Longevity logo

Rainy Day Bliss: A Mother-Daughter Bonding Experience

Mindfulness

By StaringalePublished about a month ago 3 min read
2
Rainy Day Bliss: A Mother-Daughter Bonding Experience
Photo by Alexandre Guimont on Unsplash

I was on my way back from the campus, taking a stroll on the way back. The sky was clear of clouds the birds were flying around.

Twirling around as I walked the footpath I looked around taking in the view. The scent of fresh flowers drifted through the air and reached my nose.

Looking around for the source I saw a lady taking a basket of multicolored  flowers with her.

Deciding on to follow her example I went ahead for the flower shop she just existed.

The flowers on display alone were so aesthetically pleasing. The alluring scents wafted through my nostrils as I stepped into the shop.

Looking around I finally settled on a bouquet of pink and white tulips. Getting it wrapped up prettily I wondered my mom's reaction on receiving it without any occasion.

A rumble shook me out of my thoughts, wondering were the sound came from.

I got my answer when my gaze fell on the display window of the shop. The sky that was clear just a moment ago was now filled with dark rumbling clouds.

Knowing it will soon lead to a heavy down pour and if I didn't leave now I would be stuck here waiting out the rain so I quickly paid and grabbed a cab.

With a bouquet in hand I sat in the cab just in time for the heavy down pour. The sun that illuminated everything just moments ago was now no longer there.

It was dark and no matter how many times the car's windshield wipers wiped off the rain it was getting difficult to see.

As my home neared I put on my head umbrella paid and thanked the cab driver before running into the house.

Closing the door behind me I gave a sigh of content. It's true there is no place to relax like home.

Skipping to the kitchen I saw mom about to give me a call while she gazed through the window with a worried expression.

Surprising her by giving her a scare, I handed her the flowers and twirled away to my room.

An hour later with fully tummy and in cozy pajamas I joined my mother in the living room by the fire place.

Abd we spent the next hour or two knitting. I was by no means expert in it but wanted to give it a try after seeing my grandma and mom do it a thousand times.

And what better time was it than now to indulge in it. Choosing from the multiple colored yarn balls I began the task.

Fifteen minutes into it I realized it was no easy task, how did my mom and grandma managed to make it seem so simple.

Pouting at my mom for help, I saw that she was looking at my failed attempts in amusement.

Atleast she pointed out my mistake, so I started knitting. Time passed by it was mother-daughter bonding moment.

My finished attempt was a long pink scarf which did not look as professional as my mom's but I was proud of my work.

Wrapping it around, I put away the yarn baskets and laid on my mother's lap as she petted me.

I don't know when but my eyes started getting heavier. It was difficult to keep them open. The soothing touches were not helping either.

And I drifted off to the land of dreams.

Have you ever had such an experience? Do you agree there is no touch as soothing as a mother's touch?

Talk to you guys next time. Have a nice rainy day.

lifestylefeaturebeauty
2

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Esala Gunathilakeabout a month ago

    Yeah, absolutely brilliant! "Have you ever had such an experience?" ... There cannot be surely for the majority. Marvelous story telling!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.