Humor logo

Myself and Vocal Investment

At an impasse. ๐Ÿ˜ตโ€๐Ÿ’ซ

By Novel AllenPublished 7 months ago โ€ข Updated 7 months ago โ€ข 6 min read
Top Story - October 2023
43
Myself and Vocal Investment
Photo by Katt Yukawa on Unsplash

Two lines of code inside a computer having an earnest conversation.

Have you already invested? Vocal asked hopefully.

I tried my best, but some misunderstandings have left me extremely flabbergasted. My investment is still pending, probably not gonna happen right now. I answered, feeling deflated and a bit sad.

Why. What happened? Vocal asked, quite alarmed since they had tried their best to see it done.

Ok, in the words of the great TV Detective Adrian Monk whom I quite adore, next to Sherlock Holmes, being a fan of mystery, mayhem and the solving of murders:

"Here is what happened"

Let me begin by saying, "I love to invest", I did it when I was a young lass. Maybe I am just too dang old ish to do it now. I regularly donate blood and I donate to Wikipedia now and then. I use Wiki so often, especially since being on Vocal, I think it is only fair.

What? What does blood and Wikipedia have to do with this story? Vocal asked, scratching its head.

It's about investment too, isn't it? I'm just saying.

Anyway. I jumped into the investment pool as soon as I heard about it. I thought it was a brilliant idea. I could own a few shares of Vocal, it may not bear fruit for a few years (and I may kick the proverbial bucket before it does), but I have high hopes and family members. Or J@V can set up a "People who passed this way and left an investment fund". Or something.

Your knack for digressing is impressive! Vocal said, smiling facetiously.

Ignoring the slight tone of annoyance, mixed in with the static and humming, moaning sounds of the interconnectedness of the networking of Vocal. I continued.

I received my form and eagerly filled it out, paid my investment amount and immediately zipped it back to the relevant "Send" button location.

After a respectful waiting period I received another form with the prompt to continue with my attempt to purchase said investment. The layout of the form was a bit puzzling, so I sought help from various sources. Vocal replied very graciously that they had indeed received my investment amount, but the form of the first part had overlapped with the form of the second part, and some adjustment would have to be made.

I pause here to state that legal forms are a 'pain in the tuckus' to read and I usually just skim through the relevant areas. ๐Ÿ˜ตโ€๐Ÿ’ซ Jargon in legalise requires reading, rereading, much head scratching and making one's exit while still not sure if one had grasped the full understanding of the facts.

What happened next? Vocal asked anxiously, waiting for the story to reach its protracted and long drawn-out end.

Well, they sent me another form. I filled it out, skipping the part where payment was asked for, since I had already paid some money. I signed it and zipped it to the email address that had been made available. The deadline was fast approaching for the final date of the transactions.

I heard nothing for two days, during which time I assumed that paperwork was becoming reconciled with part 1 and part 2 and all would be well. I can only imagine the time and effort which was being invested into the whole Investment machinations coming to fruition on time. So my little problem was only a blip on the radar of the many problems and glitches which were being worked out.

Vocal:

That is true on so many levels. Vocal interjected, while issue after issue kept popping up, prompting Vocal to be a bit distracted from my lengthy utterances.

I continued:

I was quite confident and proud that I had invested successfully, and had done it within the deadline. I checked my email for updates up to the eve of the final deadline date. Nothing. I breathed a sigh of relief. All was well.

The morning following the deadline date, I awoke, tapped my phone for the time and saw an email sent the night before (I was fast asleep by then) asking me to continue my payment.

By Odin's beard. What??????????????????? I was stumped.

Sigh!!!!! I took a deep breath, peered out the window at the awakening overcast sky, headed to the bathroom for a pee and returned feeling quite distressed and deflated.

Needing to update my credit card payment, I opened my financial App. Lo and behold, Vocal had returned my payment, either with the intention of my resubmitting it on the new form, or some other reason. Resubmit is the reason, I reasoned, since they had sent me the new updated and proper questionnaire.

Only, I never saw it until the day after the deadline had passed. I sure wish that I had realized in time that a refund had been made. All of this was just too close to the deadline date I imagine.

Utters Vocal:

Bummer. That was an unfortunate oversight. Said Vocal a bit sadly. Codes, ciphers, and programs seemed to pause and eavesdrop as they discerned glitches within the network.

Said I:

Then quite forgetting that I was on a credit card and not a debit card, I saw a negative amount pending which was less than the returned amount. Oh woe is me, now I have to go negotiate and enquire about this negative business.

I promptly went back to sleep in my distressed frame of mind, (luckily I didn't have to go to work).

Two hours later, I awoke with the clear understanding of the situation, as if resting my brain had made it more intelligent. I had a separate $30 outstanding CC amount, which had then been deducted from the refunded total which when added to the negative amount brought the refunded amount to the correct figure.

Hallelujah! Outside the window, the sun burst through the clouds as if celebrating my newly connected neurons and intellectual brain cells.

Interjected Vocal:

I am so sorry for the inconvenience, but we do need to get our ducks in a row. Vocal commiserated and consoled.

Says Me:

Thanks. But I am now at a loss as to the finalization of this very interesting (almost investment) journey. My question is:

Do I just leave it be for now, or can I continue with the form since this was started before the unfortunate final date flew away?

Vocal? Hello, Vocal! Silence. ๐Ÿ˜ตโ€๐Ÿ’ซ

The computer must have died.

I am pretty annoying. I will charge it and give Vocal a bit more time.

Markus Winkler on Unsplash

Although I don't need to say it for obvious reasons. This was an Unspoken conversation/challenge. ๐Ÿ˜ตโ€๐Ÿ’ซ

.....................................................................................................................

GeneralHilariousFunny
43

About the Creator

Novel Allen

Every new day is a blank slate. Write something new.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (31)

Sign in to comment
  • Gerard DiLeo7 months ago

    Great story--truth is more fun than fiction. Maybe what you paid for was being Top Story. Although you had that already for free.

  • Jay Kantor7 months ago

    My Dear Novel - I've mentioned - as an Author of many legal Public offerings (IPOs) - always reaching for the best and most concise way of presenting to the general public. I feel that VM is being very straightforward with minor shareholders; Justin is certainly a gentleman. But, on the lighter side, so happy to see you in the 'Humor' Department as 'Bunkmates' (metaphorically speaking) next to my 'Heartsy'...I know we both relate in our fellow "Sit-Com" Schtick-Sorta ways. Your J-Bud

  • Andrea Corwin 7 months ago

    You outlined it all very well; confusion (both ends); late responses; angst about should I or shouldn't I....great story! (pssst - shhhh - I believe it - all, ๐Ÿ˜‰๐Ÿ˜‰). ๐Ÿคฃ

  • The Flying Man One7 months ago

    Good

  • PK Colleran7 months ago

    Now I don't feel so alone! Great writing! ๐Ÿ’™

  • Phil Flannery7 months ago

    That was an ordeal. I got as far as the part where they asked for my yearly earning and estimated wealth. I don't earn much and I don't got much, and that's my business. It was only a $100 investment. I passed. I know it was difficult for you, but you wrote a fun piece.

  • Cathy holmes7 months ago

    Great how you can take something so frustrating and turn it into an amusing tale. Congrats on the TS.

  • Donna Fox (HKB)7 months ago

    Well that was a kerfuffle you sure didn't need! Sorry this was such a head ache for you?? Did you ever get any of your questions answered?

  • Babs Iverson7 months ago

    Sherlock Holmes and Adrian Monk, love them too!!! Loving the humorous take on the nonverbal story!!!๐Ÿ’•โค๏ธโค๏ธ

  • A delightful and relatable story that sheds light on the sometimes amusing intricacies of online transactions. The author's humor and perseverance in the face of tech glitches make for an engaging read.

  • Kendall Defoe 7 months ago

    This is a laugh or cry moment. At least you got the TS for it! ๐Ÿ…๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿฝ

  • StoryholicFinds7 months ago

    great work โค๏ธ

  • Alex H Mittelman 7 months ago

    Lol kind of funny! Glad your persistsnt. Hope you finish your investment!

  • Wow ๐Ÿ˜ฎ I Would say finish it upโ™ฅ๏ธ๐Ÿ’ฏ๐Ÿ˜‰๐Ÿ“๐Ÿ‘ Also Congratulations on your Top Story๐ŸŽ‰๐ŸŽ‰๐ŸŽ‰๐ŸŽ‰๐ŸŽ‰๐ŸŽ‰๐ŸŽ‰๐ŸŽ‰๐ŸŽ‰

  • A. Lenae7 months ago

    Investing and exhausted or frustrated energy into the creation of this charming exchange is hopefully well worth it, because it sure was fun to read! But I also hope Vocal can get this sorted soon!

  • Test7 months ago

    This must have been super stressful. Really well written and hillariously done. I hope it does work out somehow in the end! ๐Ÿค Brilliant unspoken piece!

  • Therapist: Talking Vocal isnโ€™t real. Talking Vocal canโ€™t hurt you. Talking Vocal:

  • Catherine Nyomenda7 months ago

    A true story in the form of creative work. I have been receiving emails from vocal for me to start investing. Truth is that I haven't thought much abut it because I feel like I need more time to familiarize myself with what's going on here. I'm I on the right track?

  • Hysterically apt & on point! Been there, done that, had all those experiences (except for the investment part).

  • Darkos7 months ago

    I love how You expressed Yourself in here with this issue I just write about pending withdrawal from vocal but I need save to post for later on if ever I didn't invested and when I was reading the struggle you go thru I thought it's better not even think about it but also had that fire at first just life and things around and no time in mind I hope you will have all solved soon just dance sing meanwhile will help to go thru it โ˜บ๏ธI know silly advice but it may stress out ! it's really great to read from the way you created that humor at play from real life experience โ˜บ๏ธ

  • ๐Ÿง Disheartening... though your clever dialogue as a spoton revelation brought a smile to my heart. May you soon hear that you have shares. BTW, Jeremy Brett is my Sherlock Holmes. I think I will arrange to come back in a future life as Mr. Brett's Holmes. ๐Ÿ’™๐Ÿง๐Ÿ’™

  • Omgggg! I'm so amazed at how you managed to keep your cool through all of this! I would have been so stressed! I would have just started crying! I'm so sorry this thing has been a pain in the neck for you ๐Ÿฅบ

  • Grz Colm7 months ago

    Ugh no. Hope u get it sorted Novel!

  • Donna Renee7 months ago

    Omgosh what a pain! ๐Ÿซ ๐Ÿ˜ฉ

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

ยฉ 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.