Longevity logo

My Burning Scalp and Hair Loss Nightmare: How I Found Relief with Red Light Therapy

Hailey Jones

By Vitality VibePublished 9 months ago 6 min read
Like

I never thought I would have to deal with hair loss. I always had thick, shiny, and healthy hair that I was proud of. I loved styling my hair and experimenting with different colors and cuts. My hair was a big part of my identity and self-expression.

But everything changed when I started feeling a burning sensation on my scalp. It was like someone had set my head on fire. It was so painful and uncomfortable that I couldn’t sleep, work, or enjoy life. I scratched my scalp until it bled, hoping to find some relief. But instead, I found clumps of hair falling out of my head.

I was terrified. I didn’t know what was causing this condition or how to treat it. I went to see several doctors and dermatologists, but none of them could give me a clear diagnosis or a effective solution. They prescribed me various medications and shampoos, but none of them worked. They only made my scalp drier, itchier, and more inflamed.

I felt hopeless and depressed. I lost more than half of my hair in a matter of months. I tried to hide my bald spots with hats, scarves, and wigs, but I felt ashamed and insecure. I avoided going out in public and socializing with my friends and family. I isolated myself from the world and lost my joy and confidence.

I was desperate for a cure. I searched online for any possible remedies or treatments for burning scalp hair loss. I came across many articles and forums that talked about different causes and solutions for this condition. Some of the possible causes were:

  • Dandruff
  • Seborrheic dermatitis
  • Psoriasis
  • Folliculitis
  • Tinea capitis
  • Head lice
  • Hormonal imbalance
  • Poor nutrition
  • Poor hygiene
  • Medication side effects
  • Stress or anxiety

I realized that burning scalp hair loss could have various causes, ranging from skin irritants and dermatological conditions to hormonal imbalances and stress. It could affect anyone, regardless of age, gender, or ethnicity. It could cause physical and emotional distress, as well as affect one’s self-esteem and confidence.

I also learned that there were many treatments available for burning scalp hair loss, depending on the underlying cause of the condition. Some of the possible treatments were:

  • Anti-dandruff shampoos
  • Antifungal creams or pills
  • Antibiotics or antivirals
  • Steroid creams or injections
  • Coal tar or salicylic acid products
  • Immunomodulators or biologics
  • Hormone therapy or supplements
  • Nutritional supplements or dietary changes
  • Gentle cleansing and moisturizing products
  • Natural remedies such as aloe vera, tea tree oil, or apple cider vinegar

However, none of these treatments seemed to work for me. They either had no effect or caused more harm than good. They also had potential side effects such as skin irritation, allergic reactions, liver damage, or hormonal imbalance.

I was about to give up hope when I stumbled upon an article that mentioned red light therapy as an effective treatment for hair growth, and red light therapy pros and cons. I was intrigued by this idea and decided to do some more research on it.

What is Red Light Therapy?

Red light therapy is a form of phototherapy that uses low-level red or near-infrared light to stimulate cellular activity and healing in the body. It can be used for various purposes such as skin rejuvenation, wound healing, pain relief, muscle recovery, and hair growth.

Red light therapy works by penetrating the skin and reaching the mitochondria, which are the powerhouses of the cells. It boosts the production of adenosine triphosphate (ATP), which is the energy currency of the cells. It also increases blood flow, oxygen delivery, and nutrient supply to the scalp and hair follicles. It reduces inflammation, oxidative stress, and cell death in the scalp and hair follicles.

Red light therapy can help stimulate hair growth by:

  • Extending the anagen (growth) phase of the hair cycle
  • Increasing the number and size of hair follicles
  • Enhancing the quality and thickness of hair shafts
  • Preventing or reversing the miniaturization of hair follicles caused by dihydrotestosterone (DHT)
  • Improving the health and appearance of the scalp

Red light therapy can also help soothe burning scalp by:

  • Reducing pain and discomfort caused by inflammation or infection
  • Healing wounds or lesions on the scalp caused by scratching or irritation
  • Restoring the balance of oil and moisture on the scalp
  • Fighting off bacteria, fungi, or viruses that may cause scalp problems

How to Use Red Light Therapy for Hair Growth?

Red light therapy can be administered in various ways such as:

  • Professional devices: These are devices that are used by doctors, dermatologists, or therapists in clinics or salons. They usually have high power output and large coverage area. They can deliver red light therapy in a short amount of time and with optimal results. However, they can also be expensive and inconvenient to access.
  • Home devices: These are devices that are designed for personal use at home. They usually have lower power output and smaller coverage area. They can deliver red light therapy in a longer amount of time and with variable results. However, they can also be affordable and convenient to use.
  • Caps or helmets: These are devices that are shaped like caps or helmets that fit over the head. They have built-in LED lights that emit red or near-infrared light to the scalp and hair. They can deliver red light therapy in a comfortable and hands-free way. They can also be portable and easy to use.

I decided to try a red light therapy cap for my hair growth. I chose one that had good reviews and ratings online. It claimed to have the following features:

  • FDA-cleared and clinically proven
  • 650 nm wavelength and 5 mW power output per diode
  • 272 medical-grade LED diodes
  • Full scalp coverage
  • Cordless and rechargeable battery
  • Adjustable and flexible fit
  • 30-minute treatment time
  • Automatic shut-off timer
  • One-year warranty and 60-day money-back guarantee

I ordered the cap online and received it in a few days. I was excited to try it out and see if it would work for me.

I followed the instructions that came with the cap. I washed my hair and dried it thoroughly. I put on the cap and turned it on. I felt a slight warmth on my scalp, but no pain or discomfort. I relaxed on my couch and watched some TV while the cap did its magic.

I used the cap every other day for 30 minutes each time. I did this for three months, as recommended by the manufacturer.

What Were the Results?

After three months of using the red light therapy cap, I was amazed by the results. My scalp felt much better. The burning sensation was gone. The itching, inflammation, and redness were reduced. The wounds and sores were healed. My scalp looked healthier and cleaner.

My hair also improved significantly. I noticed less hair falling out in the shower or on my pillow. I saw new hair growing in the areas where I had bald spots. My hair felt thicker, stronger, and softer. My hair looked shinier, smoother, and more vibrant.

I was overjoyed by the transformation of my scalp and hair. I felt more confident and happy with myself. I started going out more and socializing with my friends and family again. I received many compliments on my hair and how good I looked.

I was grateful for finding best red light therapy devices as a solution for my burning scalp hair loss problem. It was a safe, effective, convenient, and affordable treatment that changed my life for the better.

If you are suffering from burning scalp hair loss or any other scalp or hair issue, I highly recommend you to try red light therapy. It may be the answer you are looking for.

Have you tried red light therapy for your hair growth? What were your experiences? Share your thoughts in the comments below!

product reviewhow tohealthfitnessdietadvice
Like

About the Creator

Vitality Vibe

I hope you will join me on this adventure of becoming health warriors. Let’s make health our priority and happiness our goal!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.