Longevity logo

How to Use Castor Oil for Hair Growth: Benefits, Tips, and Alternatives

Gracie Smith

By Healthy FunPublished 9 months ago 3 min read
Like

I have always struggled with thinning hair and low self-esteem. Ever since I was a teenager, I noticed that my hair was falling out more than usual and that my scalp was becoming more visible. I tried everything to hide it, from wearing hats and scarves to using volumizing products and hair extensions. But nothing really worked, and I felt like I was losing a part of myself.

I was desperate to find a solution, so I started researching online for natural remedies for hair growth. I came across two methods that caught my attention: castor oil and red light therapy. Both of them claimed to stimulate hair follicles and improve hair health and appearance. I decided to give them a try and see if they could make a difference.

Castor oil is a natural oil that is extracted from the seeds of the castor plant. It has anti-inflammatory, antibacterial, and antifungal properties that can help with scalp health and hair growth. It also moisturizes dry and brittle hair, adds shine and softness, and enhances hair thickness and density.

Red light therapy is a treatment that uses low-level red or near-infrared light to activate cellular activity and healing in the body. It can increase blood flow, oxygen, and nutrients to the hair follicles, which can promote their growth and survival. It can also reduce inflammation and oxidative stress in the scalp, which can damage the hair follicles and cause hair loss.

I decided to combine these two methods and use them regularly for a few months. Here is how I did it:

I bought a high-quality, cold-pressed, hexane-free castor oil from Sky Organics. I also bought a carrier oil, such as coconut oil or jojoba oil, to dilute the castor oil. Castor oil is very thick and sticky, so diluting it makes it easier to apply and wash off.

I mixed one part castor oil with two parts carrier oil in a small bowl. I warmed up the oil mixture slightly in the microwave for a few seconds.

I massaged the oil mixture into my scalp and hair for about 10 minutes. I used my fingertips to gently massage the oil into my scalp, which helped increase blood circulation and stimulate hair growth. Then, I spread the oil evenly throughout my hair, focusing on the ends to prevent split ends and breakage.

I covered my hair with a shower cap or a towel and left it on for at least an hour or overnight. This allowed the oil to penetrate deeply into my hair shafts and scalp and nourish them.

I washed my hair with a mild shampoo and conditioner. I had to shampoo twice to remove all the oil residue from my hair. I rinsed well and dried my hair as usual.

I repeated this process once or twice a week for best results.

I also bought a red light cap for hair growth from iRestore. It is a helmet-like device that emits red light at a wavelength of 650 nm and an intensity of 5 mW/cm2. It is FDA-cleared, clinically proven, and safe to use at home.

I wore the device on my head for 25 minutes per session, every other day. The device has an automatic timer that shuts off after 25 minutes. It also has a remote control that allows me to pause or resume the session.

I used the device on clean and dry hair, without any products or oils on it. The device has soft cushions that fit comfortably on my head. The device also has built-in headphones that let me listen to music or podcasts while using it.

I used the device consistently for at least four months for optimal results.

After using these two methods for about six months, I noticed a significant improvement in my hair quality and quantity. My hair became thicker, fuller, stronger, and shinier. My scalp became less visible and more healthy. My hair loss reduced drastically and new hairs started growing in areas where they were previously thinning.

I was amazed by the results and so were my friends and family. They complimented me on how good my hair looked and asked me what I did to achieve it. I told them about castor oil and best red light therapy device and how they changed my life.

I am so happy with my hair growth journey and I want to share it with you. If you are suffering from thinning hair or hair loss, you may want to give these methods a try. They are natural, safe, effective, and affordable. They may not work for everyone, but they worked for me.

Have you tried castor oil or red light therapy for hair growth? What was your experience? Let me know in the comments below!

how tohealthfitnessdietbeauty
Like

About the Creator

Healthy Fun

After years of exploration, I believe that health is the secret to happiness.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.