Longevity logo

Dealing with Stress

What are your factors?

By Friday VibesPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
2

We've all had a moment of stress right? I can't be the only one. Here lately, stress has been at it's all time high. If something could go wrong, it did. I've lost my job due to Covid. I've struggeled to keep my car and a roof over my head. It's been rough over the past few months. I like to come here and share my story so that other people can see they are not alone.

So what are some stress factors? Some that I have had to deal with on a perosnal level would be fiances for the starter of it all. I feel like we can never get on top. We've tried to do the whole set a budget and make it happen thing. We've tried to save and seems like every time we did that, something else came along to take that ounce of savings away. I've tried using coupons and buying thing that we only needed and not thing we wanted. It's almost impossible to make ends meet.

Another one for me would be people that I considered to be family. They have shown me that I'm not as important to them as they are to me. I've fallen on my behind over the past few months and the ones that I figured would be there to help me, have let me down. They turned their backs on us time after time. I've come to find out that they are not as reliable as one would hope for them to be. It's been a hard pill to swallow, to be honest. Thankfully my mother-in-law has been great at helping out when she can and it's been needed more times than I would like to admit.

The third one would be having to be an adult. Currently, my husband is on a leave from work for medical reasons. He has a tumor on his knee that has affected his mobility. He can't move around as much or without help. We are in the process of getting approved for surgery and more. He's trying to work on getting disabilty as well. We all know that it's not an overnight process to get all of those things completed. He left work prematurely. With the hopes of seeing a surgeon and getting set for a date, instead, he was told that they cannot operate on him and sent him to another specialst. So between the traveling, doctors bills, visits, buying things to try to make him comfortable, and more, it's a huge stress factor for us at this time.

Now, let's see if we can find ways to cope with being on edge.

I've been on anti-anxiety meds before in the past. I'm not a fan of taking something that will simply make me numb for half a day and then boom, back to being on edge. Now I know they work for some people and I've seen a complete turn on some that take them, however, it's not something that I would consider doing again for myself.

Another one would be blogging/journaling. I do both actually. More journaling than anything. It's like a release for me. Days, where I feel like my world is crumbling, I can write out how I'm feeling to seem to make the moment better. I've also found that going for a walk helps, but in this weather, who would do such a thing? I don't know about where all of my readers are at, however, for me here, it's cold and rainy. We've had rain the entire day and it's been a drag!

Music is also a good way to just decompress and try to get your head on straight. I have a subscription to Apple Music and I tend to enjoy what they have under the "chill" selection of songs. They are normally instumentals that just take your mind off of everything going on.

Right now, I'm just working on making sure we stay on top. We can't allow Covid and everything else around us to break us down. Stay strong out there! I'm always here to talk if you can reach out to me.

mental health
2

About the Creator

Friday Vibes

I'm a somewhat single mother of 2 boys. 3, if you count my husband. Born and raised in Texas. I love anything with food, diy, love & relationships... I've been there and done that on so many topics :)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.