Confessions logo

ITCHING

true confession

By Babs IversonPublished 12 months ago Updated 12 months ago 3 min read
Top Story - May 2023
48
ITCHING
Photo by Tanbir Mahmud on Unsplash

In most cases, pain can be managed. On the other hand, itching can drive a person bonkers.

Confessing, in the past when my integrative doctor offered a prescription medicine, my answer has always been, "No thank you! However, my left foot fungal infection has returned. On the April 3rd of this year, when the doctor offered a prescribed cream, I acquiesced.

In my defense, having used home treatments for the foot fungal infection so many many many times before, there were thoughts and hopes that the prescribed cream would kill off the fungal infection once and for all. Unfortunately, it didn't work out that way.

For the first week, the prescription cream appeared to be working. During the second week, if I hadn't applied the cream by 10:30 P.M., intense itching began and the itching would calm down shortly after applying the cream. My creative and imaginational mind kicked in thinking that my skin was becoming addicted to the prescribed Ketoconazole cream. At the end of two weeks, my left foot was stinging, burning, and itching. I was having side effects or an allergic reaction to the prescribed cream. According to online information, if you are having stinging, burning, and itching, you should stop using Ketoconazole cream. Which I did!

However, when discontinuing the cream on the 18th, my receiving any type of sleep or rest was problematic. It was the same for the 19th of April. As it happened, my six month follow up with my Medicare Advantage doctor was scheduled for the 20th of April. Arriving at the doctors office, the cold almost freezing temperature of the room was definitely noticeable.

After commenting this fact, the doctor's assistant announced that it was 74 degrees. Knowing that there was no need to argue with her, I bit my tongue. My left foot was itching so bad, but honestly, it felt like 54 degrees. When my personal care physician learned what was going on with my left foot, she wanted to prescribe another cream. Of course, I refused.

Once back home, it was time to google finding that coconut oil was a good choice for treating a foot fungal infection. Before applying the coconut oil, my foot was soaked in vinegar water and thoroughly dried. In addition, there are other soaking choices; such as, Epsom salt in water or baking soda in water.

A few days after seeing the Medicare Advantage doctor, my throat was sore, craggy, and scratchy. Immediately, began gargling with warm salt water and taking a small amount of Manuka Honey with apple cider vinegar. This home treatment helped since dark honeys have antibacterial qualities. By the Way, the Manuka honey comes from New Zealand.

Out of the blue, there was a sudden onset of itching all over my body. While my foot was getting better on the 25th of April, now, I was having itching all over my body. Using lotions and creams, there was no relief and nothing helped. It wasn't poison ivy or dry skin. Besides, dry skin usually happens to me in the winter. The only thing that gave comfort were ice packs and cold showers, then applying coconut oil or Petroleum Jelly. At night, an allergy pill would help achieve some much needed sleep.

Waiting almost two weeks, I reached out to my integrative doctor. The doctor replied back by email asking which lab to send the request to. After she received the information, the doctor sent the blood request to the lab. Upon learning that the lab had the blood request, I immediately went to the lab and had the blood drawn. Needles and having blood drawn are not my favorite things in the world, but this itching is driving me crazy.

Over the weekend, it felt like a urinary tract infection was trying to come on. Thankful that we have the cranberry supplement gummies. While the gummies aren't used to treat infection, they can prevent the development of a UTI.

As of yesterday, the blood work is out of the way. Today, the 9th my left arm is sore from going to the lab. Unbelievable, the down side is that the doctor won't have the result for seven to nine days.

Currently, taking Benadryl Allergy tablets using Vicks Vapor Rub on my skin. Taking cold showers and using ice packs, this itching is driving me bonkers.

Writer's notes: Wishing you all the best, thank you for reading! Appreciate your comments and hearts!

Humanity
48

About the Creator

Babs Iverson

Barbara J Iversen, also known as Babs Iverson, lives in Texas and loves her grandkids to the moon and back. After writing one story, she found that writing has many benefits especially during a pandemic and a Texas-size Arctic Blast.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  4. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (41)

Sign in to comment
  • Mother Combs8 months ago

    That must have been rough. Hope you are ok now

  • aya hossam10 months ago

    i like it keep writingggggggggggggggg

  • Dorothy Gibbs11 months ago

    Classic case of If it's not one thing....It's another. Get well

  • aya hossam11 months ago

    hi can u read mine its the first one so idk its not complete i wrote anything am sorry but iam writing one now i hope u like it

  • Faisal Bilal11 months ago

    https://vocal.media/confessions/echoes-of-lost-souls

  • Hack Daemon11 months ago

    Are you a victim of Cheating spouse and you don't know what to do or you don't know the next step to take Spyversewizard the solution to all cheating spouse problems, I'm a living testimony of his great job he helped catch my cheating partner by hacking into his phone and gave me access to it remotely, with that I was able to see all his secret messages with his secret lovers and he couldn't deny any of it because I have a genuine proofs. All this is possible with the help of Spyversewizard a professional and honest Hacker if you find your self in this kind of situation don't hesitate to contact him via this link Email:[email protected] Telegram: +17162464767

  • Oh boy!!! Well written as usual...!!! Seeing this was written 12 days ago your blood work results must have come back.

  • Pauline Fountain12 months ago

    Oh Babs! What a nightmare - however despite your awful reality - a compelling read indeed! Though in someways I can relate. I can remember my beautiful Mum fighting for the best treatment with my Drs for various ailments. And returning to traditional methods - those you mentioned above. I really enjoyed it but bring on the relief!! Pauline 🌸

  • This is one heck of a confession. There's a lot I could say and recommend as a practicing naturopath and herbalist. But this isn't the venue for that. So, I'll just sing off with...Congratulations on your Top Story! Feel better.

  • Gina C.12 months ago

    Congrats on Top Story, Babs!! 😍😍

  • Roy Stevens12 months ago

    This sounds like a waking nightmare and I'm so sorry to read about your difficulties Babs. The stuff we go through to get a Top Story on Vocal, yikes! Sending you my thoughts and best wishes, Roy

  • Lamar Wiggins12 months ago

    Sending prayers up for speedy relief, Babs. 🙏 Itching is no joke. It used to happen to me some time ago in the weirdest of places, the top of my head. It lasted at least 5 days before going away but during, it drove me crazy. I tried to ignore it but that rarely helps since it's something you can physically feel. I'll be thinking about you and wondering. Please give us an update. Thanks, and Congrats on your top story!

  • E.K. Daniels12 months ago

    Congrats on the top story, Babs! So sorry to hear of your issues, but glad you’ve found some relief! I love coconut oil. My skin is super sensitive and it works great as it’s antibacterial. Sometimes a bit of tea tree oil diluted in almond or coconut oil also works great. Wishing you a speedy recovery! 💜

  • Heather Hubler12 months ago

    Oh my goodness, that's so awful!! It's difficult to function and concentrate with a constant source of stress like that. Of course, I had to do some research...I just can't help it, lol. I hope the blood tests shed some light on the situation and you get relief very soon!! Congrats on Top Story at least :)

  • Caroline Jane12 months ago

    I am itching in empathy. ❤

  • Tiffany Gordon 12 months ago

    Congrats on your TOP STORY my friend!

  • Leslie Writes12 months ago

    Oh my goodness! I hope they get to the bottom of this mystery. Wishing you a speedy recovery! 💕

  • kofi ansah12 months ago

    congratulations, Babs

  • Donna Renee12 months ago

    Eeek! so sorry you are dealing with this! 😢

  • Melissa Ingoldsby12 months ago

    Babs I’m so sorry 😢 for all these issues I hope you have full relief now hugs 🤗 from me you and congratulations on your top story!

  • Congratulations on your Top Story

  • JBaz12 months ago

    Congratulations , this was very well done. Top story deserving

  • Dana Crandell12 months ago

    Congratulations, Babs! Glad to see this made Top Story! 💖

  • That sounds awful , hope the bloodwork works, big hugs

  • Gina C.12 months ago

    Oh gosh, Babs! This sounds so uncomfortable.🥺 I really hope this gets figured out and healed as soon as possible! Sending you hugs ❤️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.