you have any medical conditions or are taking any medications that may affect your skin or hair. You should also follow the instructions and precautions that come with each product to avoid any adverse reactions or injuries.

I hope this article has given you some useful information and insights on my hair growth journey with biotin and red light therapy. If you have tried these methods or are interested in trying them, I would love to hear from you. Please share your experience and results with me in the comments section below. Thank you for reading!

lifestylehow tohealthagingadvice
Like

About the Creator

Health First

Let's get healthy! And things will change someday.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.