Longevity logo

Morning Library Disaster

Mindfulness

By StaringalePublished 4 months ago 3 min read
2
Morning Library Disaster
Photo by 🇸🇮 Janko Ferlič on Unsplash

The soft bell from my alarm echoed through the room, rousing me from my slumber and pulling me away from dreamland. Blinking, I slowly opened my eyes and got accustomed to the dimly lit room. Sitting up and stretching, I turned off the alarm, letting the comforter fall onto my lap. The chill of the room brought goosebumps to my skin. The sun was absent, and the sky was still dark with twinkling stars.

Pulling back the comforter, I slipped my feet into warm, cozy slippers and padded across the marble floor to freshen up and start my day. The coldness of the autumn morning surrounded me, causing me to shiver and my blood to freeze.

Hastily, I put on a layer over my nightgown and turned on the central heating unit in the house. Pulling my hair back and securing it with a scrunchie, I headed to the kitchen.

The heating unit was at work, and I was no longer feeling the need to shiver. The house was silent, and the constant hum of the various household appliances provided a comforting backdrop to the morning silence.

Turning on the lights, the kitchen came to life. I grabbed some eggs from the fridge and left them to boil on the stove. I chopped up seasonal fruits for a fruit salad and put bread slices on a pan to prepare French Toast. Plating the breakfast, I sat down to enjoy it.

Time passed quickly, and soon my mom entered the kitchen. Greeting her with a tight hug, I told her I was going for a walk in the backyard garden while putting away my now washed plates.

Grabbing the keys, I hopped to the backyard garden, bundled in a warm sweater and a woolen scarf. Opening the door, I was greeted by the sight of falling leaves, a hallmark of autumn. This was a chore I gladly did. I picked up the rake and started gathering the fallen leaves. This was by no means an easy task due to the morning breeze blowing away the mountain of leaves I gathered, but I managed to do it.

Taking a match, I set the gathered leaves aflame, watching the smoke rise from the burning leaves and creating a unique scent in the air. As the last of the leaves burned away and the flames disappeared, my mom came to me and told me it was time to head in.

Grabbing my mom, we waltzed back inside. Laughing, I went to my room and got dressed for the day. Grabbing my bag, I headed to the kitchen, telling my mom I was heading to the library. Giving her a flying kiss, I skipped outside where my bicycle was.

Cycling to the library, I entered the quiet haven of books. Taking a well-lit corner of the library, I immersed myself in the cool, crisp pages. Time stilled, and the text blurred, and soon I was pulled into the book world. A resounding 'Thums' jerked me back to reality just in time to see the bookshelves on my left side come down one by one.

After the last shelf fell, the culprit became visible. It was a young teen girl standing on a ladder, probably trying to reach a book. She must have mistakenly pushed the shelf in order to balance herself, causing the disaster. She stood there, spouting apologies and feeling embarrassed.

Standing up to help, I saw all the other people in the library also rush to assist. Finally, after 2 hours, everything was back in order. On the way home, I was thinking about what I would have done in that situation. I would surely have been too embarrassed to think straight. What about you?

lifestylehealthfitnessbeautyadvice
2

About the Creator

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Doc Sherwood4 months ago

    On reading your title I was dreading the disaster, so soon after you've been ill! So, I was very glad when this turned out to be such a comical ending, while the rest of the story is a truly beautiful invocation of a cold and frosty early morning. Autumn's always been my favourite time of the year, and your prose is at its most poetic as you take us through everything we love about the season - starry skies and a morning chill, raking leaves, and wearing cosy layers for warmth! The sensations were so vividly described that it was just like being there. There's real warmth too in the way you capture the joy of a hearty breakfast on such a morning (I'd have had French toast too!) and also your greeting to Mom, who I'm very glad has also made a full recovery. These stories of yours, on student life, do me so much good! You always remind me what a happy time it was for me too. As for the disaster itself, all I can say is, leave it to a teenage girl! No offense, but seriously! I'll never understand how it can be pinpoint precision in the ballet studio, and chaos everywhere else! You have a sister that age, so I'm sure you can relate! And the there's your final question. What would I have done? Erm, maybe you'd better just take a look at the following. It's me and my brother, when he roped me into his amateur dramatics. All I'll say here is, you may just appreciate the ending...! https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QOdIIOZoHXo

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.