Humor logo

You Malapropism is Showing

And I love it!

By Dana CrandellPublished 10 months ago Updated 9 months ago 4 min read
Top Story - July 2023
47

"You keep using that word. I do not think it means what you think it means." ~Inigo Montoya, The Princess Bride

This little bit of fun was inspired by an article by the very talented Harmony Kent, about homonyms and similar word comparisons that often cause trouble for writers. It's a very well written, informative piece that's more than worth the time to read. It's also the first in a series I'm sure you'll want to follow, so please, go read it:

As an editor, it's part of my job to find instances where my clients have stumbled over one of the little troublemakers Harmony writes about. It tends to happen in ways that make me laugh, which is one of the reasons I'm glad my clients don't watch me work. (The fact that I have a VERY relaxed dress code is another, but I digress.)

Now, please understand, I'm not out to shame anyone. Malapropisms happen to the best of us, and to me, too. So, I just thought I'd share some of the fun, and hope my warped sense of humor doesn't make you unsubscribe.

Before I start, let me offer my own definition of that dangerous-sounding term in the title for those who don't know, with apologies to those that do: A malapropism is simply the use of the wrong word in a sentence, often because it sounds much like the right word. I'll go out on a limb here (Like I've never done that before, eh?) and say that it applies to the written word as well as speech.

Ok, ready? Buckle up, Buttermilk! (See what I did there?) Here we go!

“Bare with me.”

This has to be my favorite, by far, for two reasons: First, it's an open invitation to “get nekkid” with the writer, which I'm going to turn down. I probably don't know the person THAT well, and even if I did, the ensuing laughter would be bad for my ego.

Second, It can be a fun phrase, even with the right word, “bear.” “There's a bear with you? Why?” But, yes, one of the definitions of the word “bear” suits this scenario.

Ok, enough about that one. Let's bring our thoughts to bear (What a versatile word that is!) on another one:

“I could care less.”

To be fair, this is a true statement. Unfortunately, it sort of leaves me waiting for a punchline that isn't coming. I could care less, too, and so could anyone else I know. I could also care more. But what's your point? Now, if you tell me, “I couldn't care less,” then I know your give-a-damner just isn't engaged. “Couldn't.” “Could not.” “It's not possible.” (to care less.)

It's the futility of trying to argue this one that leaves me chuckling.

“prostrate problems”

Yeah. So you either have a problem with falling down (“Help, I can't get up”) or something you don't want to be prostrate, is. (“Help, I can't -” well, never mind.)

“taken for granite”

I'm amazed at how often I see and hear this one. On the other hand, I have to admit that “taken for granted” is a little harder to define, partly because the words, “taken” and “granted” can be “taken” to mean different things. I've had to work very hard to keep myself from using this in response to statements like, “He/She is my rock.”

“a little antidote”

I always feel a little sad about having to correct this one. After all, “anecdote” looks – and sounds like it was misspelled. It doesn't exactly “roll off the tongue.” You kinda' have to push it off with that hard “c.” Still, when I see this one, I have to wonder just how toxic whatever I read just before it was.

I'm going to leave it at that for now. Some things, like good-natured ribbing, are best given in small doses. I'm absolutely sure that there are plenty of other examples of fun malapropisms out there I'm forgetting, and I'd love to hear your favorites! Leave some in the comments so we can all have a good laugh!

By the way, if you didn't go read Harmony's article up there, do it! Now! Thanks for the inspiration, Harmony!

***

Thanks for reading my random ramblings! If you enjoyed them, there are a few things you can do to show your appreciation, which of course will be rewarded with mine:

1. Leave a comment. I'd love to hear your thoughts and some more malapropisms!

2. See that little heart just a bit below this list? Click it. Easy-peasy!

3. Scroll down a bit more and you'll find 3 big buttons. With those, you can:

  • Subscribe for FREE to get a notice when I post something new (unless the button says “Unsubscribe” in which case, clicking it would be silly.)
  • “Pledge Your Support” which just means you can help support my writing here with a small monthly donation. You don't have to take an oath or anything.
  • Leave a one-time tip. A buck means a lot. Ten thousand bucks means you're probably crazy, but I love ya' anyway!
  • IronySarcasmFunny
    47

    About the Creator

    Dana Crandell

    Dad, Stedpad, Grandpa, Husband, lover of Nature and dogs.

    Poet, Writer, Editor, Photographer, Artist and Tech/Internet nerd. Content writer by trade. Vocal Creator by choice.

    Reader insights

    Outstanding

    Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

    Top insights

    1. Expert insights and opinions

      Arguments were carefully researched and presented

    2. Easy to read and follow

      Well-structured & engaging content

    3. Compelling and original writing

      Creative use of language & vocab

    1. Eye opening

      Niche topic & fresh perspectives

    2. Masterful proofreading

      Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

    3. Excellent storytelling

      Original narrative & well developed characters

    4. On-point and relevant

      Writing reflected the title & theme

    5. Heartfelt and relatable

      The story invoked strong personal emotions

    Add your insights

    Comments (42)

    Sign in to comment
    • L.C. Schäfer9 months ago

      Can we add to this? "Nip it in the butt" always makes me laugh. "Try my upmost" makes my eyeball twitch.

    • Congratulations on your Top Story🎉💖🌟💯📝🎉

    • Leslie Writes9 months ago

      It’s kind of like getting the words wrong to a popular song. It’s funny how so many of us get it wrong in the exact same way. 🤣 Great article!

    • Novel Allen9 months ago

      Know what, I just got a story (Jamaican style) from your story. That's how it works baby. We love that word back home, or used to before people became zombies. This is so good. Congrats.

    • C. H. Richard9 months ago

      That was a fun read. Of course I can't think of any right now, but now know the correct term when I see or hear one, malaproprism. Congratulations on well deserved top story 😊♥️

    • Heather Hubler9 months ago

      Ah, that was a lot of fun! You put a smile on my face :) Thanks for sharing and congratulations on Top Story!

    • ema10 months ago

      I love your article! As a long-term English learner, I really appreciate it! Precisely, I don't take anything for granite, but I think once I took something for grounded. 😂

    • Melissa Ingoldsby10 months ago

      This made me smile 😃 great work

    • Ruth Stewart10 months ago

      This is awesome. It's so true those mistakes are everywhere! Congratulations on Top Story. 💙👏😊

    • Oneg In The Arctic10 months ago

      Really enjoyed this! Congrats on the Top Story :)

    • Thavien Yliaster10 months ago

      Reminds me of "tear you to peaces," "die of beates," "roast tits erey chicken," and "two-tired." I'll admit to having some writing mistakes myself when it comes to grammatical errors, sometimes even when I write a few words it feels like I'm coining something new. I even swore I heard I new word today from one of my own family members. It's so new, but when heard in proper context, it just makes perfect sense like it's been used Your entire life.

    • Dana Stewart10 months ago

      You had me with The Princess Bride lead photo, one of the best movies ever. This was a fun read, Dana. I’ll leave you with Mike Tyson’s quote ‘I might just fade into Bolivian’ Congrats on the Top Story 🎉

    • Heather Lunsford10 months ago

      Thank you for teaching me a new word! My favorite is grade and grate. My family almost never appreciates my sarcasm when they ask me to grade cheese for dinner and I say "I would give it a solid B"

    • Andrei Z.10 months ago

      Funny! Do people really do that often? I remember, in childhood, I used to enjoy making up malapropisms of my own (ofc without any idea of the existence of this term). My favourite one and the one I, for some reason, rembered well is 'disc reanimation' for discrimination.

    • Alexandria Stanwyck10 months ago

      I learned so much especially that it should 'I couldn't care less.' Plus I always like a great Princess Bride meme.

    • Holly Pheni10 months ago

      Nicely said!

    • Donna Fox (HKB)10 months ago

      Congratulations on Top Story, I love that this piece is getting some recognition! 😊

    • Test10 months ago

      I love this and congratulations ☺️

    • Super fun way to learn about diction (word choice). It took forever for me to stop using "granite" instead of "granted" mostly because my teacher always marked it wrong but never said what it should be. I had to figure it out the long, hard way (you know, like before Google). Congratulations on Top Story!

    • https://awards.vocal.media/nomination?grsf=jeremiah-c4href

    • The Dani Writer10 months ago

      Great piece Dana! Making it light-hearted and humorous is the way to go. Especially when as a child, I heard a lot of people not "wanting to be Pacific." The English language is a riot. Congrats on the Top Story!

    • Congratulations Dana. I couldn’t “bare” knowing that I was your target audience. Lol

    • Cathy holmes10 months ago

      Yay. Congrats on the TS, my friend.

    • Rob Angeli10 months ago

      Congratulations on TS, and I still won't take people for granite!

    • Naomi Gold10 months ago

      Congrats on Top Story, Dana! 🥂 It’s still funny on my second read.

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.