Longevity logo

Life with Lyme

My story

By Dorcas Ifeoluwa AdegbitePublished about a year ago 3 min read
1
Life with Lyme
Photo by Maud Lapraye on Unsplash

I wasn't sure whether to share this story. I wasn't sure anyone would read this story. If you get to read this story, it means a lot to me.

I'll share my experience with Lyme.

I was 27 years old when I was diagnosed with Lyme disease. I had been hiking in the woods with some friends, and I had noticed a small red bump on my leg, but I didn't think much of it. A few days later, I started to feel sick. I had a fever, headache, and muscle aches. I went to the doctor, and they ran some tests. A few days later, I got the call that I had Lyme disease.

I was shocked. I had never heard of Lyme disease before. I didn't know what it was or how I had gotten it. The doctor told me that it was a bacterial infection that was transmitted by ticks. He said that I would need to take antibiotics for two weeks.

I started the antibiotics, but I didn't feel any better.

Then, I got worse.

I had more fatigue, brain fog, and joint pain. I went back to the doctor, and he said that the antibiotics weren't working. He said that I might have a chronic form of Lyme disease.

I was devastated. I didn't know what I was going to do. I was in so much pain, and I was exhausted all the time. I couldn't work, and I couldn't go out with my friends. I was starting to feel like my life was over.

I started to do some research on Lyme disease. I learned that it was a very serious illness and that it could have long-term effects if it wasn't treated properly. I also learned that there was a lot of controversy surrounding Lyme disease. Some doctors believed that it was a very common illness, while others believed that it was rare. There was also a lot of debate about how to treat Lyme disease. Some doctors believed that antibiotics were the only effective treatment, while others believed that other, more natural treatments could be effective.

I decided to try a combination of treatments. I continued to take antibiotics, but I also started to see a naturopathic doctor. The naturopathic doctor gave me herbs and supplements that he believed would help to fight the infection. I also started to make some lifestyle changes. I started to eat a healthier diet, and I started to exercise more.

After a few months, I started to feel better. My fatigue and brain fog started to improve, and my joint pain started to go away. I was able to go back to work, and I was able to start spending time with my friends again.

I'm still not 100% better, but I'm so much better than I was before. I'm grateful that I found a treatment that worked for me. I'm also grateful for the support of my family and friends. They helped me through the tough times, and they never gave up on me.

I want to share my story to raise awareness about Lyme disease. It's a very serious illness, but it's treatable. If you think you might have Lyme disease, please see a doctor right away. The sooner you're diagnosed and treated, the better your chances of a full recovery.

Here are some additional information about Lyme disease:

1. Lyme disease is a bacterial infection that is transmitted by ticks.

The most common symptom of Lyme disease is a red, expanding rash that appears around the bite site.

Other symptoms of Lyme disease can include fever, headache, muscle aches, fatigue, and joint pain.

2. Lyme disease can be treated with antibiotics.

3. If Lyme disease is not treated, it can cause serious health problems, such as arthritis, heart problems, and neurological problems.

If you think you might have Lyme disease, please see a doctor right away. The sooner you're diagnosed and treated, the better your chances of a full recovery.

I hope my story helps to raise awareness about Lyme disease. It's a very serious illness, but it's treatable. If you think you might have Lyme disease, please see a doctor right away. The sooner you're diagnosed and treated, the better your chances of a full recovery.

Here are some tips to help prevent Lyme disease:

* Avoid areas where ticks are common.

* Wear long pants and long-sleeved shirts when you're outdoors.

* Tuck your pants into your socks.

* Use insect repellent that contains DEET.

* Check yourself for ticks after you've been outdoors.

If you find a tick on your body, remove it as soon as possible. Use tweezers to grasp the tick as close to the skin as possible. Pull the tick straight out without twisting or crushing it. Dispose of the tick in a container of rubbing alcohol.

I hope this helps!

wellnesshow tohealthfitness
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.