Longevity logo

Childish Antics & Grandma's Amusement

Mindfulness

By StaringalePublished 4 months ago 3 min read
4
Childish Antics & Grandma's Amusement
Photo by Autumn Mott Rodeheaver on Unsplash

Waking up with the sun shining brightly high in the sky brings me great comfort. Turning off my alarm, I stretched like a cat amidst the warmth of the cozy blankets. Pushing back the layers of blanket, I got up to get ready for the day.

With a plain brown woolen high-tech sweater top, white bottom, hair in a top half-do, and my phone charging, I was set for the day ahead. I skipped to the kitchen while humming.

Gathering the ingredients for the day, I set my mind on making corn soup for the family and a mini breakfast for myself. I threw the ingredients in the pot and let them simmer on low flame while I got busy preparing my breakfast. The chicken-stuffed croissants went into the oven and soon the kitchen smelled like a bakery.

Watching them from the little oven screen as they started to rise, increasing in size and slowly turning golden-brown as if they were sun-kissed, played on my appetite. A soft ding notified me that it was time to take them out.

Grabbing the mittens, I pulled open the oven door and took out the baking tray laden with sun-kissed croissants. After letting them cool on the kitchen counter, I returned to the soup just in time to add the egg.

Plating the croissants like a professional chef, I placed them on the table with a tall glass of orange juice. Seeing the soup done, I turned off the stove and covered it with a lid. Sitting down at the kitchen table with a great outside view, I enjoyed my breakfast, savoring every bite and watching the falling leaves.

It was a mesmerizing scene, the gentle morning breeze shaking the branches of the tree and causing a flurry of leaves to descend to the earth, dancing around one another in a unique pattern of nature.

Excited, I finished the last bite of my breakfast and stood up to take the plates to be washed. After putting the clean plates on the rack, I grabbed a bowl and filled it with the soup.

I took the soup to my mom, pushing the door open with my foot. I saw my mom about to head out, so I told her to rest in bed and enjoy the soup. Thankfully, she listened. Peeking into the rooms of my siblings, I saw them still sleeping and flushed red with temperature. Putting ice packs on their foreheads, I headed out to the backyard garden.

Putting on a matching brown overcoat, I opened the door to the backyard. Grabbing the rake, I began with my favorite chore, piling the leaves. Humming a nursery rhyme 'London bridge,' I went ahead with the task. Moving with the rhyme filled me with energy, just like a little kid.

Left and right, left and right, finally the leaves were piled into a huge mountain, which caused the kid in me to shout in glee, giving me an idea to jump and roll in the leaf mountain. Looking around and seeing no one, I jumped in the pile, causing the leaves to scatter.

A soft chuckling full of mirth caught my attention, and looking around, I saw my grandma standing at the door, amused with my antics. My ears turned red in embarrassment. Getting up quickly, I gathered the leaves again and matched them.

Seeing them burn away and leaving behind a comforting autumn scent, I went inside without sparing a glance to my grandma. I was too embarrassed. I went to my room in a hurry and jumped on my bed, screaming into my pillow in embarrassment. Were you ever caught doing something childish?

lifestylehealthfeaturedietadvice
4

About the Creator

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Shirley Belk4 months ago

    Loved looking inside your kitchen and seeing you in that pile of leaves! I know that your Grandma held that in her heart.

  • Doc Sherwood4 months ago

    "All the time," is the short answer to your closing question! I do like your Grandma, and I was very glad to see her again, having much enjoyed her previous appearance! And I remember saying before that I knew your brother and sister would take longer than you to get well, because your lifestyle seems so much healthier than theirs. Looks like I was right! This is another lovely story with all your familiar touches. Honestly, it gives my life a sense of continuity these days if I can tune into your page and read about a beautiful morning, or a hearty breakfast, or both! I share in the simple and consistent joys these bring, and I'm sure other readers do too. You always put me in the mood for croissants, even though it's evening here and I already ate! I'd also love to try your corn soup one day, as that's not a thing we really have in England. There is however one thing of ours which has evidently enjoyed worldwide popularity...! Yes, I speak of "London Bridge!" My Chinese students all know it, as did most Japanese students I've met, so I'm delighted you know it too! I'll never forget the day my mother took me at age ten to see London for the first time. Places I'd only ever heard about, including London Bridge plus Buckingham Palace and Trafalgar Square, were suddenly right in front of me! And just so you know, I saw it not so long ago when I came home from China, and it appeared structurally sound. My fair lady!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.