Longevity logo

Colonoscopy Warrior In The House

It Took Me Two Years To Finally Get The Procedure Done

By Mariann CarrollPublished 2 months ago Updated 2 months ago 5 min read
7
Mariann’s Colonoscopy 2 day preparation

Monday, I cook one of my favorite meals. I had three meals. A cup full at each meal so not to get carried away. I ate the same dish for all three meals.

Chicken,rice, carrots,peas and black beans meal

I ate a lot of protein in this meal. Rice, Chicken, Black Beans, Carrots and Peas.

( My neighbor knock on my door yesterday, and give her homemade gourmet Macaroni shell cheese 🫕 and Banana Chocolate Chip bread, cannot wait to eat them tomorrow, Thursday )

I bought everything I need to Armor Up. Always Panty, so not to have accidents when I get the runs from the colonoscopy solutions.

My protective Amor Products against the Colonoscopy Solution

I got the skin protection ointment so not to have butt hole burns from the diarrhea that comes from taking the colonoscopy ‘s solution. I bought special wipes for tender cleaning my private parts. I took my regular medications.

Mariann’s Daily Medication Armor

My blood pressure was a little high. No worries. I did I lot of meditations and listening to Enya’s calming, soothing, hypnotic voice.

I also did my physical therapy exercises to manage my left foot pain, I get when standing or walking to long. I also relieve my stress by talking out my worries to my mental health therapist.

Enyatv YouTube channel

I read my favorite Bible verses and songs as well. I was thinking of not going several times.

After listening to this, I did not bail. A little confidence hypnosis would not hurt. Why am I so scared of going through procedures you asked? Two reasons really. 2014 I got two huge tumors remove and the scar tissues from that major six hour surgery cause me to start having small bowel obstructions. I started having two to three times a year since 2017.

2022 the tube the go down my throat to remove my bowel obstruction was put in wrong. Instead of food coming out from the tube, blood was coming out. I had more than five stomach obstructions experience but none like the one July 20, 2022. The staff keep saying it’s part of the trauma of putting a tube down my throat. I wrote about this experience.

I have experience being given the wrong medication before. My medical mishaps experiences has cause me to get PTSD. I am very weary in getting procedures done now a days or taking new medications.

Let’s get back to my colonoscopy warrior moments. Everyone know the solution have an unpleasant taste when you added water with it. I know I will vomit if I drink a lot of this unpleasant taste. My primary doctor who is the best in my book, prescribed me anti nausea pills for that.

I had to cheat and add the solution to chicken broth to cover the taste. I boiled the chicken broth, cool it a little and add the colonoscopy’s solution to the chicken broth to cover the unpleasant taste of the solution.

Note, I was not allowed to used Gatorade or Powerade. I did throw up when I did not used the chicken broth and I have already drank to much of the solution. The worst part of the colonoscopy is drinking the solution for me.

I did get only two hours of sleep last night. I try to put up a good front today even if I was tired, thanks to listening to Enya’s music.

I love chatting with the other patients waiting. It’s also a good distraction from thinking negative thoughts of what could happen.

I spoke with the aesthetician doctor who just do the paperwork, he asked a few medical questions and tell me how the procedure will go, to be honest it was not how he told me,lol. The person who did the aesthetician told me what he was going to do and what was going to happen. It exactly happen as what the aresthician who administered it say he would do.

He put an oxygen mask on me after putting the heart monitor sticker things on my chest. He told me to breath in the oxygen deeply twice and I was out like a light bulb. Every staff in the room introduced themselves but it was hard to remember all their names. It was still nice that staff did that.

I woke up after two hour very groggy and disoriented. I wanted to pee so bad. I told the nurses. They give me a bed pan but I could not go for some reason. My own explanation is the aesthetic. I don’t have a medical degree but from my experience. The aesthetics prevent you from peeing when lying down especially during procedures that’s why some put catheters.

After, fifteen minutes I was able to make some sense what needed to be done. I asked to go to the bathroom. I was able to pee there and it felt so good. The nurse had to be with me to assist me because I was not fully oriented yet.

After that I went home, fell straight to bed and woke up two hours later. I just ate naan bread. I am still in bed very sleepy trying to write this story, while it’s still fresh in my memory.

I think I deserve the warrior title, lol . The doctor who did the colonoscopy had great bedside manners at least that’s what I positively hope in this procedure. She reassured me professionally. ( She say, she removed three small pulp, which is normal in this procedure.)You face the monitor but you are gone to la la land.

I just cannot understand where the two sores on my bottom inner lip came from?

I know it was not there before.

(Going to used my positive thinking that it’s nothing to worry about)

I did had stuffy nose afterwards but it is nothing Vicks vapor rub can handle.

I was fully armored for this colonoscopy. I hope you enjoyed my experience story? I even took a home Covid test,lol.

Negative Covid test

I put everything in God’s hand. Thanks all my prayer friends warriors.

diylifestyledietbodyaging
7

About the Creator

Mariann Carroll

Proactive for positive change.Born in the City of Chicago ,Illinois.

Multi race .Studied in a foreign country .Fluent in several languages .

fascinated by diversity.A Romantic and a dreamer.Interest in healthy living

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Flamance @ lit5 days ago

    So amazing Well understanding story great job

  • Omggg, I'm so sorryyyyy, I didn't text you because you said that your colonoscopy would be on the 2nd week of March! I didn't expect it to be so early! How are you doing now my friend? I hope you're feeling much better. Sending you lots of love and hugs ❤️

  • Most definitely the worst part for me is drinking the solution the day before. Yuck!!!!! Getting to take a nice little nap while others look up my bum? Priceless. I'm glad you were able to go through with it & that everyone so reassuring & professional. Be well, my friend.

  • Tiffany Gordon 2 months ago

    So happy that things went well! Well done!! 👏🏾👏🏾👏🏾👏🏾

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.