Longevity logo

Neighborhood Bonds - Marco's Act

Highlight of my Day

By StaringalePublished 6 days ago 2 min read
Neighborhood Bonds - Marco's Act
Photo by Shona Corsten on Unsplash

A bright early morning, I sit by the fountain taking comfort in the tune of nature. This harmony is broken by a loud rumbling of a car. Looking around for the disturbance, I saw Ms. Sophie, who had just parked the car. Judging by the bags she was taking out I think she just went for early morning grocery shopping.

Ms. Sophie is a widow, her husband died in army. They were lovely together but because of the job they had long distance relationship. From what I have seen for them even the distance didn't cause any crack in their relationship, they were truly blessed with such loyal caring partners. Her husband visited for about two weeks twice a year before he was called back to duty and I think they were lucky in this department because many soldiers are unable to go home even once a year for one day.

Last year was when the disaster happened. She was informed of her husband's death at the border. I didn't see her for two whole days until the neighborhood stepped in to help her through this period of grief. I remember clearly that this was the first time I was happy babysitting her two young children - at that time they were 3 and 4 years old.

I feel blessed to have such a good neighborhood because if the neighbours didn't care then the third child she was carrying at that moment would have been lost to grief. Our hearts went out for her a young lady of 28 years old with 3 kids is going to face the world.

Time flew by and she is very very slowly recovering from the ordeal. Now when I see her I notice the expression on her face it's usually blank but today unconsciously she had let that mask slip and I was able to see exhaustion, frustration as if she just gave up.

I was about to move to help her get the kids out of the car when I saw young Marco from across the street in his school uniform ran towards her and grabbed one of the grocery bags and guided the two youngsters. He is really mature for his age. He himself is a 12 year old boy who loves painting. His mother instilled good manners in him - Kudos! To the mother.

It was really funny watching how the little 12 year old argued with Ms. Sophie that she should not go alone and he was going to follow her inside to make sure she arrived safely. I guess because it early in the morning and no hustle bustle in the streets their voices were heard clearly by me.

Waving at them both, I watched how Sophie's face came to life, the dull, faded-out color now replaced with a healthy blush to it and there was a spark of amusement in her eyes. It was like Marco had breathed life into the lady. I guess she was touched by Marco's generosity and genuine concern for her well-being.

Minutes went by and finally I saw Marco leaving the house waving her by and rushing off to catch his school bus that has just arrived. I saw Ms.Sophie and her two kids waving enthusiastically at the boy in the bus.

As a witness to this moment I would say the saying is true,

'A small act of kindness goes a long way."

organicmental healthhumanitygriefadvice

About the Creator

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran6 days ago

    Awww, Marco is such a sweet boy. I feel so sorry for Sophie and ger kids though. May her husband rest in peace 🙏🏼❤️

  • Shirley Belk6 days ago

    You captured kindness and humanity and expressed it so very well in your story! Bravo

  • How generous Marco was! You seems to be a kind neighbor towards your neighbors. Well done Stari!!!

SWritten by Staringale

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.