Humor logo

Classy Car Repairs

The duct tape must match

By Leslie WritesPublished 6 months ago Updated 6 months ago 4 min read
Top Story - November 2023
19

Last Saturday while loading up some groceries, I noticed that my trunk would not close. It appeared that the latch was broken. But that didn’t stop me from attempting to slam it shut about a dozen times with all my might, hopping up and down on it like a lunatic. There may have been a few tears. My efforts were unsuccessful and my daughter acted as if it was something I’d done on purpose to inconvenience her.

I tied the trunk down with twine and hoped I wouldn’t lose any groceries like projectiles as I took to the highway. Thankfully we made it home with all our stuff, but the flimsy twine popped immediately.

I drove to the dealer the next morning with my trunk twerking all the way down route 28.

I don’t normally go to the dealer for repairs, but a trunk latch seemed like something very specific that only a dealer might be able to, you know, deal with. The garage was a madhouse. Nobody told you when to pull up, nobody showed you where to go or who to talk to but seemed very annoyed when I found myself speaking to the wrong individual. There was a handwritten sign that said 'DROP OFFS ONLY - No waiting!'

I arranged for my husband to pick me up so we could all get lunch. Then SURPRISE! They outfitted me with a loaner car that was at least ten years younger than mine. I tried to stop my husband from driving up, but he was already there waiting in front of the lobby. I pulled up in my sleek new ride, beeped the horn a few times, and shouted out the open window, “Check out my new ride, suckas!” Then I peeled off like a demon on wheels. I didn’t realize that there were some dealership employees in earshot looking bewildered.

We had lunch and I got back to my life cruising around in the loaner car. I was getting spoiled. This loaner car was just like mine except it was much less noisy and it smelled good. I couldn’t seem to get the hang of the backup camera thing, but driving this car was a real treat!

Work was very busy, and I have a tendency to ignore any phone call with a number I don’t recognize. (I bet you can see where this is going). I dropped off the car on a Saturday, and by Friday, my husband asked me. “Any word about your car?”

“Um - no. I guess it is taking a long time.”

“Check your messages.”

Indeed, there was a voice message from the dealership explaining that they do not have a door latch for a 2008 Corolla. I will have to take it to a body shop. There will be no charge if I pick it up today (Monday). That was four days ago, five if you count the fact that the shop was closed, and I would not be able to pick it up until the following morning and return the loaner.

That night my family labeled me a car thief. I remember my antics at the dealership. “Beep Beep! Check out my new car, Suckas - SCREECH!” It echoes through my mind. I probably owe hundreds of dollars in rental fees for the loaner and storage fees for my 2008 shitbox, that they didn’t even fix!

“Just play it cool,” says my husband.

Easy for him to say. I have never played anything cool in my life. I’m sure I'll pay dearly for my stupidity.

I go back to the dealer the next day with the loaner. I hand the keys to a nice-looking employee. He points me in the direction of the cashier. I explain that I was just here to check on my car. It's been a week. I've stated no lies.

The cashier punches my info into the computer and hands me a printed receipt for zero dollars and zero cents.

“It turns out they couldn’t fix the trunk. No charge. Someone will bring you your car around.”

I try to conceal my delight at not getting slapped with storage and rental fees. I head for the door before they can stop me and tell me they've made a mistake. I drive away like I just pulled off the biggest heist. I got nothing for nothing or perhaps you could count it as a week long joy ride in a car that's nicer than mine. Truly one of America’s most wanted criminals.

When I get home, I brag to my husband. Just when the natural high reaches its peak, my husband receives a text from the Toyota dealership.

“We just got an invoice for $375.”

Now I am $375 in, and my trunk lid is still flappin’ around. Since the twine thing was a bust, I moved on to tape. Did you know that duct tape is only about five bucks a roll and it comes in a variety of colors? But these things must be done delicately. I decided two long pieces on either side of the license plate would do the trick. It kind of looks like the car is wearing suspenders. And the best part is that I no longer have to suffer the indignity of replying to good Samaritans who stop to tell me that my trunk is open. I only have to suffer the indignity of driving around with two big pieces of duct tape holding my trunk closed.

Anybody know a good body shop?

HilariousGeneralFunny
19

About the Creator

Leslie Writes

Another struggling millennial. Writing is my creative outlet and stress reliever.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (18)

Sign in to comment
  • Angie the Archivist 📚🪶4 months ago

    This is such an entertaining read... I hate going to mechanic shops etc... not knowing where to park & so on... just as you said... stressful!

  • Denise E Lindquist5 months ago

    😂😂😂

  • This is hilarious. I nearly choked on my coffee at you going full GTA on them with the, “Check out my new car. Suckas!” line. Great stuff. It started my day with a smile. I once had a similar experience with my driver-side door not latching. I was running late, so I made my entire hour commute with one hand holding my door shut!

  • Phil Flannery5 months ago

    That was funny. My car troubles never get a laugh. You have one of the most unkillable cars in the world though so don't get rid of it. Well worth Top Story.

  • Yayyyyy so happy this got a Top Story! Congratulations!

  • Daphsam5 months ago

    Very funny!

  • Babs Iverson5 months ago

    Hilarious!! Except the for the invoice $$$ wasn't funny!!! Loved the story & congratulations onTop Story!!!1❤️❤️💕

  • Dana Crandell5 months ago

    Loved the story. I do have a suggestion for the tape: A contrasting color would look like racing stripes. Much cooler. 😉 I also want t mention that I've seen that gif od the baby elephant before, but it's a whole lot funnier in this context. Congratulations!

  • Cathy holmes5 months ago

    I this hilarious tale. Congrats on the TS.

  • Rachel Deeming5 months ago

    Leslie, this was hysterical! I love the duct tape look. Very classy. Ah, you know, it does the job. I sincerely hope you get it fixed soon unless you like the duct tape look!

  • Gerald Holmes5 months ago

    I loved this. You had me laughing out loud with your wit. Congrats on a great Top Story.

  • Tiffany Gordon 5 months ago

    Fabulous storytelling Leslie!! I hope that it gets fixed soon!

  • Kageno Hoshino6 months ago

    Its feels bad but ntgl funny too

  • Hahahhahahahahahahhahahah omgggg!!!! I laughed soooo much at this! I'm so sorry for laughing but it was just soooo funnyyyyyy! The twerking, the check out my new ride suckas, you not answering unknown numbers despite knowing that these people might try to reach you 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣

  • Cathy holmes6 months ago

    Haha. Oops.

  • Kendall Defoe 6 months ago

    I'm sorry about your problems, but I am glad to read about them. There are quite a few body shops in this city...but they do not handle cars. ;)

  • Donna Renee6 months ago

    Leslie, I am LMAO over the twerking car. This is an awful experience, but I am so appreciating the laughs tonight!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.