Longevity logo

Lipstick Lament

Highlight of my Day

By StaringalePublished 3 days ago 4 min read
Lipstick Lament
Photo by Amanda Dalbjörn on Unsplash

It's an another day, the Sun is hanging up in the sky and you can feel the wind getting warmer indicating that the summer is near.

Today I and Milli had made plans to take a detour on the way back home from the campus. Actually it was her plan but I was dragged along.

She seemed excited like a puppy wagging his tail - the dog-ear hairband that she was wearing did not help the image. The hair-band was adorable with the fluffy brown ears. She could barely sit still and every 5 minutes her eyes would wonder to the clock on the wall.

As soon as the bell rang she zoomed out if the class leaving me wondering since when did she get super sonic speed.

Stepping out and seeing no sign of her I breathed a sigh of relief, maybe she forgot that I was included in that plan. So I walked joyfully towards the campus gates - And she was standing there with a cab.

Knowing I was not forgotten I was dragged off to the cab. Stopping infront of the mall I was still wondering why she was so excited?

I hope this is not how she gets everytime she goes shopping. I must commend her navigation skills though - the way she navigated through the mall was like a dog after a bone.

Standing outside a store at the far end corner of floor 23 where there was already a huge line forming - I wondered what the special occasion was.

Looking for banners to get a hint or answer. I got it - there was a brand new shade of lipstick that was launching today with total supply of 1000 pieces only.

Never been a fan of cosmetics I was thinking what was so great about this lipstick. As soon as the doors opened it was like a flood - the way the people just entered the shop. It was in this flood that I lost my friend.

Entering after the stampede has cleared out I went to look for my friend and there she was standing by the counter looking has if she had fallen in love at first sight. I could literally see the hearts in her eyes with fireworks in the background.

Let me put this - a start of beautiful love story as a poem:

On a sunny noon.

Love was found.

Two hearts entwined.

Bound by fate.

Ready to face the world.

To strengthen the bond.

To write their own story.

For the ages, destined to be told.

A bond so deep, so pure, so bold.

I think I would be standing over here for a long time if I don't pull her from her fantasies now. Taking her by her arm I guided her towards the cashier.

Finally we were out of the store and here we were sitting in the food area for linner. As we were waiting for the food to come I watched as she took the box out of the bag pulling it open she grabbed the lipstick, pulling off the cover she applied it flawlessly without a mirror.

In my opinion it is a rip-off. The packing was over the top - how many wrappings did you have to go through to reach 1 stick of lipstick? The container was also not that fancy - just a simple sleek black container with a single crystal embedded on the cover. The shade was from darker side of pink family. I didn't share my opinion with her I didn't want to hurt her feelings.

After the meal I went to pay the bill and when I returned I saw Milli on the verge of crying. Following her gaze I saw the reason. The so expensive lipstick was lying on the floor in three  pieces.

The popping pink color left the mark on the floor. About to tell her that it was no big deal but didn't get the chance as she let out a dramatic gasp, falling to her kness - I guess she was lamenting the loss of her beloved lipstick.

This is getting embarrassing, even the passersby were chuckling at the sight of a grown woman having a meltdown over a lipstick but Milli was distraught to care about others.

I don't think she would forget this tragedy anytime soon. Sighing in exasperation I pulled her up telling her may she will get another if she hurries back to the store.

She took my words literally as I was soon left behind catching her dust. No luck there they were all sold out. So we were back at my home where I was now comforting the crying Milli.

My younger sister came in giving me questioning looks of what is going on. Shaking my head I mouthed later and got a nod in return.

She didn't leave though and approached us. She told me me that she got a return gift from her friend that she didn't want and I can take it if I want. Asking her what it was I watched her pull a box.

It was a suprise coincidence it was the same rip-off lipstick. Telling her the about the tragedy I showed Milli the lipstick telling her she can keep it.

She stopped crying holding and kissing the lipstick she gave my sister a bear-hug. I could see the awkward expression on my sister's face.

Thanking us both she left waving us goodbye.

In the noon sun, a tragedy occurred.

A brand new lipstick was dropped & jarred.

The vibrant hue, so bright & bold.

Now stains the floor.

The owner gasped and let out a wail.

Her lipstick dream now doomed to fail.

Everthing seemed lost, since the last lipstick was sold.

So let this be a lesson to all who read.

Take care of your lipstick, in word & deed.

For in the bonk of an eye, a tragedy can strike.

And your brand new lipstick may take a hike.

And you may not be lucky to get another one.

organiclifestylehumorfeatureadvice

About the Creator

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran2 days ago

    Lol to me, everything is a rip off nowadays. How did Milli even drop the lipstick? Also, what food did you guys have? Hehehe. So glad your sister had the same lipstick and didn't want it

SWritten by Staringale

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.