Longevity logo

My Genetic Eyes

Why I See the World Differently

By Ashley RamosPublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Like
Image by: Darling-with-no-probs on Tumblr

ADIE or ADIE syndrome is a rare genetic disorder in which one pupil is dilated and one is not; in some cases one dilated pupil might spread to both of the pupils. ADIE syndrome is known by many other things, such as Holmes-Adie syndrome, its acronym HAS; Adie's Pupil; and Tonic Eye. I have ADIE myself, and although there is no serious disability for me, little to no reaction to light poses a big problem in my world and at times will affect my ability to be able to see properly. Symptoms include blurry vision, the absence of deep tendon reflexes, and excessive sweating. I don't experience all three; luckily blurry vision is one I get most often. I don't sweat excessively and my reflexes are somewhat slow but still happen in general. Some individuals will also have cardiovascular abnormalities. The symptoms of ADIE syndrome can appear on their own, or in association with other diseases of the nervous system. I myself do have trouble breathing at times but I also have anxiety, so in my case it is not determined which one is causing my breathing issues.

Doctors think ADIE is caused by a viral or bacterial infection that causes inflammation and damage to neurons in the ciliary ganglion, an area of the brain that controls eye movements such as blinking, and the spinal ganglion, an area of the brain involved in the response of the autonomic nervous system. But, in rare cases, ADIE syndrome may be inherited from the birth parents. Whatever the case, a doctor may prescribe reading, driving, night-time or every day glasses; or a person might also be prescribed pilocarpine drops to be applied 3 times daily to constrict the dilated pupil. My first year with ADIE I was not prescribed any of these nor did I want to be, but after a full year I returned for the recommended yearly check up and was prescribed glasses to wear on a daily. Another treatment that could be prescribed is a type of therapy known as Thoracic sympathectomy, which is the definitive treatment for excessive sweating. I personally do not sweat excessively so I was never told about this therapy. I did, however, learn about it while reading a pamphlet about ADIE that was given to my mother at the check up.

ADIE is a rare genetic disorder and not many scientist have studied it. Therefore, there is not much information on its causes, long term effects, treatment, or if it continues to grow. I've been told in some cases ADIE affects one eye and then may spread to the other eye. I've also been told ADIE doesn't usually causes serious disabilities but in rare cases it might. I believe because I am young my doctors do not tell me what it can progress to in order to not scare me. I know for me it has gotten worse with time but it's only progressed from blurry vision to needing glasses in the span of about 3 years.

Disclaimer: I am not a certified doctor nor any trained professional in the medical field. Any questions should be asked to and answered by a trained professional.

body
Like

About the Creator

Ashley Ramos

Hi :) I hope you’re having a good day, thank you for checking out my page I hope you stay while ! Young writer, I post new Vocals when the inspiration comes so keep an eye out!❤️

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.