Longevity logo

Alex Morgan Just Told Us the High-Fiber Breakfast She Eats Before a Game

Plus how she prioritizes “me time” as a mom.

By Kaly JohnesPublished 10 days ago 3 min read
Like

Two-time World Cup winner and Olympic gold medalist Alex Morgan is an iconic face of the United States women’s national soccer team. But off the field, the striker is a mom first, and she prioritizes her own healthy eating pattern and wellness routine as well as her family’s.

Right after her SheBelieves Cup win last week, I sat down with the soccer star to discuss her pre-game fiber-packed breakfast, her favorite form of “me time” and her recent partnership with Nature Made promoting the release of their new pickle-flavored multivitamin gummies. Read on for all of the details on Morgan in this exclusive interview.

EatingWell: What’s your go-to meal before a game?

Morgan: When it comes to game day, it really depends on whether the game is earlier in the day or later. If it's a game in the afternoon, I try to have oatmeal in the morning. I add in some nut butter, some cinnamon and some berries. Oatmeal is pretty filling, but after a couple of hours I like to have pancakes. We like to stick with breakfast foods on game day. I don't know why, but pancakes are a really big hit with our team and I feel like I've just stuck with that over the last 10 years. My last meal before I play, which is 3 hours or 3.5 hours before, is always banana pancakes.

Two-Ingredient Banana Pancakes

EatingWell: Do you have any favorite forms of exercise off the field?

Morgan: I definitely like the off season, which is when I have a chance to do other cross training. I like doing spin classes. I feel like they're pretty difficult and challenging for me and I'm very competitive, so I like the ones where you can see where you rank. That's always a big motivator for me. Another sport that I enjoy doing on an off day is golf, and I'll either go out to the range or I'll play nine holes. That's something that I enjoy doing with my husband a lot. It gets you out walking around and it's really enjoyable for me.

Morgan: Definitely berries like strawberries, blueberries, raspberries and blackberries. My daughter loves them. Hummus and carrots are also a big hit in our house. And GoGo squeeZ is a really easy and healthy grab-and-go snack.

Mia Hamm Just Shared Her Go-To Snacks That Keep Her Satisfied on Busy Days

Morgan: A big “me time” activity is definitely going in the sauna. It’s like a two for one: it's good for your body, and I always put on a guided meditation. After that I like to stretch or read a book. I feel like that's a big me-time thing. Sometimes after dropping my daughter off at school, I just like to drive to training in silence or have the music on really low. It's just really comforting to have some silence before the business starts.

EatingWell: What made you decide to partner with Nature Made?

Morgan: I'm so excited to partner with Nature Made because it really aligns with the healthy lifestyle that I strive for, not only as a professional athlete but as a mom. The anticipation around the pickle-flavored multivitamin gummy is exciting for me because I'm a big pickle lover. It's something that I love to have as a snack along with something that is really healthy for me in a vitamin. It's just a win-win all around.

a photo of Alex Morgan

COURTESY OF BRAND

Morgan: I really just love fresh, cold dill spears. But if I'm at a tavern or a gastropub, I do love fried pickles. They are delicious.

19 Healthy & Easy Pickle Recipes That Aren't Cucumbers

Morgan: Eating well means having good nutrition habits, making sure that you have a balance of eating foods that are going to nourish your body while having the foods that you love that may not be so good for you in moderation. When you make your own food, you know exactly what you're cooking and exactly what goes into it. I think that's something that I've really been intentional with the last couple of months. I try not to eat out too much—especially when traveling, it's really difficult. I try to do a grocery run while I'm traveling to make sure that I have healthy snacks so I’m prepared and by the time I’m hungry I’m not just grabbing the first thing I see.

self carehealthdietbody
Like

About the Creator

Kaly Johnes

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.