Longevity logo

Learned to Love My Gray Hair

By Kathleen Young

By CareSpotPublished 12 months ago 4 min read
1

I used to hate my gray hair. I saw it as a sign of aging, a loss of beauty, a reminder of mortality. I started noticing a few silver strands around my temples when I was in my late 20s, and by the time I was in my 40s, I had a noticeable gray patch around my hairline.

I tried everything to hide it. I dyed it every four weeks, spending hours and money at the salon or at home. I experimented with different colors, from blonde to brown to black. I even tried some funky shades like purple and pink, hoping to look more youthful and fun.

But nothing worked. The gray always came back, faster and stronger than before. I felt like I was fighting a losing battle, and I hated myself for it. I hated how insecure and vain I was, how much I cared about what others thought of me, how much I let my hair define me.

Then, one day, everything changed. I was browsing online, looking for some inspiration for my next hair color, when I stumbled upon an article about graying hair with highlights. It was a guide on how to add some flair and dimension to your gray hair with different types of highlights, such as balayage, foil, babylights or chunky highlights.

The article showed some gorgeous examples of women who rocked their gray hair with highlights, and they looked amazing. They looked confident, stylish, and happy. They looked like they embraced their natural beauty and celebrated their uniqueness.

I was intrigued. I decided to give it a try. I booked an appointment with a colorist who specialized in graying hair with highlights. She assessed my hair condition and suggested a balayage technique with a mix of blonde and silver tones. She said it would blend well with my gray hair and create a soft and natural look.

She was right. When she finished applying the highlights and blow-dried my hair, I couldn’t believe my eyes. My hair looked stunning. It looked more vibrant and youthful than ever before. It looked like it had texture and movement. It looked like it enhanced my features and skin tone.

But more importantly, it looked like me. It looked like the real me, the me that had lived and learned and grown over the years. The me that had wisdom, confidence and style. The me that didn’t need to hide or conform or pretend.

I loved it. And I loved myself.

That was the day I learned to love my gray hair. And that was the day I discovered a secret that changed my life: red light therapy.

Red light therapy is a treatment that uses low-level wavelengths of red light to stimulate cellular activity in the skin and hair follicles. It has been proven by multiple studies to increase blood circulation, collagen production, antioxidant activity, and melanin synthesis in the scalp.

Melanin is the pigment that gives color to our hair. As we age, our melanin production decreases, leading to gray hair. By increasing melanin synthesis, red light therapy can help restore your natural hair color and prevent further graying.

Red light therapy can also help improve scalp health by reducing inflammation, infection, and dandruff. It can also promote hair growth by stimulating the dormant hair follicles and extending the anagen (growth) phase of the hair cycle.

One of the easiest and most convenient ways to use red light therapy for your hair is to use a red light therapy head cap. This is a device that fits over your head and emits red light to your scalp. It is FDA approved, safe, and painless. You can use it at home for 10 to 20 minutes a day, a few times a week, to see results in a few months.

I started using a red light therapy head cap after reading about it online, and I was amazed by the results. My gray hair started to fade away gradually, revealing my natural color underneath. My scalp felt healthier and cleaner than ever before. My hair felt softer and stronger than ever before.

I still love my graying hair with highlights, but now I have more options and control over my hair color. I can choose to keep some gray for contrast and dimension, or I can go back to my original color if I want to. I can also experiment with different shades of highlights without worrying about damaging my hair or scalp.

Red light therapy has given me more confidence and freedom than ever before.

If you’re struggling with your gray hair or scalp health, I highly recommend you try graying hair with highlights and red light therapy head cap. They might just change your life too.

What do you think of my story? Have you tried graying hair with highlights or red light therapy? Let me know in the comments below!

lifestylebodybeautyaging
1

About the Creator

CareSpot

Brace yourself for an adrenaline-pumping health blog that will leave you breathless! Crush your weight loss goals, turbocharge your hair growth, zap away pain, and ignite a fire of vitality.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.