Interview logo

Babs Iverson, Our Beloved Vocal Writer

Mariann Carroll ‘s Interview Blog 2023 On Vocal

By Mariann CarrollPublished 8 months ago Updated 8 months ago 5 min read
Top Story - September 2023
62
Babs Iverson’s Photo

Babs Iverson is the most supportive reader on Vocal that I know. She writes great memoirs, poems and stories.

She just past 10,000 read milestones on Vocal recently. She has about twenty top stories or more under her belt. Let me introduce you to her Runway Story, which is also a runner up to The Runaway Train Challenge.

Mariann: Where were you born, Babs Iverson?

Babs: Arriving at 8 am eastern time, that's the time on my birth certificate. I was born in Bellefonte. PA.

Mariann: What do you like to write about?

Babs: Mariann, that's a good question. I don't have a niche or a preference but it should be light and positive. Enjoy writing short stories, poetry, fiction and non-fiction. Dark and overly horrific isn't my cup of tea.

Funfacts : Babs is a big fan of the Texas Ranger Sports Team

Mariann: When did you realized you wanted to write?

Babs: As a child, I loved drawing. Once a week the art teacher would come to our elementary school. Art class was my favorite subject.

Received top grades for art, printing, and penmanship (cursive writing).

Realized a long time ago that I don't write out stories using pen and paper. For me, my creativity flows using word processing software, with a computer word processor , my free flow writing is comparable to painting and sculpting with words instead of paint, canvas, or clay. Editing a story, poem, or article is easily accomplished by moving text, correcting typos, or adding new thoughts and words.

Naturally, wrote a lot personal & business letters. Starting college courses in 1988/1989, I had to do a lot of writing. On campus, there was a computer lab. That's where I spent many hours typing my papers and assignments.

Returning from a field school in Egypt, I wrote two poems. Surprisingly, the poems were written using paper and pen. The first and only time I wrote by hand.

So, when did I realize I wanted to write? There wasn't an epiphany.

It was organic and the fact that I wanted to leave a written legacy for my children & grandchildren. It's something that I longingly wished my father and grandfather would have done with their verbal stories.

Mariann: Got it, wow. Field school in Egypt? How did you end up going to that school?

Babs: At UNT(University of North Texas), the Anthropology professor announced that she was planning a field school to Egypt and Israel. She asked who would be interested and I raised my hand. A year later, traveled to and within Egypt for thirty days. It would have been 15 days in Israel and 15 days in Egypt. However, the university wouldn't approve going to Israel because of safety reasons.

Another year later, in 1997, graduated with a BAAS degree.Bachelors of Applied Arts & Science.

Mariann: What’s your main goal in writing on Vocal?

Babs: My main goal is to have fun!

While growing, expanding, and improving my writing is secondary, the one runner-up win for the runaway train challenge last year was absolutely unbelievable., amazing, and awesome all rolled into one.

It would be fabulous to place 1st or 2nd in a challenge. I constantly remind myself that "If I am not winning, I am learning."

Fun facts: List of Babs Iverson’s 22 Top Stories :

LITTLE RED.

Kate & Leopold

BABS BLABS

LOST WITHOUT YOU

LOVE, LOVE SONG

36 wheels & Counting

TEENS TARGETED

Friendship

WALTZING

THE TWIST

Teen FRIENDSHIP

ITCHING

CHARISMA

Up in the Air

TAXING

TRENDING

TOPSY-TURVY

My Very First Limerick

REFLECTING

DEVIL'S CIGAR

COLOR ME

OZ

Fun Facts : Babs Have lived in the Washington DC area, Hawaii, Florida, Mississippi, Alaska, She is happy with her home location in North Texas.

Mariann: What does your writing space look like?

Bab’s Photos of her writing spaces

Babs: Which one? I have several. In our living room library, a primary go to spot and space is my comfy chair. Have a desk in the bedroom. I have used my grandson's computer in our guest bedroom, and last but not least, worked on stories at the kitchen counter.

Mariann: What is your life schedule and how do you fit your writing in it?

Babs: This year, for approximately three months that I had a fungal infection with body itching, I wasn't able to focus on reading or writing.

While others publish a myriad of stories, poems, and articles, I take the slow and steady route. Understandably, I am not a prolific writer. When it comes to numbers, have 257 stories published and as of this morning 30 reads short of 10k.

Confessing that house work has been ignored, as it's not going anywhere, I write when inspiration strikes.

Before retiring, my lifestyle was crazy, hectic. It was definitely stressful.

Managing my own schedule, helping my children & grandchildren, and doing what brings me joy. It's not complete leisure but it's a balanced lifestyle!

Mariann: Do you used discord for Vocal?

Babs: Well! Have been on discord. It took me awhile to access. To be honest, I don't use discord as much as the newer Vocal members do. That's my personal opinion!

It reminds me of Twitter (X) and I haven't been on that platform in over a year.

Mariann: If you were a book what title would you give yourself ?

Fun fact: The Cover Photo, the picture of Babs in the Japanese Garden at the Ft Worth Botanical Garden. Photo credit to Mr. L. W. Echols.It was taken approximately 20 years ago. It's a picture on her book that a friend purchased for her from a life untold.

Babs joined Vocal in 2021, and his Christmas gift that year was the book. It took her eight months to fill in the blanks and received a copy of her book towards the end of September last year.

“Life untold”, is the name of company and she asked me cropped it off from the picture.

Babs: My book title is TENACIOUS!

Mariann: If you can Change the World what would you change?

Babs: If I could wave my magical wand. I would change political behavior. By eliminating greed, selfishness, dishonesty, and tyrants in the world, we need a life balance.

FunFacts: Babs’ quote “Life is balance.”

TheMind Facebook post that Babs shared photo

Fun fact: Congratulations Babs on you 10,000 read milestones on Vocal 💕🥳🎉🎊🌈

It was a pleasure to get to know more about Babs Iverson, maybe next year we will have a part 2 Interview? Thank you for allowing us to see a little glimps of your world.💓You are Fabulous person ♥️👍

Authors
62

About the Creator

Mariann Carroll

Proactive for positive change.Born in the City of Chicago ,Illinois.

Multi race .Studied in a foreign country .Fluent in several languages .

fascinated by diversity.A Romantic and a dreamer.Interest in healthy living

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  4. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

Add your insights

Comments (47)

Sign in to comment
  • Shirley Belk4 months ago

    Enjoyed this so much!!!!

  • SJ Covey7 months ago

    Babs I feel like I’ve known u forever and even though I’ve not been around vocal for months fate has brought this amazing piece to me. You are an incredible author and so supportive of everyone on vocal. I look forward to coming back when things calm down and I’m mended to read all your incredible stories I have missed. We will always share our love of Egypt 😍🥰😘

  • S M Lutfor Rahman8 months ago

    Congratulations Babs

  • Colleen Millsteed 8 months ago

    Babs is such an integral part of Vocal for sure. Great interview.

  • Paula Shablo8 months ago

    I love Babs. Thanks for doing this interview!

  • shubham BRsoftech8 months ago

    ChatGPT Babs Iverson, our cherished vocal writer, has woven lyrical magic into our lives. Her words, like melodies, resonate deep within our hearts. With gratitude, we celebrate her artistry and the emotions she evokes. If you are looking for board game development , visit our website for more +https://www.brsoftech.com/board-game-development.html

  • Judey Kalchik 8 months ago

    So well put together. You two make a great team!

  • Lacy Loar-Gruenler8 months ago

    Babs' enthusiasm comes through the moment you start reading her stories, and this interview confirms it! Nice job, Mariann!!

  • Heather Hubler8 months ago

    Oh, I loved this one so much!! Babs is the best :) I'm amazed at all the places she's lived and things she's seen. And reading her works always brings we joy. Great interview, Mariann!!

  • Clyde E. Dawkins8 months ago

    Babs is just iconic! Very awesome interview, and congratulations on Top Story!!

  • J. R. Lowe8 months ago

    Lovely interview. Nice to hear more about Babs 😊

  • Raymond G. Taylor8 months ago

    Terrific interview and fascinating subject thanks for sharing

  • Dana Stewart8 months ago

    Great interview, Babs is a great storyteller and I always enjoy reading her work. Congratulations you two on the Top Story.

  • Caroline Jane8 months ago

    Yes I concur. Babs is a wonderful human. Lovely interview. ❤️

  • Oh what fun to learn about the sweetheart named Babs. I loved your wording of realizing that you like to write not being an epiphany but rather something organic. OMG, can you imagine if kids these days were graded on "art, printing, and penmanship (cursive writing)"? I think it would be so fun to go back to grading penmanship. "TENACIOUS"...what a great title. So great that I'm going to gently pilfer it😁 Congratulations on Top Story, Ladies!

  • Alex H Mittelman 8 months ago

    Great interview and congratulations to both of you!

  • Dana Crandell8 months ago

    Wonderful interview! It's such a treat to learn a little bit more about one of my favorite Vocal creators. Well done, both of you and congratulations!

  • Kristen Balyeat8 months ago

    Great interview, Mariann! Babs is awesome and it was really fun getting to know her! Great work, both of you! Congrats on top story!!

  • Leslie Writes8 months ago

    I love Babs! I feel like I knew her through her stories and comments, but I was delighted to hear that she traveled to Egypt in college. That is so cool. I'd love to read the poems that her trip to Egypt inspired! I am low key obsessed with ancient Egypt. Great interview.

  • Frankie Martinelli8 months ago

    Babs is amazing her comments of support always spur me on to go forward. She is totally deserving of her 10, 000 reads This is a great article!

  • Rob Angeli8 months ago

    Nice interview! Great to get to know Babs more, she does so much here in every way. Congratulations on Top Story!

  • Babs is like a little ball of sunshine. I have no idea what that means but I meant that she's always so positive and vibrant! Although she has an aversion so dark stuff, she still reads my work, just like you do. God bless both your hearts! 🥰 Whoaaa, her writing space is so clean and tidy! That's awesomeeee! I've just this been posted my first post/comment/ whatever it's called on Discord. I still feel it's so complicated, lol! I loved her book title! Looking forward to that second interview! I really enjoyed reading this and congratulations on your Top Story!

  • M8 months ago

    This was such a treat to read! Babs is a great Vocal community member.

  • Bayazid othmen8 months ago

    Great

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.