Humor logo

Vocal Memes for Established Creators

Sometimes you've just got to laugh

By J. R. LowePublished 3 years ago Updated 2 years ago 3 min read
Top Story - October 2021
Vocal Memes for Established Creators
Photo by Etty Fidele on Unsplash

Life can be tough sometimes. No, scratch that, life can be drop-dead awful sometimes. But when times get tough, I find that humour and seeing the lighter side to things always paves the way to a more positive outlook. I think Maurice Chevalier summed it up quite nicely when he said:

"You don't stop laughing because you grow old. You grow old because you stop laughing."

When it comes to modern humour, there really isn't any better media than memes, and you can make memes about anything these days. Every popular TV show, celebrity, political figure, company, CEO etcetera has had memes made about them. In fact, these days, having memes made about you is a pretty clear indication that you've made it big, and with Vocal having published over 100,000 Challenge entries in addition to providing over $500,000 worth of prizes, I'd say Vocal is certainly meme-worthy.

So without further ado, here are some freshly made memes about your favourite writing platform, Vocal, which will hopefully help you see the funnier side of life.

#1 Procrastinating on Vocal

It's so easy to lose track of time browsing stories or even writing up your own. For me, reading and writing on Vocal is a way for me to procrastinate doing the mundane tasks of my day while also still feeling like I'm being productive. It's so much fun, and I'd definitely recommend it, but don't let your other responsibilities drown while you're distracted...

#2 Not winning Vocal Challenges

No one likes a sore loser so please don't be that person if you don't win a challenge. Read the winning entries, send them a heart to show your support, and learn from their writing style to see how you can improve your future challenge entries. Still, sometimes checking the site to find out you didn't place does hurt just a little, but now we can laugh about it instead.

#3 Low read counts

It sucks when you put a lot of time and effort into a piece only for it to never get the reads you were hoping for. I can guarantee most new Vocal creators will experience this at least once. It sucks, but there are certainly ways to help avoid this.

  1. Join some (or all) of the Vocal social groups mentioned here. Not only do these groups provide great opportunities to share your work, but they also provide opportunities for networking, peer-review and critique (in addition to incredible support) which will ultimately improve the quality of your work.
  2. Share your work on social media. Whether it's Instagram, Facebook, Twitter or another platform all together, sharing your content is a great way to build a following and increase traffic to your work.
  3. Learn about Search Engine Optimisation (SEO)! One creator provides a great summary and explanation of this here. In short, SEO involves a set of practices which aim to improve the the visibility of your content that you publish online.

But that's enough of the serious stuff - back to the memes.

#4 Learning about SEO

Ok, I don't really need to dwell on this one due to my explanation above. But I will note that reading about SEO and then trying to apply it makes me feel like I'm some sort of IT wiz (even though it's a relatively well known and commonly implemented practice). I think this guy's expression really summarises my whole experience quite nicely, although I can't say I own a pair of pink speckled glasses like that (yet).

#5 Recruiting help for some top-notch Vocal stories

Sometimes the best stories come from collaboration. If you hadn't already heard, Vocal has a super exciting Critter Costume Challenge where you can submit some snazzy pics of your pet(s) in their Halloween costumes. I managed to convince some of my housemates' pets to participate by bribing them with treats, but I'm fairly sure they thought I was completely mad. The results of the photoshoot were actually pretty good though if I do say so myself.

And that's a wrap!

I hope you enjoyed these Vocal-themed memes and quick tips that were somewhat unintentionally sprinkled throughout. If I can leave you with one golden piece of advice though: when life gets tough, make memes about it.

If you liked this article, you may also like:

humor

About the Creator

J. R. Lowe

By day, I'm a PhD student, by night.... I'm still a PhD student, but sometimes I procrastinate by writing on Vocal. Based in Australia.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (3)

  • Babs Iverson9 months ago

    Thought I read this before but I needed the to re-read!!! Humorously written and loved it!!!!💕♥️♥️

  • Donna Fox (HKB)about a year ago

    J.R. I love that quote you had at the beginning about growing old because you stop laughing. That feels like a really great mantra for this series and for life! The seal meme was hilarious, I definitely have had this conversation with my very well love and over fed cat. Definitely had myself a great laugh again! 🤣 Thank you for this series, as always I’ll be trying to stop by more often check out more of your work! But I do really appreciate the opportunity for a good laugh, I needed it after the week I’ve had! 🥵

  • Quincy.Vabout a year ago

    nice post . Thank you for posting something like this keep up the good work

J. R. LoweWritten by J. R. Lowe

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.