Longevity logo

Dora of the Dawn - A Nature Expedition

Highlights from my Day

By StaringalePublished 11 days ago 3 min read
Dora of the Dawn - A Nature Expedition
Photo by todd kent on Unsplash

Waking up early to observe a natural phenomenon - a fact of nature, is a wonder. So I set my alarm for 4:00 am and went to sleep wondering how it would go.

'Trin' 'Trin' 'Trin' 'Trin' the alarm went off, waking me from the beautiful land of dreams.

With a flicker, I opened my eyes, stretching and pushing back the comforter. I put my feet in the cozy slippers and walked to the closet to get ready for the day.

Putting on a plain dress, I grabbed a shawl and a straw hat. Throwing the shawl around my shoulders, I put on the hat. With a twirl, I went to the opposite side and grabbed the camera.

I was set to go on this nature expedition. Looking at the mirror, I think I looked like 'Dora' from 'Dora the Explorer'.

Well, if we look at the nature expedition I planned - maybe I am Dora today.

'So let's get exploring' hopefully we won't encounter Swiper in this nature expedition but just in case if we see Swiper, we all know what to say,

'Swiper, no swiping!' 'Swiper, no swiping!' 'Swiper, no swiping!'

Remember it.

Walking through serene hallways in the morning is just so comforting to one's soul. Or are you one of those people who think walking through silent empty hallways is spooky?

Passing the living room where the grandfather clock was echoing, I reached the backyard door.

Opening the door to the backyard, I stepped outside. The sun had yet to rise - prancing like a little kid to the patch of sunflowers - I set up the camera without the light boards because I didn't want the artificial lighting affecting this nature miracle.

The color of the sky started from dark to light, light at one end and dark at the opposite with a blending of both in the middle.

Rays of pink appeared at one end that spread and faded away in the vastness of the sky. Various shades of orange appeared emerging with the pink.

Soon the sun started to rise, making the artful colorful blending of colors move further and further away as if the sun was chasing the colors.

With the first appearance of the sun, the sunflowers that were facing down now started to straighten up. They didn't turn yet.

The rising sun chased away the darkness, making it recede into the corners. The rays of the sun hit the earth, illuminating it in a golden glow.

As soon as the first ray of sun hit the patch of sunflowers, I watched them move in sync to face the sun. It's as if the sun is a commander and the sunflowers are his officers that are saluting him.

I watched closely how the change of position of the sun in the sky caused the sunflowers to adapt and move in sync to adjust to their new position.

The colors that were dull and faded under the dark sky now had striking and popping beauty. This pop of color brings a smile to your day.

Saving the video of this miracle, I went back into the house, shutting the door behind me.

As soon as I stepped in, a delicious scent wafted through my nose. Breakfast is being made.

Rushing to put everything back, placing the camera on my dresser, I hanged the straw hat and headed to the kitchen wondering what's cooking.

The forces of nature - my siblings just came stomping like elephants down the stairs. Oh! Why can't they do anything silently or peacefully?

Are your siblings the same? Have you ever observed a widely known nature phenomenon?

Have a good day! Stay Happy.

mental healthlifestylefeaturebeautyadvice

About the Creator

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

  • Sweileh 8889 days ago

    Thank you, follow my stories now.

  • Oooo, what was for breakfast? I was looking forward to watching that video, I thought you'll embed it here hehehe

  • Sweileh 88811 days ago

    Interesting and delicious content. Keep posting more now.

  • Happy to read this. Such an amazing sharing of experience with other poetry mates! Hope you looked on point with the shawl, Dora!

SWritten by Staringale

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.