Longevity logo

A Chain of Events; From Broken Lamps to Lava Cake

An Afternoon in my Life

By StaringalePublished about a month ago โ€ข 3 min read
Like
A Chain of Events; From Broken Lamps to Lava Cake
Photo by Allen Rad on Unsplash

Waking up from the short nap I took, I found an empty house. My lovely mom, cuddly grandma, and annoying siblings were absent.

The silence in the house at this time of the day is a rare occurrence. Heading to the kitchen, I found a note on the fridge from my mom.

It said that they were heading to a lunch at the neighbors and since I was tired I was woken up. Aww! How caring.

Just as I was wandering the empty house with a bowl of pineapple slices, my eyes fell on the clutter that my annoying siblings left in the living room.

Deciding to take care of that, I went ahead sorting out the mess. Piling the books in a neat pile, I left them in their respective rooms.

Arranging the cushions and taking the snack plates to the kitchen, I grabbed the vacuum on the way.

Folding the thin blankets, I placed them in a hamper. Finally, I was at the last task of vacuuming everything starting with the couch.

Trying to reach further, I heard a crash. Turning my head, I saw the vacuum wire twisted around the base of an antique lamp, which was now in pieces on the ground.

This was a gift my mom brought to give to Mr. Barker on his birthday next week since he is fond of antique stuff.

A bit panicked, I rushed to clean it up. The first rule to avoid mother's wrath is to hide the evidence ๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚.

Throwing the damaged product in the trash can outside the house, I was thinking of a way to replace it.

Grabbing the keys and my wallet, I decided to visit the local thrift store - my only hope to find such a gadget.

But it was a disappointment since there were no antique lamps in the store. Asking the owner if there were any shipments of such a product coming, I heard someone call my name.

Turning around, I saw my classmate, Becky Ryan, standing there holding a beautiful antique lamp. It was definitely not the same, but this one was better.

I heard her explain how she had been cleaning out her attic and found the lamp and decided to come here to sell it and from that money indulge in a creamy goodness of lava cake.

It was a perfect opportunity, and I jumped into it. Waving the owner bye, I dragged her with me, telling her I will buy her a lava cake from the bakery if she gave me the lamp now.

A few minutes of teasing, which I had to endure, followed by us sitting in the cafe enjoying a delicious treat.

Now standing in my empty home, thankfully they have yet to return, I inspected the lamp closely, hoping my mom didn't pay much attention to it while buying it.

Sitting on the couch, I realized that sometimes accidents happen for a reason, and that good things can come out of unexpected situations.

A growl reminded me that I expended a lot of energy today and needed to charge soon.

With that thought in my mind, I stood up to get charged. Heading to the kitchen, I looked around trying to decide what to eat.

Some time had passed, and I was just done with the buttered tortillas and stir-fried veg chicken.

The dishes went on the rack as I dried my hands and went back to the living room.

Laying on the couch with a full stomach, I was lulled to sleep. The land of dreams called to me.

Did you ever break anything in the house? What did you do next?

lifestylehumoradvice
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Shirley Belkabout a month ago

    Tom & Jerry at it again. Yes, I had a week of havoc when I was a teenager. This has inspired me to write about it soon. I really enjoyed reading your work. You have a knack for bringing out the best in life. Makes me happy

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

ยฉ 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.