Humor logo

BABS BLABS

Challenge #2! Tag You Are It!

By Babs IversonPublished 9 months ago Updated 9 months ago 4 min read
Top Story - August 2023
43

Yep! Unsplash didn't have a picture of a Caption Call phone. Look at that dust! It isn't that dusty. My cell phone takes crappy, not snappy pictures. Ghastly, a hand appears to be coming through the screen.

Yesterday, Scott, J. S. Wade, tagged me. It was my second tag. Judey tagged me too. I wrote a poem for the Motivation Community, but with the word count being less than 600 words. My motivational poem had to be published in the Poet Community. Ugh!

That's probably more information than you needed. In case you didn't know, James and Oneg are behind all this. It's a part of their Summer Challenge Extravaganza.

As you know, I can't be without my cell phone. It is my preferred way to communicate sending and receiving texts, e-mails, and messages. If you missed the story, here is the link, see below.

However, there are times when the only way to reach out is to use a landline. That's when my Caption Call phone comes in handy. Of course, nothing is perfect. Yet, we continue to strive for perfection.

Honestly, having captions on a phone is a blessing, I am so very very grateful for the service. When the need arises and a phone call is necessary, it literally saves the day. Taking the ability to communicate on a phone for granite, is understandable. Being able to communicate on the phone, is appreciated and so very thankful for it.

However, are you familiar with Murphy's Law? "If it can go wrong, it will." Mistakes seem to be inevitable. Mistakes are bound to be made. Yes! It happens. When using a keyboard, a typo, letters transposed, or a word omitted. Such is life.

When a third party transcribes everything correctly, it's absolutely wonderful. In real-time, another person is transcribing what is being said. Giving me the opportunity to read what the other person is saying, at least, it is something even if it's not 100 percent foolproof.

Sometimes, it's hard to follow the conversations. When there are bloops and blunders, it's not just missing words, letters transposed, or typos. It can be frustrating or upsetting, but we have to keep our wits about us. In retrospect, it's laughable.

From recently saved communications this week, strange and incomprehensible words and phrases appeared on the screen. Perhaps you can figure out what was being conveyed. Here are a few examples:

"You guys have been Confederate so that's why."

"Mhmmm."

"History 61.2"

"Therefore God last and it."

Totally, clueless as to what was actually stated. What was transcribed before or after the above examples doesn't help to solve the word puzzle. Why it came out as unrecognizable words or phrases? It's bizarre! Or, could it be secret codes being sent? Honestly, I know that I didn't get the memo!

Last Wednesday, had my second yearly dental cleaning with my out-of-network, who's been my dentist for over five years. Before going to the appointment, I called my Medicare Advantage plan to check on the status of their in-network dental charges. Outrageously, the Medicare Advantage plans in-network dentist submitted a claim of $930 for X-rays. Can you believe that? I can't confirm or deny that the actual coded X-rays were performed. According to the in-network dentist's office, they verbally stated that a charge of $177 would be resubmitted.

In case you don't remember or read the dental stories, you can check them out below.

Earlier this year, after three phone calls to the Medicare Advantage plan customer service representative, was informed that I should write a letter regarding the charges.

Now, keep in mind that my normal complaint letter is one page which is short and to the point. My three-page complaint letter outlined every detail. Their reply letter was brief. Very brief! Their letter must have been written by an AI bot. Inaccurately claiming that my out-of-network appeal was being investigated. Was mind blowing. Folks! There were never any issues with my out-of-network dentist.

Since it had been two months since receiving the Medicare Advantage plan response letter, as stated above, I called to check the status of the charges. After going round and round with a bot that is the gatekeeper for the customer service representative at insurance companies, spoke to two representatives and then finally to the correct representative

Of course, the representative didn't get it or he didn't want to get it. The bottom line is their in-network dentist hadn't resubmitted a claim for the correct amount. Back in February, received a check for $166.00 which I didn't cash. In my mind, had the check been cashed, I would be on the hook for $430.00 for X-rays at a dental office that wanted to sell me a deep cleaning when it wasn't necessary. Yep! The claim is still open.

Thank you for reading!

Here is more information about the Summer Challenge.

J. S. Wade tagged me. Scott's story is below.

ALOHA!

LaughterIronyGeneral
43

About the Creator

Babs Iverson

Barbara J Iversen, also known as Babs Iverson, lives in Texas and loves her grandkids to the moon and back. After writing one story, she found that writing has many benefits especially during a pandemic and a Texas-size Arctic Blast.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (32)

Sign in to comment
  • Jay Kantor9 months ago

    Dear Ms. Babs - Thank you for the "Sweet" comment re; 'Popsicle' - I follow everything you write, including lovely compliments to others. Now that we're 'Bunk-Mates' within this category (metaphorically speaking) it's so nice to hear from someone from the 'other' community - I'm just a StoryTeller; nothing more. Jay btw; I have my Dentist on a closed-door "Cash" Retainer - Don't Tell -

  • Kelly Khoo9 months ago

    Struggles with captions, bizarre transcriptions; dental insurance frustrations persist. 😅

  • Lacy Loar-Gruenler9 months ago

    Oh, Babs, You blab extraordinaire with this wonderful piece. And bravo for top story!!! I will definitely be reading more!

  • Amazing 🌟😉📝👍👌🎉Congratulations on Your Top Story🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉💖

  • Dean F. Hardy9 months ago

    Congrats Babs. Loved the title.

  • Denise E Lindquist9 months ago

    Congratulations on your top story🎉🎉🎉

  • Melissa Ingoldsby9 months ago

    I hate the hoops and ladders you must climb and jump over to get “quality” customer service lol and I used to be one ! Lol 😆 great commentary and I feel your pain

  • Rob Angeli9 months ago

    Congratulations on Top Story. Technological nostalgia...and those customer service goons...well blabbed! 😀

  • Congrats on your Top Story

  • Rohan9 months ago

    Nice! Good Luck

  • Test9 months ago

    Really engaging-Thank you!

  • Sheila L. Chingwa9 months ago

    Congratulations on TS!

  • Cathy holmes9 months ago

    Congrats on the TS, my friend.

  • Heather Lunsford9 months ago

    I feel your pain with insurance customer service. But next time I have to do it I'm going to consider myself fortunate to be able to hear them even if what they say makes no sense. Glad they still support caption phones but honestly couldn't we do better than that by now?

  • Kelly Sibley 9 months ago

    I feel your dental pain, but congrats on the top story. Yay!

  • Sid Aaron Hirji9 months ago

    Medication and dentist charges are insane. Great story and congrats

  • Naomi Gold9 months ago

    Oh Babs I’m so sorry. That has to be frustrating! I hope you get it sorted out soon. I never knew caption call phones existed, that’s neat. Congrats on your Top Story. 🥂

  • Dana Stewart9 months ago

    Awesomeness, Babs and congratulations on your Top Story 🎉

  • Margaret Brennan9 months ago

    I know what you're talking about. I'm on a diabetic medication. I'm supposed to get a 90-day supply for $30.00. I have yet to find a pharmacy that will give me my proper doseage. They'll give me only a 30-day supply for $30.00. I've switched pharmacies three times (there are only three in my area) and they all do the same thing (and no, they are not connected to each other.)

  • Dana Crandell9 months ago

    Woohoo! Congratulations, Babs! Great story!

  • Donna Renee9 months ago

    Great job, Babs! 🥰

  • Real Poetic9 months ago

    Healthcare really could use reforming globally! Congratulations Babs!! I really enjoyed your Blab lol 💗

  • You're so popular Babs! This was awesomeeee!

  • Colleen Millsteed 9 months ago

    I’ve never heard of a Caption Call phone so I’m not sure I understand that part lol. Great work Babs.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.