Poets logo

Go Ahead, Ask!

For Babs' Unofficial Challenge

By Dana CrandellPublished 13 days ago 1 min read
Top Story - April 2024
45
Go Ahead, Ask!
Photo by Bravingbird on Unsplash

This little ditty is for my friend and fellow creator, Babs Iverson's Unofficial Challenge. Here's a link:

And here's the poem:

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Ask me in December

When it's thirty-five below

And the gentle breeze

Mows down the trees,

Building mountains with the snow.

~

Ask me as I drive for hours

On one-lane, gravel roads

And snaking trails

With no guard rails

Past truckers hauling loads.

~

Ask me why I'm smiling

Through all of the above,

Then sit a spell

And let me tell

You of the things I love.

~

I'll tell of spring adventures,

Of summers on the streams,

Of brilliant fall,

The bull elk's call

And other “stuff of dreams.”

~

I'll regale you with my stories

'Til day gives way to night,

Of blissful days

And foolish ways

And setting my soul right.

~

Then, I'll tell you of a woman

Who shares it all with me.

With love and grace,

And smiling face,

She stands fast, faithfully.

~

That's why I'll be in Wyoming,

Should you ever need to know.

My heart lives there,

No matter where

Life calls on me to go.

***

Didja' like it? Show some love with a like and a comment! Thanks!

Gratitudelove poemsFor FunCinquain
45

About the Creator

Dana Crandell

Dad, Stedpad, Grandpa, Husband, lover of Nature and dogs.

Poet, Writer, Editor, Photographer, Artist and Tech/Internet nerd. Content writer by trade. Vocal Creator by choice.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

Add your insights

Comments (37)

Sign in to comment
  • Ahsan Ahmada day ago

    Such remarkable poetry with excellent verse! I'll definitely return to this one.

  • Flamance @ lit8 days ago

    Awesome story I like it congratulations 🎉🎉

  • John-Ryan Smith9 days ago

    Very impressive poetry with great verse. I will come back to this one for sure.

  • Wow I am impressed! And congrats on top story too!

  • D.K. Shepard10 days ago

    Absolutely wonderful! The rhyme gave this such a great flow! Love the imagery and the emotion in the last two stanzas!

  • Shirley Belk11 days ago

    I loved it! It is YOU!

  • Anna 11 days ago

    I did not like it... I LOVED it!! Well deserved Top Story, you killed it!!!🥳

  • Katarzyna Popiel11 days ago

    A lovely poem, I could see it all while reading!

  • Mariann Carroll11 days ago

    Enjoy this poem 🙂

  • Carol Townend12 days ago

    This is a fantastic poem!

  • Back to say congratulations on your Top Story! 🎉💖🎊🎉💖🎊

  • Heather Hubler12 days ago

    This put such a big smile on my face...I loved this so much!!

  • The Dani Writer12 days ago

    Oooh a cold one--my eyes froze at thirty-five below! Good thing you've got warm words and memories. Wonderfully done, Dana!

  • Donna Fox (HKB)12 days ago

    I love this!! It was relatable and so heavy with sentimental value!! It had me pondering the drives home I take on the way back to my hometown for holidays, birthdays and random visits in general!! Left me almost homesick to be honest, great work Dana!! Also congrats on Top Story!!! 🎉

  • Ward Norcutt12 days ago

    a sentimental and welcome journey, Dana. Thank you.

  • Andrea Corwin 12 days ago

    Congrats on TS!!❤️

  • I’m impressed by your ability to pack so much emotion into a little poem, all while maintaining a flow and rhyme scheme. As someone from a cold climate I loved this!

  • Novel Allen12 days ago

    This is my favorite so far. Bless the woman for putting up with you and that silver tongue of yours. Really lovely poem. Dang it!!!!!

  • Gerald Holmes12 days ago

    This is great Dana, Loved it. Congrats on the Top Story

  • Lamar Wiggins12 days ago

    I loved the story this told. Perfect entry, Dana! And congrats!

  • Gina C.12 days ago

    This is so beautifuly done! I really love how it turned from embracing these adventures alone to sharing them with a loved one! Very lyrical -- amazing work, Dana!

  • Margaret Brennan12 days ago

    WOW. THIS IS AWESOME .... Congratulations on TS. LOVE it

  • Congratulations Dana

  • Cathy holmes12 days ago

    Congrats on the TS!

  • Christy Munson12 days ago

    Your poem evokes paintings in my mind and makes me want to travel to Wyoming to see a breeze taking down trees, and mountains, and ahhhh. Sounds blissful. Congratulations on a Top Story!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.